We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth the Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manassas National Battlefield Park

Manassas National Battlefield Park
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 5,000-acre park that was the scene of two major Civil War battles.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was by chance that we ran across Manassas National Battlefield Park. It wasn't on our to do list, but after the visit it really should have been.

The rangers are very sweet and knowledgeable. The visitor center has an impressive display of artifacts and a retelling of the battle. Go through this portion of the visitor section before heading outside, it'll make a difference in seeing the battle during the walking tour.

At our visit the weather was perfect! Once we stepped outside we started the walking tour around the battlefield. The area has been kept the same landscape as it was during the battle. There are makers around with information of the wounded and deceased soldiers and the cannons are in the very positions they were during the fighting. I seriously felt the intense fear of battle just imagining the confederates coming out of the trees to attack. It was a learning experience for everyone!

There isn't a fee for the park itself but, there is a small fee to go through the 'house tour and movie'.

MUST:
WEAR COMFY SHOES
have a camera
have some water with you.
we went in early April so the whether was just turning warm

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank blessedw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    228
    38
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Civil War History Worth Visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family recently took a trip to Manassas National Battlefield Park and was impressed with the Visitor's Center and the preservation of the battlefield. The Volunteer Guide and the Park Ranger were both very knowledgable and interesting to listen to. We highly recommend spending a day learning about what took place there 150+ years ago.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank degullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Park and Great History Lessons to be Learned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This park was wonderful. Loved walking in the park and reliving what it must have been like to be there. Great 45 minute movie that explains it all (with re-enactors). My four kids learned a lot and did the Junior Ranger program too. I learned a lot too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than D.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tons of Civil War artifacts in the museum. Excellent movie to kick-off the tour. GuIdes are very knowlegable. Only $3/person, free parking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Battles, but we let the battlefield area become overrun with development”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Both of the battles at Bull Run/Manassas were important. But, for our modern-day purposes of visiting, too much of the battlefield was allowed to be purchased and developed, thus ruining it for us history buffs. I recommend instead Gettysburg, and the nearby Antietam battlefields, the two most important battles in the American Civil War.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank atpcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manassas National Battlefield Park also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Manassas National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing