We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, eh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Log House
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Fantastic, eh!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A great hostel with everything you need for a fun and comfortable trip. Sabina is great, she takes care of any requests with unparalleled efficiency! The breakfast is excellent and makes the already well priced hostel even better. The rooms are modern and clean with comfortable beds. Bikes to borrow to ride to Peniche or go exploring on. Lots of room to safely and securely store your surfing gear. As with all travel, it's about the people, and this place seems to attract fun and social people, which starts with the friendly and genuine owners, Ze and Cisco. Location is great, walking distance to some great surf spots and restaurants. I hope to make it back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
38
69
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Kept extending my stay because I loved it so much. The people, the vibe, the ambiance, the creativity, the location, beaches, and surf, I could go on.. okay, I will: It was clean, comfortable, fun, relaxing, social, and so friendly. The breakfast was to die for! I will remember it forever and hopefully will make more memories when I return some day :)

Need a downside? It set the standard so high for hostels that I was disappointed when I traveled else where.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltlangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us and for such kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The owner - Ze pays a lot of attention to details. She is extra polite and very attentive.
The conditions are just excellent, friendly atmosphere. The breakfast is so tasty and nice. The girl who serves breakfast in the morning does it with love and she is singing songs.
Sabina is awesome and greatest person! Contact to her anyway , she can advise you, organize your trip to Peniche. Try her yoga classes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vitosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the family room for 3 nights and felt totally at home. First star goes to the easily accessible parking in the back. A total win if you travel with a car not to pay for parking!

Second star goes to the welcome of Zé and the rest of the staff. They aren't there 24/7, so they really tell you all the ins and outs so you can do your own thing. This really adds to the comfortable feel of the place.

Third star goes to the comfortable beds and insanely clean facilities. The kitchen has all you'd need and then some (free booze, spices and garlic/onions, etc), everything is easy to find and there's plenty of space.

Fourth star goes to location. Right on the beach, nothing to complain about there!

And the fifth star goes to the garden and grill area, what a fabulous set-up, so relaxing. Just a great place all around!

Stay here! We love the Captian's Log House and next time we'll bring a group!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germarican48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

there's not much to say, except: GREAT :)
it's one of those places you're allways looking forward coming back another time. it's not just about the the hostel itself.. it's more the whole package of the house, the super friendly owners and all the other guests who are soooo relaxed because there's nothing to compain about.
thanx for the stays. see you again hopefully

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hebdaelatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

No worries by Captain Log House! We had a perfect week thanks to Sabine, Ze, Linda and Logan. By far the best hostel we have ever been to. The rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was perfect and their services were phenomenal. Even when we forgat a wetsuite they took care of it. And not to forget, they organized a great BBQ. It's a relax environment, close to the surf, and you can find your rest or socialize after your surf. Definitely a recommendation. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_en_Evert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just one word....amazing;-) Nice House, nice vibes and really really common place to stay.
Close to everything, perfect kitchen, space to let your board and wetsuits. Also Garden and of course THAT breakfast is amazing as well;-)))))

Was a pleasure to be there and hope to meet u all soon back....Thxxxx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funjazztick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captaincortomaltese, Manager at Captain's Log House, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed it and had a good time here in beautiful Baleal:-D.
A big thanks from the Captain's team and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peniche
2.0 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
306 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
386 reviews
5.3 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Peniche Surf Lodge
Peniche Surf Lodge
#3 of 89 in Peniche
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bsurf House
Bsurf House
#1 of 21 in Baleal
201 reviews
2.6 mi away
Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Log House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Log House

Property: Captain's Log House
Address: Avenida do Mar, Peniche 2520-205, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Peniche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Log House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain´s Log House is a recently built beach hostel / surf lodge intended to accommodate people from all over the world. Is owned and run by travelers for travelers. There are more than 5 surfing spots at walking distance. Captain´s Log House has a unique decoration design, and a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Guests can cook and eat together. Someone travelling alone can do friends here. There is a particularly fabulous fresh grass smell, and it is very relaxing to lay down on the grass at the sun, after surf/stand up paddleboard (or other ocean sport). Upon request there are yoga/pilates/massages, etc in the garden. The beach is in the back of the house, so you can listen to the relaxing sound of the ocean every night. Or you can delight with the beautiful sunsets seen from the house balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Captain's Log House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing