We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in the heart of the country”

Hotel Samasa Fundao
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Samasa Fundao
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fundao
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel Samasa is located in Fundão, in the Gardunha mountain area. It's right in the town centre, next to an avenue with restaurants, cafés and shops.
Some parts of the hotel seem a bit dated (elevators straight from the 80's), but bearing in mind that we're off the beaten track (in tourist terms) I found it to be quite good. The staff were helpful and polite. Our room was enormous with a nice big bed, big sofa, chairs, table, desk and a little sofa as well. There's also a mini fridge which you can use in case you're buying some local cheese, smoked meats or other kinds of treats (highly advisable!). The bathroom was on the small side, but quite ok given the reasons stated above.
The breakfast was ok, no big deal. They could invest more in local products and not doing so is a shame, but you get all the basics covered: milk, tea, coffee, cereal, fresh and canned fruit (syrupy kind), bread, toast, butter, jams and cake. Do pay attention to the coffee machine: it's not on the same table as all the other food items (almost didn't notice it) but it'll give you several types of coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, etc.
They have a restaurant in the central avenue and at the reception they'll give you a little card that you can show at the restaurant and you get a 10% discount on your bill. It was the mushroom and chestnut festival when we were there and I got to enjoy some delicious mushroom risotto and chestnut pudding.
When you're in town you can also look around for a Chinese restaurant (in the residential area; can't remember the name!). It was a surprise for us as it had some less well known Chinese foods and it was very good quality. A lot more then your average sweet and sour pork!
On a more local note, do try to get your hands in some of the local pastries and cakes using cherries - the Fundão region is very well known for the quality of its cherries, exporting a fair amount of its harvest.
All in all this is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway or even for some time more, giving you plenty of opportunity to explore the mountain, the local villages (including the ones with houses built with rocks, known as "aldeias de xisto"), the river beaches and just go for hikes. Besides, it's not very far from the Monsanto historical village, close to the border.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeyondLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

The hotel is the centre of Fundao. The staff is very friendly and really tries to make your stay as pleasant as possible (giving information, helping in finding things). I would stay here for sure if i return

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, which was really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wessil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank padsv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Miguel R, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Samasa Fundao, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Miguel R, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Samasa Fundao, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedroalmeidaipad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Miguel R, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Samasa Fundao, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank José P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Miguel R, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Samasa Fundao, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fundao
1.8 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Eufemia
Hotel Santa Eufemia
#5 of 10 in Covilha
200 reviews
22.3 mi away
Quinta da Geia
Quinta da Geia
#2 of 3 in Oliveira do Hospital
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
TRYP Covilha Dona Maria Hotel
10.7 mi away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
11.9 mi away
Luna Serra da Estrela
Luna Serra da Estrela
#2 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samasa Fundao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samasa Fundao

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama, Fundao 6230-375, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Fundao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fundao
Price Range: $54 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samasa Fundao 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy personalized service and the quiet of a cozy hotel room in downtown.To have a quiet night, we provide 40 double rooms and 10 suites, all with private full bathroom and equipped with TV. Cable, Frigo-Bar, Telephone, Air Conditioning and Heating. Coupled with the comfort of our rooms can also enjoy a varied breakfast, laundry service or entertainment venues such as the game room or bar, not forgetting the free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Samasa Fundao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing