We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Daughter Begs to Eat Here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #24 of 292 Restaurants in Manassas
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Front Royal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Daughter Begs to Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We found the restaurant at the recommendation of the Fairfield Inn~Manassas front desk staff. They were right about how fabulous the food is! We have returned numerous times for the very tasty, fresh, large portioned, reasonably priced food. Its a fun addition to be serenaded if you are a first time customer. Our personal favorite is the taco salad with the beef....so flavorful, a huge mound of tasty salad, rice, beans, cilantro, pico de gallo, and the fabulous green house dressing! We get a craving for the food and drive 45 minutes to get it. Wish there was a Cafe Rio in Front Royal, where we reside!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Chipotle meets Taco Bell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was not really thrilled with this place. Everyone was excited when it opened, but it is really just like Chipotle; you walk through a line and pick what you want and they make it for you. The selection is a little different, and the food is certainly not bad, it's just not anything that really competes arguably with favorites like Chipotle, California Tortilla and Taco Bell, which are all within a 3 mile radius of each other. I encourage people to visit and try their spin on Tex-Mex, but not because it's anything you will never eat anywhere else or made to perfection. It's good, but not otherworldly or unique.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Neat place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have never been to a Cafe Rio before, I am assuming this is a chain. Anyway, Pleasantly surprised with the many vegetarian options that were available. I got the salad, it was so good and I had to save half of it for the next day, large portions.
They will sing to you if you have never eaten there before or if you order something that they have a song made up for. Really cute.
The line did not move as fast as I would have liked, however, it was worth the wait as they grill mostly everything in front of you. Will definitely go again when I am in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not bad, for Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Without a doubt, the best Tex-Mex is in the Mom and Pop places in Texas and Arizona (and probably New Mexico, but I've not eaten there). This place is as good as I've seen in Virginia though. I had enchiladas and the wife had the tacos (soft shell) and they were pretty good. Several different fillings - we had the chili beef in our main courses, and the pulled pork with our Nachos. Not bad but the pulled pork would have been better in something else, and the Nachos would have been better with the chili beef. You live and learn. Huge portions - we could not finish ours and if we go back, I'll forgo the appetizers, because it was just too much. Excellent showmanship among the cook staff and you get to watch everything getting prepared. The tortillas are home made and very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmateurAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time visitor and loving it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've only eaten here twice but both times were great! Loved the tostadas!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank arctoswu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing