We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well-Established Local Favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Philadelphia Tavern

The Philadelphia Tavern
Ranked #15 of 281 Restaurants in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Matilda, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well-Established Local Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We popped in for a late lunch / early dinner before a Jimmy Buffet concert at Jiffy Lube Live Amphitheater a few miles down the road in Bristow.

I had hoped for a brew-pub, and was disappointed in that aspect; however, I was not disappointed with the food that we bought.

We bought two house specialties (marked on the menu with a Liberty Bell symbol), and was glad that we did. The brie and the reuben were both excellent!

The waitstaff was friendly and attentive, bringing refills of our soft-drinks without being asked. When in the area again, I certainly would visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good local tavern”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stopped in while in town for Jimmy Buffett concert. While it wasn't as crowded as some of the other pubs in the area it seemed more of a local crowd atmosphere. Looks like it has been in the town for years so it was fun to take it in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PURPLESCOUT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

What this place has going for it is ambiance and character. Very nicely decorated and informal and comfortable atmosphere. Three TVs going: two with MLB and one on the LL World Series. Food was pretty good and they were flexible. I had a very good Reuben sandwich, nicely presented. I didn't want the fries or chips, so they subbed in some good stir fried mixed veggies. The wife had the Mussels and Pasta and liked it, but felt it tasted like some canned marinara sauces that she has used. Her salad and the dressing were excellent (I got to eat half). The wait staff were friendly and enthusiastic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmateurAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good pub food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

After reading reviews for various options in Manassas, we chose the Philadelphia Tavern. We enjoyed a great meal and the pub atmosphere. Settled in downtown Mannassas near the Amtrack station, the pub offers great beer-battered fish and chips as well as Philly Cheesesteaks and other ample sized sandwiches. The service was great and our drinks kept full. We had the beer battered mushrooms for an appetizer. They were served fresh and hot with ranch dressing for dipping. There was plenty for our party - especially considering the size of our entrees! The homemade chips and fries are great and a bonus when getting a sandwich or fish. Great choice!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharalDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good local pub food in Manassas!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We couldn't decide so we split a reuben and fish/chips. Good! White wine for wife and Yuengling for me. A little loud, but it was Friday night, and I got to watch my Nationals play on tv.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Philadelphia Tavern also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to The Philadelphia Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing