We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was great & well paced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmello's

Carmello's
9108 Center St., Manassas, VA 20110
703 368 5522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmello's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 275 Restaurants in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Battle Street
Transit: VRE
Description: Carmello's is a family owned and operated restaurant specializing in Italian and Portuguese cuisine in Old Town Manassas since 1987.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lunch was great & well paced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had the veal parmesan sandwich that cAMe with a choice of fries or salad. The salad was beautiful crisp greens, tiny garbanzo beans & baby tomatoes. Others at table loved the brick oven margarita pizza and the Caesar salads. Desserts were another rave from the crème brulee to the gelato concoctions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gaulegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    50
    24
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have eaten at Carmello's several times before and enjoyed it. This time, not good. The wife and I had the veal parmesan -- it was over cooked, tough, edible but rather flat tasting -- was missing something. Full disclosure: This was at a free "presentation" dinner. Nonetheless, you'd think the restaurant would want to impress.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmellos, General Manager at Carmello's, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Greetings!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

From reading your review, we are truly sorry that you were disappointed in your dining experience with us. Our goal as a family owned restaurant is to always get better! If you have time, please send email us at alexandra@carmellos.com. We would like to learn more about your dining experience.

We hope that you do give us another try at Carmello's and also visit us at our sister restaurant, Monza soon!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old Town Manassas Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Carmello's has always been one of the top restaurants in Manassas. Food and service is always good. Good for a special occasion or visit their attached restaurant Monza for a quick meal. Make a reservation or go early though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaSuntop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmellos, General Manager at Carmello's, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Greetings!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We would love to receive more details and feedback from your experience. We are always interested in learning more about what we did well and areas of improvement. Our goal is to make our family owned restaurant better and better and we need your help with that!

If you have time, please send email us at alexandra@carmellos.com with feedback.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge, va
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Carmello's offers fine food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Carmello's has nightly specials that can't be missed. If there is a special, go for it. I have my normal favorites but I pull myself away and try what the chef has to offer and I am never disappointed. This is a local, family restaurant and it never disappoints.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank kimo2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmellos, General Manager at Carmello's, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Greetings!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We would love to receive more details and feedback from your experience. We are always interested in learning more about what we did well and areas of improvement. Our goal is to make our family owned restaurant better and better and we need your help with that!

If you have time, please send email us at alexandra@carmellos.com with feedback.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I don't understand all the praise and hype for this spot. the prices are high and the food is average. i admire their attempt to bring fine dining to old town manassas, but they fall short of that goal in my opinion. the last time i was in for dinner the wine list was a stapled mass of torn and food stained paper, not what one would expect at a "fine dining" establishment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank tracy2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmellos, General Manager at Carmello's, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Greetings!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

From reading your review, we are truly sorry that you were disappointed in your dining experience with us. Our goal as a family owned restaurant is to always get better! If you have time, please send email us at alexandra@carmellos.com. We would like to learn more about your dining experience.

We hope that you do give us another try at Carmello's and also visit us at our sister restaurant, Monza soon!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmello's also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Carmello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing