We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't say its a hostel. SOOO GOOD!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain's Log House
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wouldn't say its a hostel. SOOO GOOD!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Should stay here when coming to Penice/baleal!!! There is some awesome staff around and they are willing to help you whenever you ask them something. Great accessibility to the spots in the area. Probably the closed is 3 min walk :P Some good breakfast included in the price as well (even when you're late there still will be a plate left for you in the breakfast area). The free bike service makes getting around much easier. You can chuck your board and wetsuit in the garage and there is plenty of place to dry your suit. Everything is soo clean and you can tell it has been looked after!

All in all, I just had great week at captains!! BTW owners are soo nice too !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
39
70
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

What can I say... Great location, comfortable beds, clean, amazing staff, free basic breakfast & great common area.

Free bike rental was icing on the cake and we got it for such a great price in low season. Also the easy access to surfboards was sweet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our surfing holiday in Peniche was beyond expectations thanks to Captain's Log House! The owners and staff made us feel very welcome in their cosy place. The room was clean and nicely decorated, they have a garden, very good breakfast and the atmosphere is great. Dinners, bbq’s, pizza quiz night and so on. You can use a bike for free to discover the area around. The hostel is at walking distance from different beaches and there is a cocktail place on the other side of the street. And not forget about the surfing which was amaaaazing! Captain’s can arrange surfing lessons with the nice guys from the RipCurl Surf Camp. It was just one of those holidays you will never forget and we can’t wait until next year to get back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maaike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Last week we returned from a fantastic holiday in Captains. It's a great place! It's clean, well decorated, has a good atmosphere and the people are really nice!! The owner, the staff, the people from the Ripcurl Surfcamp and the guests really made our holiday a very good one! You don't have to be bored here!! :-) With surfguiding, dinners, trips, barbecues, quizzes... The place is just minutes away from the beach and surf, bars and restaurants. The restaurant next to captains is also a really good (and cheap) one. You don't need anything more. We will come back, for sure! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Captain's and we are already planning to come back next year. Captain's is a very lovely hostel, where we instantly felt at home. There are always things to do around the area, even if you are not planning to go surfing every day. The athmosphere is very friendly and the staff are incredibly helpful and caring. You can always meet people and take part in activities without being pushed into them. The hostel is very clean and offers all kinds of "extras", such as free rental bikes, rental surfing-equipment, yoga-classes, quiz-nights... We are looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ze and Sabina, the owner and the "host" are really nice people, genuinely help full and caring.. Huggable : )
The house itself is amazingly decorated with theme rooms and beautiful black and white murals on the walls. It's super clean and there is a garden, an Indie board, a guitar, a place to rinse your suit and a safe place to store your stuff.
I came alone and met a nice surf buddy for the week, had a pretty quiet room, it was shared so there was some movement.. but even for a light sleeper like me it was good enough. The fact that you can make it super dark helped to. I was happy I chose this place : )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalfWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you'r heading to peniche that's the best spot around.
The staff is amazing, the privet room(light blue) is great,living room includes cable TV so you can chill on a sofa and watch a movie after a session, the breakfast is great and the kitchen is fully equipped for those who like to cook .

For those with surf equipment there's a surf rack and a safe place to hang your suits
Enjoy !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peniche hotels
2.0 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
416 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Marazul
Hotel Marazul
#1 of 1 in Serra del Rei
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peniche Surf Lodge
Peniche Surf Lodge
#3 of 96 in Peniche
123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunway Hostel
Sunway Hostel
#1 of 12 in Atouguia da Baleia
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Log House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Log House

Property: Captain's Log House
Address: Avenida do Mar, Peniche 2520-205, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Log House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain´s Log House is a recently built beach hostel / surf lodge intended to accommodate people from all over the world. Is owned and run by travelers for travelers. There are more than 5 surfing spots at walking distance. Captain´s Log House has a unique decoration design, and a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Guests can cook and eat together. Someone travelling alone can do friends here. There is a particularly fabulous fresh grass smell, and it is very relaxing to lay down on the grass at the sun, after surf/stand up paddleboard (or other ocean sport). Upon request there are yoga/pilates/massages, etc in the garden. The beach is in the back of the house, so you can listen to the relaxing sound of the ocean every night. Or you can delight with the beautiful sunsets seen from the house balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Captain's Log House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing