We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have rated higher, but some 'management' issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manassas - Battlefield
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Manassas
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherstocking Region New York
Level Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Would have rated higher, but some 'management' issues.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed here on Aug. 23, then on our return north we stayed again on Aug. 30. Tale of two trips. Both check-ins I was greeted in a very friendly manner, welcomed as a PC member and given coupons, discounts, etc. that were due to me. Stayed in double Queen room each time. Very clean, whole hotel was very clean. Smelled clean in the lobby, elevators, hallways, rooms, etc. HUGE room. Flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator.
First check-in went very smoothly and check-out was just as easy. I was encouraged to go to this site and leave an independent review since we had enjoyed our stay. The second time we checked-in they had my reservation incorrect. First, they had a higher rate listed as to what I had on my confirmation sheet. Only a five dollars more, but every penny saved counts nowadays. Front desk person took care of it immediately on his computer. Also, had us in a King Bed room when I reserved 2 Queens. Again not a problem he took care of it without much delay.

Only down sides to this hotel are as follows:

#1, Queen beds are not really queen-sized. We have queen at home, and this "queen" was nothing more than a double bed at this hotel. Although the sheeting and pillows are great. Just give us a Queen bed.

#2, They advertise a bar area, which looked very chic, but when we arrived back at hotel from dinner at 10 PM on Saturday night we planned to patronize the bar only to find it closed??????? Saturday night at 10 PM? With a 3/4 full hotel? Must not want to make any $$ there.

#3, Breakfast management is a nightmare here. We arrived at breakfast at 10 AM. Only one waitress on duty even though hotel was pretty full. Most of the booths and tables had the dirty dishes, glasses, etc. from the previous patrons. We waited 10 minutes watching the waitress (older woman) attend to the customers and try to bus the tables herself. She was too busy to seat new patrons. There were several waiting to be seated. My wife finally went to the front desk to get her some help. Young woman from front desk cleaned our table off and got us our juices. Still waited another 20 minutes as waitress attempted to wait on customers and take care of dirty tables. We finally got up and left since we wanted to get on the road, and at that rate we would not have been out of there until after noon. It was evident that management did not do a good job in managing the "bistro" part of the hotel. There were 3 people at the check-out trying to put paper in the printer, numerous cleaning staff on the floors cleaning rooms, and even a woman mopping the floor of the lobby. Someone should have been pulled to bus the tables and/or play host/hostess for the guests arriving for breakfast. Or hire someone to do this job when they know it will be busy. Woman at front desk made the excuse that there was a concert in the area last night and the hotel was pretty full, so they were busy.
Don't make excuses, do something to remedy the situation: that is good management.

This place could be a top-notch Holiday Inn if they can get someone to manage the "bistro" better.

PS The same waitress attended to us on the morning of the 24th the first time we were here and did a nice job. She was friendly and did her job well. But on that date we were the only patrons in the restaurant at 9 AM. Only about 5 cars in parking lot the night before.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Flying-Circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    75
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
91
76
25
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at this Holiday Inn on a recent visit to see our son. The hotel is very modern, and the rooms are good except for the pillows. Many hotels of this caliber provide at least two different types of pillows, but this hotel only had fat, foam pillows, making sleep difficult.

The staff was less than helpful, saying that they had no control over the pillows since the type was chosen by corporate. When I asked for directions to a local restaurant I was advised to look it up online, even though the person did not appear to be busy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Super clean hotel, great staff - front desk, Julie and Nelly, and GM Rod Jarrah gave me the impression they want client satisfaction and a pleasant stay. I will return!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grunt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

My compliments to the folks at Holiday Inn Manassas-Battlefield for making my stay so pleasant. I was surprised and pleased to be upgraded to a larger room when I arrived. The staff was unfailingly pleasant and helpful - I got a great recommendation for a local pizza restaurant that was just what I was looking for. The two women behind the desk were as genuinely friendly as any I have met in my years of business travel. The hotel is new, clean, and very well appointed. I would not give the breakfast buffet a high grade, but that is a minor point. And finally, the rate I was able to book online for this hotel using Priceline.com was fifty dollars below the hotels at which I generally stay - with no compromise on comfort or quality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doustoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath,Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

I am so glad I booked this Holiday Inn. The room was really clean and bright, the beds were super comfortable and the front desk staff was really friendly and helpful. There was one downfall and that was the on site resturant. Avoid this place. We checked in in the late evening and thought to grab dinner here. We walked in and debated if we were supposed to seat ourselves or not. The bar tender ignored us and I was at the point of asking the front desk when our waitress came out. There was only one other occupied table in the place which should have told us something. The food was only so so. They messed up the kids orders and we were hard pressed to get drink refills. The waitress kept disapearing into the back. We debated if she was cooking the food as well! The next morning I overheard other guests talking to the front desk about the same issues.
There are a lot of resturants and stores close by so I would stay again anyway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flutterby24a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Found this hotel by searching hotels in the area of Splashdown and Atlantis Waterparks. Immediately upon walking in I felt relaxed and at home. The check-in process was quick and the receptioness was extremely friendly. I was super impressed when I walk into my room. It was spacious, contempary, and cozy. It included a flat screen tv, mini frig and a microwave as well as a coffee maker. This room looked exactly like the picture I viewed on the Holiday Inn's website, except it was a different color. Kids eat free so we'd go for breakfast every morning. With one adult and 3 kids my bill would only be $12 (AMAZING). The kids really enjoyed making their own waffles at the breakfast buffett and the flat screen TV at every booth that allowed them to watch Sponge Bob while eating. Other than the hotel being out of Shampoo & Conditioner (Bath & Body Works Coconut Verbana) I have no complaints about my entire stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, VA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed at this hotel when we needed a place near the Nissan Pavilion in Bristow. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manassas hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Manassas
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Manassas
Hampton Inn Manassas
#1 of 20 in Manassas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manassas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Manassas Battlefield Park
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Manassas
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Manassas Battlefield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manassas - Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manassas - Battlefield

Property: Holiday Inn Manassas - Battlefield
Address: 10424 Balls Ford Rd, Manassas, VA 20109-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Manassas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manassas
#2 Family Hotel in Manassas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manassas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manassas - Battlefield 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Northern Virginia, the Holiday Inn Manassas Battlefield, our hotel features a convenient location, right off I-66, & is just a half-hour from locations such as Washington, DC, the Dulles International Airport (IAD) and the Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA).Our Manassas hotel understands the needs of our traveler so we offer complimentary high-speed, wired & wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's a heated indoor pool & whirlpool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Twist Bistro & Lounge.Leisure Travelers and families enjoy our Manassas, VA hotel's location near attractions such as the Jiffy Lube Live, Dulles Expo Center, Freedom Museum, Manassas Battlefield, Splashdown Waterpark & the Manassas Mall. Visitors can spend a day in Washington, DC, which is just a half-hour away, and enjoy any number of DC's world-famous attractions.When you're looking for the best Manassas, VA hotels, book your reservations with us, & enjoy our excellent amenities in a convenient location.2011 Torchbearer Award & 2010, 2011 Trip Advisor Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Manassas - Battlefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manassas - Battlefield Hotel Manassas
Manassas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing