We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel and staff”
Review of Shark's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shark's Lodge
Ranked #45 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Tromso, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel and staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hostel is beautiful, and the people who work here the best. Whatever we needed they provided with a smile. You can rent almost anything and have it delivered to the hostel, while you're relaxing by the pool or in the gameroom. I'm going back next year for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stig_Ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Setúbal, Setubal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Achei o hostel fantástico. As instalações muito modernas, bonitas e asseadas. O pessoal é simpático e prestável. A piscina é espetacular. Bons acessos. 5 estrelas!

I found the hostel fantastic. Very modern, beautiful and neat facilities. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is spectacular. Good access. 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

An amazing place! The staff and the location are the best! It felt like a stay with friends, in a genuine rather than simply "service-oriented" way. Whatever I needed, they arranged it with a smile - switching back and forth between surfboards, a bike at night, grocery shopping, a lift to the bus station, you name it! (Thank you again, guys!)
Five minutes across the street and dunes, you'll come onto the best surfing section of a long, beautiful beach that is also great for sunbathing. Very convenient since you don't need a car, can take a break from the July sun around noon back at the hostel, and can get a proper lunch between the waves...
The place is spacious, very clean, with a nice pool area (my dorm's door opened right onto it...) and a large, well-equipped lounge and kitchen - very luxurious for a hostel, and great value for money! There's also a nice breakfast, and fruits on the tables all day.
I fully recommend Surfer's Bay for surfers and non-surfers, since the place itself is so pleasant, and even for families - there's a separate children's pool!
I left with a big smile, and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well, what a trip. After a big night in Lisbon we travelled to peniche to Surfers Bay Hostel. A party of 17 we were very well looked after by Joao and his team. No matter what we wanted he made it happen; bikes, surfboards, wetsuits, beers; what a great host.

We got a few surfs in a had some good rides but it was mostly blown out while we were there but it didnt matter as we had the swimming pool, the tennis courts and the pool table to keep us occupied.

Great location for diving into the surf with only a 100m walk.

We will come back for more. 17 happy faces left!

Cheers Joao!!

"Im on maaa hennn dooooo!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'm typing this review from the poolside of the seriously big and blue pool at Surfer's Bay Hostel, after a couple of hours of the most amazing waves just across the street. This is one of those hostels that has it all: location, size, good looks, good view at the back of the building, good vibe... I will certainly return soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lufi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

i had a wonderful time at surfer's bay.. somehow i came to peniche - a destination for surfers .. i don't even know how to swing and iam at peniche.. the first day i was wondering what iam gonna do in peniche.. but the tranquil enviornment of peniche and the comfortable stay at surfer's bay made me stay for 03 nights.

People here are so amazing.. Joao the owner of this place is so nice.. he is around all the time and its such a chilled out place. ..it was like as if iam at my home with my friends.. i loved it.
i will surely go to surfer's bay again !!

Room Tip: i didn't see all the rooms but i think they are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikunj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Hostel. The hosts are really relaxed and helpful guys. Its only a few minutes to the beach. Two tenniscourts, a swimmingpool,a huge common room with tv and everything. We had a good stay in our good and clean beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rieks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peniche hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Peniche Surf Lodge
Peniche Surf Lodge
#3 of 102 in Peniche
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tribo da Praia Eco Hostel
Tribo da Praia Eco Hostel
#35 of 102 in Peniche
8 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Hostel
Villa Hostel
#3 of 12 in Atouguia da Baleia
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark's Lodge

Property: Shark's Lodge
Address: Rua do Salgado, Peniche 2520-193, Portugal (Formerly Surfer's Bay)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfer's Bay is a lifestyle concept where the love for the waves and the experiences between different cultures are included in the best hosting, typical from Portuguese culture, in a comfortable and chillout ambience associated with reliability and innovation of our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shark's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing