We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Restaurante a Sardinha
Reserve with
Restaurante a Sardinha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 138 Restaurants in Peniche
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An amazing space relaxed spirit, in that the typical features of the city of Peniche gives it distinction and uniqueness. Intimate dinners to large events, group dinners, christenings, stag / a, meetings, and birthdays day forecast and more. The stew, the Monkfish Rice, or Seafood, the Cuttlefish Fried will House, the Octopus will Lagareiro, the cataplana seafood, Feijoada Seafood, Steak will Pepper, Barbecue Pork Black, Meat Cataplana are just some of the specialties You can find in the restaurant the Sardine. We have to have the best traditional and Homemade desserts with flavors and distinctive aromas. We have menus in English, French, German and Portuguese, and employees who speak the same languages. Thank you for your preference! We are always thinking of you !!!
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Ordered tourist menu which consisted of entree of seafood soup, main of fish with veg and dessert and drink. Soup was lovely, but when my main came out, the potatoes were cold and had a hair on top, fish was plain.. I chose to not have dessert but my boyfriend chose the ice cream, which was literally a streets strawberry ice cream cup.. Still in the plastic cup..
Not worth the money..
I'm not sure what our food would have been like if we opted for something other than the tourist menu though....
Restaurant was very quiet but could just be the time of year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    340
    158
    65
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Found in a lane behind the main street. A fresh, welcoming restaurant. As equally full of locals as tourists when we visited in april. The staff were very friendly and the food fantasic.
Lots of it too, the coffee and desert were excellent also. Over the 7 days we were in and around Peniche it was the best meal we had. Not too heavy on the wallet either!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaGrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Bustling atmosphere and really good selection of fish”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

On our visit to Peniche we came across this restaurant on a Sunday lunchtime. It was bustling with families out for lunch, mostly portugese. The fish stew was incredible. Actually everything was incredible: fish and seafood very fresh and not expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Misleading”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our third visit to Peniche but our first visit to this restaurant.We were shown to our table and given menus to peruse,the over fussy waiter brought fish for us to look at,we said we were not interested but he persisted.We ended up having two sea bream and a red snapper for 48 euros which for this part of the world was expensive.The food was good but not outstanding,we will not be returning,due to being pressured by the fussy waiter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waltus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoussis
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good and copious”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Local cuisine based on fresh fish. I took a mixed fish dish for 12€ (swordfish, sardin, saberfish, forgot what the 4th was, along with coco beans and potatoes) and could not finish my plate; well cooked and served - it would have been perfect for 2 people. My wife took swordfish, and it was also very tasty. The fish is fresh, service is good

I recommend this restaurant if you are in Peniche; we also tried the Restaurante Popular (very close by), but the Sardinha experience was better

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante a Sardinha also viewed

 
Peniche, Leiria District
Peniche, Leiria District
 

Been to Restaurante a Sardinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing