We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another gem in Manassas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Square Cafe - CLOSED

City Square Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Free Parking Garage! on weeknights and weekends
Transit: VRE and Amtrak station is less than one block
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another gem in Manassas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Every meal here is so good!

The service is excellent and the chef does some amazing things!
There's this fire and ice appetizer that is to die for.
The calamari appetizer is cooked to tender perfection...not chewy.
Desserts are always delish!

Justin (one of the waiters) really knows his menu and whet our appetite to come back again for dinner

And, since I'm train enthusiast, I enjoy sitting outside on nice days under the umbrellas and watching the trains go by on the tracks direct adjacent to the restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank usnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious meal across from the train station and museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great service. Delicious food: tomato gazpacho soup, apple and cheese toasted sandwich, and one of the best bacon and cheeseburgers ever.
$4 sangria after 3; interesting local beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JKW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Inconsistency Cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I want to love this place; I really do. There are times when despite the very hit or miss luck of the draw wait staff the food is really great such as breakfast. Then you get to any other time of the day and the ok at best food is completely wasted by the ridiculous prices. I tried to give them a shot again and went in for another overpriced mediocre meal especially in relation to other choices in old town. Then months later I hoped maybe improvements were made when they ran a specialicious deal and decided to give them yet another shot only to find out it can't be used for brunch oh and by the way they won't serve the lunch menu on weekends so eventually when I can take a day off of work I will use it and once again be disappointed with what should be a great restaurant in a prime location in old town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Fireworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

With extra outdoor seating for the 4th of July Suzanna and Robert put together a simple menu that was very good. The Holiday celebratory mood of the City was very lively and ended with a great fireworks display.
The entertainment instrumentals were better than the vocals and they probably could have used another waiter or two but the overall atmosphere was fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Gunnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Outdoor seating was nice as was the live music on a Friday night. Good atmosphere but the food was average at best. Not the best value either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKBBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Square Cafe also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing