We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Ben Lomond Historic Site
Ranked #5 of 36 things to do in Manassas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ben Lomond and its outbuildings were constructed for Benjamin Tasker Chinn in 1832. Confederate forces used Ben Lomond as a hospital following the 1861 Battle of First Manassas. Signatures of Federal soldiers who occupied the property in 1862 are still visible inside the house. Tour the Civil War hospital, where you can see, smell, touch, hear, and taste history. Then see the restored slave quarter, smokehouse and dairy and enjoy the fragrant Rose Garden. The site is open for tours May-October. Grounds are open year round from dawn-dusk. Tours November-April are available with advanced notice.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Leelanau County, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Catch this site on a Thursday - Saturday, when the red flag is posted outside the entrance. That signals the the interior is open for touring. The home exterior is attractive, but it was the rose garden that stole the show for me. I have never held rose blossums from a rose bush planted prior to 1781. But this rose garden has several. Not to mention the numerous rose bushes planted between 1800 - 1900. Living history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank birchpointmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice for a school class”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'd take my elementary class to visit although it is small. The new young guide was doing the best she could...I was her 2nd tour ever!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank since1985together
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gym”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great museum....unlike other house museums, everything is HANDS ON!!! Fantastic!

Helpful?
2 Thank stonewall71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This small house is a gem. If you like history, and are interested in medicine, it is a must. Our guide, Mr. B. Backus was knowledgeable about this house, and naturally helpful in answering our questions, when he knew the answers [We have a way of stumping tour guides with our inquisitiveness.]. The house was used as a hospital, and the statistics surprised us and gave us a new perspective on the Battle of First Manassas. While our 4 year old did well, I recommend an older age group for most youngsters, unless very well behaved.
One could see the first floor and get the spiel with a wheelchair.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank orcasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Ben Lomond Manor. We're relatively local and trying to see all the historical site tied to the Civil War. This would be a GREAT attraction for Families with kids or teenagers. The tour guide we had was great! She made the tour interesting - as in fun not read from a history book. If we get house guests I would definitely bring them here for a bit of history. One tip: This site was uses a a hospital so there is some discussion about civil war medical techniques (or lack there of). The fake blood is a hoot and would make any kid of teenager have fun.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristineM206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Lomond Historic Site also viewed

Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 
Manassas, Prince William County
Manassas, Prince William County
 

Been to Ben Lomond Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing