We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move Over Chipotle!”
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #29 of 300 Restaurants in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Move Over Chipotle!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Oh my goodness was the food here good! Some of the best and freshest Mexican food I have had in a long time! I love Mexican food, but I'm not a big fan of it being spicy hot. So I love how the meat at Cafe Rio is seasoned but none of it is spicy. If you want heat you can kick it up with the salsas. I had a pork burrito and beef nachos. I'm looking forward to going back to try something else. Maybe the shrimp tacos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mockmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Mexican”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We eat here often for Taco Tuesdays, which is a great bargain and also delicious. But this particular evening we had dinner. Shared a Burrito and tortilla soup with my husband. tortillas made fresh while you watch. The soup - you must try the soup - broth is ready and then you add the ingredients to your liking. This is not a sit down restaurant, you walk through the line and they make your food adding the items you prefer..."Subway" style. Burrito was big enough to share - we had the chicken, very good. The Barbacoa - not my favorite - a little too "bar-b-que-y" for me. Staff is friendly and speedy. Lots of interesting beverage options.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy_0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of our new favorites”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This place has great personality, Great service, and better food.....Chipolte should train their staff at Cafe Rio.............They are fun, a big selection of dishes, they are also very flexible about how you get your request. They have salmon, grilled chicken, steak, and amazing roast beef....wheat and flour tortilla's.
Ask for Javier he's the coolest cook / manager.............. Also very nice sized portions
We have been there several times since they opened ......

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddy3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Cafe Rio is another one of those "quick serve" chains like Chipotle, California Tortilla and others, not to be confused with "fast food" chains like McDonalds, Taco Bell and so forth. This is a totally different experience! They orginated on the West Coast and have just recently expanded into our area. Your food is prepared to your order as you progress through the line. Food is Southwestern and the selection of menu items is much larger than other restaurants like this. They have daily specials too. Everything I have had has been great. Their drink bar is awesome! All the popular fountain drinks plus daily made frescas, drink flavorings and teas. One big difference here is the friendliness of the staff as you progress through the line. Customer service is important to them and it shows. They'll greet you very cheerfully and chat with you as you move along. They also have a meal deal where after you buy ten meals the 11th is free. So be sure to get your card!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGolpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Delicious Customized Eating Experience”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

If you like Mexican-American Food, you will like Cafe Rio. They offer a full menu including appetizers, entrees and desserts. This restaurant flows in the short-order assembly line style service much like the Chipotle and Qdoba restaurants, but with a broader menu. You choose your main entree and the servers build it for you, adding toppings to order as you go down the customer line. You can choose from tostadas, quesadillas, tacos, burritos and enchiladas. Then you can customize them to your liking. The portions are generous. It is fast, fresh and delicious.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rio also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing