We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Okra's Cajun Creole

Okra's Cajun Creole
Ranked #3 of 282 Restaurants in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As a popular gathering place for locals and area visitors, Okra's guests can be found nightly enjoying happy hour specials, chatting around the bar or dining on authentic Cajun and Creole cuisine. At Okra's you are sure to find a restaurant rich in local history and alive with color, flavor and some of the best food in Manassas.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food was fresh and plentiful. Atmosphere is fantastic; service was excellent. Kinda small place so be prepared to wait a little bit on the weekends. The bread pudding covered in whiskey sauce...YUM. Highly recommend.........

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    110
    44
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun place to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Okras is a cajun type restaurant, however not all of the food is spicy. I prefer milder food and loved what I had. For appetizers, our group ordered the deviled eggs. Most of the people liked spicy food so they thought these were fabulous... although too hot for me. I had the shrimp and grits which were mild and delicious. I got the smaller portion and it was plenty. Desserts are wonderful here as well.
When you enter Okra's, you have Mardi Gras beads at the table. The old restored building and atmosphere make any occasion feel casually festive. In nice weather it's fun to sit outside as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KindredSpirit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Start your meal with Gator bites! Yum! Great menu! Cool live music. Just a good mellow time. The waiter was on point. He made sure we were well taken care of. We sat outside and enjoyed the musicians who song and played the guitar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saundra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food with Even Better Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived late on a Thursday to meet friends - they were somewhat late, but the staff held the kitchen open until the very last moment. Our meals were outstanding: Etouffee - Cajun chicken livers, gumbo, red beans and rice - all spiced to perfection; the beer (Abita - all varieties) great and the service outstanding! We highly recommend Okra's!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ordeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laissez les bons temps rouler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The closest thing to New Orleans as is possible in Northern Virginia. Clean, friendly atmosphere with an extensive cajun cuisine. They serve Abita beer on tap with full bar service. Inside or outside dining this is a good place to go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank novabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okra's Cajun Creole also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Okra's Cajun Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing