We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of City Tavern Grille - MOVED

City Tavern Grille
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Gloucester, VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Good service, reasonable prices, food average, generous portions.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SMC_Grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
2,190 reviews
1,193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
“3 for 3 all great meals and service.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

the pasta and sandwiches are great. each visit has beeb very enjoyable. service is good, average prep speed, and delivered with a friendly smile and some light chatter. the walls are interesting with a lot of history. give this place a try before all the chain meals nearby. you can get a seat without waiting (you will wait at tgif even when they have seats). its much better and costs less too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kauai-Biz-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently outstanding!”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My wife and I eat here at least once a week. Though the menu is extensive and has great selections, go for one of the fish specials! The lobster tail & fries is as good as you'll ever have.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst service ever....”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Went in with family for the first time in August. We waited for a server for a long time and when one finally came over he was rude and snarky. He took even longer to bring our drinks and was more concerned with serving people that came in after us. We didn't bother staying and went to Foster's Grille instead. Talk about a world of difference!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveller202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good food and very reasonably priced (don't let that put you off).”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Wide selection of food. We didn't book however we got a booth immediately ( Friday 17th September 6pm) but 15 minutes later there was an ever changing sizeable queue from then until we left at 7.30pm.
Unfortunately the young girl at the reception desk did not smile the whole time we were there and was the only unhappy face we encountered during our two week Virginia holiday. .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Tavern Grille also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing