We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place to dine”

Okra's Cajun Creole
Ranked #3 of 303 Restaurants in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As a popular gathering place for locals and area visitors, Okra's guests can be found nightly enjoying happy hour specials, chatting around the bar or dining on authentic Cajun and Creole cuisine. At Okra's you are sure to find a restaurant rich in local history and alive with color, flavor and some of the best food in Manassas.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun place to dine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Okras is a cajun type restaurant, however not all of the food is spicy. I prefer milder food and loved what I had. For appetizers, our group ordered the deviled eggs. Most of the people liked spicy food so they thought these were fabulous... although too hot for me. I had the shrimp and grits which were mild and delicious. I got the smaller portion and it was plenty. Desserts are wonderful here as well.
When you enter Okra's, you have Mardi Gras beads at the table. The old restored building and atmosphere make any occasion feel casually festive. In nice weather it's fun to sit outside as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KindredSpirit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    126
    51
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Start your meal with Gator bites! Yum! Great menu! Cool live music. Just a good mellow time. The waiter was on point. He made sure we were well taken care of. We sat outside and enjoyed the musicians who song and played the guitar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saundra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food with Even Better Service”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived late on a Thursday to meet friends - they were somewhat late, but the staff held the kitchen open until the very last moment. Our meals were outstanding: Etouffee - Cajun chicken livers, gumbo, red beans and rice - all spiced to perfection; the beer (Abita - all varieties) great and the service outstanding! We highly recommend Okra's!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsOrdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laissez les bons temps rouler”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The closest thing to New Orleans as is possible in Northern Virginia. Clean, friendly atmosphere with an extensive cajun cuisine. They serve Abita beer on tap with full bar service. Inside or outside dining this is a good place to go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank novabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Okra's Was Great!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We dined as a family group of six adults the evening of Sept. 7, 2012. Okra's is smack in the middle of Old Town Manassas so parking is available either on street or in nearby municipal lots. We had no trouble finding a wide open muni lot 2 blocks away so an easy stroll. At 7:30 or so when we arrived the outdoor seating area was full. It's our understanding that Okra's and the restaurant across the street have an arrangement where they both agree to close the side street...not sure how the fire marshall let's them do this...and it was closed off with dinner seating and a band right in the middle of the street. Nice street scene for sure. The restaurant is family casual in atmosphere, with a huge menu of Lousiana cajun options. Our server was a young man named Drake. He was timely, courteous and spot on with attentiveness. We began by splitting a couple appetizers of chicken livers and the crawfish popcorn. The chicken livers were lightly fried and delicious. The crawfish popcorn shrimp were fried just right and the tiger sauce that accompanied was a hit too. One of our party asked for more tiger sauce (just enough spice, but not killer) to accompany her dinner she liked it so much. Our group had varied entrees from a fried oyster po boy to the shrimp and grits tee. All loved their dinners and many had to take some home. I'm a bit of a beer snob and would like to see a bit larger selection of draught beers, but the Abita beers we selected were tasty. We'll be visiting Manassas in the future and Okra's will be a must re-visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SRCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okra's Cajun Creole also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Okra's Cajun Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing