We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Moving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manassas National Battlefield Park

Manassas National Battlefield Park
Book In Advance
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 5,000-acre park that was the scene of two major Civil War battles.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
“Very Moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I only got to visit the site of the 2nd Battle of Manassas at Brawner Farm but I was mesmerized with the walking tour. Originally not a Civil War buff, the story told by the Ranger and seeing the actual places he was talking about made everything so real and like you were actually witnessing the battle. A good visual imagination will super enhance your experience. The tour was easy enough to walk even for people who must use a cane like me. The Ranger was great! The landscape was beautiful, the farmhouse was awesome. I wish I had the time to see all of the Battlefield but from what I did see, I highly recommend this stop on your Civil War adventure. I am now a Civil War history fan. But watch out....the gift shop will get you!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    237
    38
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very beautiful, peaceful and serene.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was probably my favorite place on our vacation to Washington and Gettysburg last week. This battlefield really got to me...it is so open, peaceful, the walking trails, the winding Bull Run creek, the Stone House, Henry Hill and the house there...the Stone Bridge, Chinn Ridge, the flock of deer, bunnies, wild turkeys. It was just amazing to me, and to imagine all that happened there, walk where so many brave souls fell, its almost overwhelming. I found this battlefield more profound than even Gettysburg, which I loved, but this one was just quieter, more tranquil. I could vividly imagine what it was like. Beautifully kept, time seems to have stood still, a moving tribute to those who fought and died here. An absolute must see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheryl830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ-NY
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Photogenic, Humbling, Great for All Ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

very enjoyable with vast open fields and rolling hills. Buffalo grass was a beautiful golden color. Was quite walkable for all including kids. Kids could easily run and be free. Do not miss the 6 min explanation of the battle inside avoid from the desk. we brought blankets and enjoyed a picnic under the trees. you will be able to stand on the hill we're Jackson got the name Stonewall Jackson. An adversary said form, form. There stands Jackson like a stone wall. No food for sale on premises. Dogs welcome except inside the museum. Bathrooms are inside and downstairs. 2-3 hours are good. Get a map from the desk clerk for three self driving tour around the park (30 miles long) Loads of cars were pouring into the nearby winery at 5pm on Fri day evening. Don't know why but looked beautiful as we drove down the drive and parking lot. Might be worth looking into it. Wendy's and a fewcfast food places just before you had into the park. Also had a number of green flies so being big spray!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SayCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
395 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A walk through time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is another excellent park with the historic civil war battlegrounds. The grounds are very well kept. It is wheelchair accessible. Bring your walking shoes to be to appreciate this well displayed museum piece of American History. There are statutes, plaques explaining the "Battle of Bull Run". Maps are provide at the information Center. It is free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLEWOOD
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Another must see spot in American history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This battlefield is the real deal, so there really should be no rating. It's where two Civil War battles were fought and thousands of men died in only a couple of hours. AKA the Battle of Bull Run (1 and 2nd), named for the smallish creek that runs past the battlefield.

This battlefield is a National Park preserve not the Disney production that you will find at Gettysburg, yes there is a movie, and yes there are artifacts and lots of cannons and so on, but it's more like a huge cemetery. My opinion is all Americans should see these killing fields and try to understand why brothers would kill brothers and fathers would kill sons. I would bet 5 cents that most of our elected officials have never been here even though it's only 10 miles outside Washington.

There are trails to hike, and fields to ponder over, and there is a driving tour that covers most of the troop movements and takes you to the stone house and the bridge over Bull Run. All worth doing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manassas National Battlefield Park also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Manassas National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing