We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small museum”

The Manassas Museum
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a permanent exhibit spanning Native American through 20th Century periods, with a special emphasis on the Civil War. Meet spies and scallyways, slaves and soldiers, presidents and generals as you and your family experience special living history portrayals from the past. Don't miss the Museum's seven diverse historic sites, all nearby, or changing exhibit space.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small museum”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a small museum. It has some interesting artifacts but not very interactive. We came with kids and we were ready to leave after about 15 minutes of viewing the exhibits. They enjoyed the gift shop, which had some interesting books and items, and we wound up spending as much time in the gift shop as the museum.

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    48
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a wonderful museum to take in one afternoon. It is a treasure trove of info on the civil war and the Battles of Manassas 1 &2.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKAngelPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth the stop”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a small museum which tells the story of Masassas VA. Laid out well with interesting exhibits. We learned quite a bit. The staff members were very helpful - suggesting several restaurants nearby for lunch. The gift shop had some unusual gifts as well. We were glad we spent an hour there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A local Virginia Civil War Education”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Manassas is a quiet community with a quaint downtown area and a well placed, very informative Museum that holds some some very interesting installations of historical Civil War era Virginia. It's a must see for any War buffs and a great addition to a day trip to Manassas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kl4law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great history lesson”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We are new to the area and visited the museum to learn more about the area and its civil war history. It is small but the items they have are in amazing condition. It is very clean and well displayed. There are also many site tours that you can do in the area(plantation, forts, and old school) but the dates and times vary so check with the museum. You will need to purchase a tour ticket at the museum and then drive to the tour sight. The ladies that were staffing the place are their real gems. They were so nice and welcoming.My daughter is 13 and enjoyed it. I don't think a child much younger would. On a side note the Manassas Visitor's Center is across the street in the train depot. We did both in 2 hours. It is also by the historic downtown area where you could stop for a bite of lunch or dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manassas Museum also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to The Manassas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing