We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Antebellium Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden

Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden
Ranked #7 of 27 things to do in Manassas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Manor House is known for its Federal architecture and its role as a hospital for Union and Confederate soldiers during the Civil War. Also notable is the garden, which features rose varieties developed before the 20th century.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Antebellium Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

House is amazing and in excellent condition. This was used for a hospital at one time. A small building is also there that used to house slaves also in excellent condition. Did not get a chance to do into the house, no one was around. The Rose Garden needs some work.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VisaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you love to tour historic homes, this is a beauty with their fabulously tended rose gardens. You can almost hear the ghosts of residents past.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MKAngelPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Closed, but could roam the grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was closed in the early morning when I visited. Information kiosk with pamphlets told the story of the building and how it was a hospital during the battles of Bull Run/Manassas. Would have liked to vist inside. Hopefully on another trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobsBeenThereToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leelanau County, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Catch this site on a Thursday - Saturday, when the red flag is posted outside the entrance. That signals the the interior is open for touring. The home exterior is attractive, but it was the rose garden that stole the show for me. I have never held rose blossums from a rose bush planted prior to 1781. But this rose garden has several. Not to mention the numerous rose bushes planted between 1800 - 1900. Living history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank birchpointmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice for a school class”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'd take my elementary class to visit although it is small. The new young guide was doing the best she could...I was her 2nd tour ever!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank since1985together
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Ben Lomond Manor House & Old Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing