We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium class hotel”
Review of Hotel Dumbrava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dumbrava
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bacau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights during a business trip. The room was clean, however it is very dark and not so pleasat to stay in. The mattress was too soft for me and my back was aching when I woke up. The room is not fit for comuter working, there is no power inlet near the desk, so I have frequently worked on the bed. Checking out is handled the old way, and the bill is not ready in advance and is printed on a single page feed printer; The whole process took more than 10 minutes. Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of dairy products, vegetables, salads and pastry. Altogether it is and old fashioned hotel with a good service and good food

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dov F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed 5 nights in this hotel and in the first night I found a dead bug in the wordrobe, but the worst was when, one morning at the breakfast I saw a bug on a cake :((. I've showed it to a lady from the staff and the only thing she did was to take the plate with the cookies, no apologies, nothing! So, I advise you to think twice before staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Located in the Centre of the industrial Town of Bacau, this hotel is situated parallely to the main road. Its structure developes in horizontal direction, which may let it lokk smaller than what it actually is and which distinguishes it from other hotels nearby in similar category. But the quality of furnishing (newly renovated and in some rooms works are still running) and the quality of the service is definitely higher. Exquisite restaurant in unique atmosphere. Very helpful personnel, friendly and ready to give aany possible advise. English is normally well spoken. All main services available (minibar, WiFi,...). Derficits: they have no bar/lounge or common area and parking can sometimes be a problem, above all in case of late arrivals.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runningnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel is not so easy to be reached being located well behind the main buildings of one mainest boulevard of Bacau. In fact it is quite hidden beneath some other buildings like couple of banks and one state authority.
Even if the hotel went by a thoroughly renovation which apparently wasn't finished yet,  its main entrance and also the plate imprinted with its name - Dumbrava - still looks dusty and visibly outdated like coming from the communist era.
The amenities of the hotel are very modern having a touch of a minimalist design. Still the efforts of bringing back the hotel to our times didn't went further meaning that the look of the hotel is not accompanied unfortunately by some basic lodging characteristics. This means that the rooms from the fourth floor do not have enough water pressure and their ventilation is affected by the smell coming from the kitchen which is invading practically all the building including the restaurant. 
The bathroom is not equipped with hairdrayer even if the room is considered to be a four star one but more important its window do not have curtain so you're risking to take a shower in front of the neighbours.
All in all probably the hotel can be tried once but not more...
For my next visit to Bacau I will probably choose another accomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cat_ioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I have stayed before in lots of hotels in Romania and twice in Bacau, in another place.
I have experienced the former communist hotels with just a superficial renovation and poorly trained personnel.
Well, hotel Dumbrava is nothing like this. Since entering, you feel that whoever manages it, really invested his time and efforts to make thing right.
I received a very nice room, with good quality furniture and tastefully decorated. Loved the glass wall (it was snowing, so the view was perfect).
Good diverse breakfast for Bacau. Otherwise, the restaurant is not excellent but good enough (fresh food, but basic courses).
The personnel was fantastic - these people go out of their way to make you feel confortable and to help you with whatever you need. Smiley, polite, welcoming, warm, everything you could possibly wish.
If I returned to Bacau, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alecsaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank iuliana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Business Zimmer im neuen Trakt des Hotels in den oberen Etagen sind zu empfehlen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RB006699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacau hotels
1.3 mi away
Helen Hotel Bacau
Helen Hotel Bacau
#2 of 8 in Bacau
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
President Hotel Bacau
2.5 mi away
Pension Rosarium
Pension Rosarium
#7 of 8 in Bacau
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bistrita
Hotel Bistrita
#6 of 8 in Bacau
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hamlet Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bacau
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Magura Verde
Hotel Magura Verde
#8 of 8 in Bacau
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dumbrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dumbrava

Address: Strada Dumbrava Rosie 2, Bacau, Romania
Location: Romania > Northeast Romania > Bacau County > Bacau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bacau
Price Range: $71 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dumbrava 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Dumbrava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing