We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible awful place with rudest owner I've ever met as he called us pigs and refused to take us to airport as agreed and almost”
Review of Falcon Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bugibba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falcon Court
Ranked #3 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible awful place with rudest owner I've ever met as he called us pigs and refused to take us to airport as agreed and almost”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is good, that's where the good ends.

The beds are only really suitable for a nights stay, they are like foldaway beds that you can manage a night on at a push. The place is really noisy - sound just travels through the building really well and people coming back at night and the family above us stopped us from having much sleep. Also all the smokers made us unable to ever open the windows and enjoy the balcony.

The worst thing was the owner who is a very nasty and unpleasant individual. He called us pigs and dirty beasts as there was some sand on the balcony, water on the bathroom floor and we forgot to empty the bin in the bathroom. He refused to take us to the airport and we almost missed our flight. We obviously though he could take advantage of us. Only stay here if you like bad beds and cleaning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Han W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olaf121, Owner at Falcon Court, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for stating that we are located in a superb location.

A few facts related to the review:
(1) We have two types of bedding within the Falcon Court (a) innerspring, orthopaedic mattress on solid base; or (b) non spring mattress on orthopaedic base.

(2) All apartments within Falcon Court are non smoking. However, smoking is allowed in balconies / terraces.

Mentioned guests were staying with us at Falcon Court without any incident. However, upon final inspection, apartment was found to be vacated in a sub standard state. Left overs included: 8 days worth of stinking garbage; a kitchen which was used daily but none of the items were ever cleaned; a cooker covered in sauce, oil and other matter; mattresses thrown over other furniture; floor littered with sand, paper, toilet paper, copper coins and other belongings, flooded bathroom etc. One has to see to believe.

This does not comply with our upkeep statement within our T & C's. After finding all the above, the comment made to guests was 'you left the property like a pig sty'. This is being interpreted within a different context and terminology above. Yes, guests were asked to clear out garbage before making use of our free transfer service back to the airport. We have nothing to be ashamed of within this occurrence and pride ourselves with the level of cleanliness we maintain. Such behaviour is considered disrespectful to ourselves & our staff and is not welcome.

At no point in time were these guests called any names or threatened / abused or taken advantage of in any manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    37
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As others have suggested, this property is well-priced and well situated. It is a 3 minute walk to several of the local dive schools and very close to many restaurants and the ocean. It is quiet and the view from the 4th floor is impressive.

If you stay here, remember that it is self-catering, European style. That means you need to provide your own hand soap, dish soap, dish towels, toilet paper etc. I would have been happy to buy a "starter pack" of these things for a small fee as I was only staying a short time, but that was not offered. It was a little annoying to buy a huge bottle of dish soap for only 7 days, so I would recommend you bring a small stash of goods from home if you are only staying for a short period.
I was quite tired in the evenings and ended-up staying in a lot. I was pleased with the choice of English television channels (TLC, national geographic wild, and a news station).

I would suggest that the owners provide a tourist map of the immediate area as I got very lost on my first outing (an attempt to find a map!)

Good place to stay and you'll save a ton being able to cook some of your meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smigiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olaf121, Owner at Falcon Court, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Many thanks for complimenting our value for money & location.

It is good to note that despite having to buy your own consumables, we supply initial: toilet paper & garbage bags. Anyone, wishing to find any additional items is reminded to provide shopping list within the allocated section of our Booking Request .

Regards to all our friends in Ottawa.


olaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Falcon court is a great place to stay to explore Malta. The apartments are exactly as described on the website, basic but clean with a comfortable bed and reasonable prices. The owner is friendly and picked us up from the airport and took us back at the end of the trip. The location of the apartments is quite so easy to get a good night’s sleep after a long day exploring. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tangaroa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olaf121, Owner at Falcon Court, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Honesty is our policy and glad you appreciate it. Glad you found everything as described and to your satisfaction.


olaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We met the owner, Olaf, who is very personable. The rates are better if one stays for a long period, but they are a bargain either way. There is a lift to get to the upper floors. We found the beds comfortable and the property to be private. Olaf will pick you up at the airport for a fee. There are many grocery stores in the area to pick up food and store it in the room's fridge. We had two adjoning private rooms (with doors) with a kitchen and dining room. Many restaurants are also in the area, and the bus stop is very close by. It was not an issue for us, but the sidewalks are rough, so wheelchairs and walkers won't work here. Plenty of places for an adult beverage as well! Mind you, it is far from the capital city of Valletta if that is an issue...we used the busses which are very very cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank MaltaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olaf121, Owner at Falcon Court, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Many thanks for the review. Glad that you took advantage of our low rates. Now we also offer free airport transfers to all our guests.

Regards to all our friends in Texas.


olaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having stayed at Falcon Court every year since 2000 (except 2011) I am surprised to see one or two negative reviews. We decided to try a hotel last year and regretted it so returned to Falcon this year. This is budget accommodation and everything is exactly as described in the website with no hidden charges. The apartments are spacious and spotlessly clean. Brilliant central location and a sunroof which catches the sun from early morning till sundown. Olaf is a great host and we love a chat with him - great sense of humour and totally happy to oblige with any reasonable requests you may have. Mind you, some people expect the Hilton for the price of budget accommodation! Falcon Court has many guests who return every year so it must be doing something right.
See you next year Olaf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catherinek70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olaf121, Owner at Falcon Court, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for your annual support!


olaf :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from holiday on the lovely Island of Malta, We stayed at the Falcon court apartments five of us all aged between sixty five and seventy,. The apartments are very basic not much of anything in them, the beds are like put you up beds you have when someone arrives you are not expecting. There was no protection on pillows or mattress , When lying on them I always thought they were damp I am not surprise as it was so hot, We bough towels to put on our pillows and mattresses , You are not allowed to sit on your balcony after dark that,s around seven in the evening there are no bulbs on any balcony, All in all we would not stay at the apartments again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olaf121, Owner at Falcon Court, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We confirm that this party of five was staying with us at Falcon Court in a three bedroom maisonette.

A few facts related to the review:

(1) lights in balconies are purposely disabled as per information provided on our website. This is done as most balcony lights might interfere with other guest / sleeping areas.

(2) terraces & balconies are not for use after dark. This is also advertised on our website. However this is not stopping anybody from sipping a beer or smoking a cigarette in their own private space. This condition is there to ensure that other people trying to sleep at night time will not be kept awake by a group of 5 people having a party in their back yard.

(3) We have two types of bedding within the Falcon Court (a) innerspring, orthopaedic mattress on solid base; or (b) non spring mattress on orthopaedic base. All our mattresses are fitted with waterproof mattress protectors for added hygiene.

Many thanks for reading.


olaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed everywhere in Malta through the years ( package holidays ) and decided this year to book our own . Did not bother with reviews as we new most areas well. Choose this one by chance and very glad we did. Our host OLAF picks you up from airport shows you you bit of where and what you are near to . He does run a tight ship but when i had a problem he was there and that made a diffrence . As for privacy second to none only seen him once and i left my door unlocked several times so dont worry about people comming in "it is secure" . So over all we had a great time and thanks again Olaf you do exactly what you say.

Room Tip: I think all rooms will b much the same clean ours was a 2 bed balcony perfect for 2 couples who lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alphabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bugibba
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Court

Property: Falcon Court
Address: Falcon Court 63 Triq Il-Mazzola, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1356, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcon Court, is located within immediate reach of all conveniences including Bus Station, Convenience Stores, Bars & Restaurants, Pharmacies, Post office etc.This apartment block consists of 1, 2 & 3 bedroom properties, all including private bathroom & kitchen facilities. Rates for Falcon Court include free transfers to & from airport and free wi-fi internet access from within the apartment you rent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Court Hotel Bugibba
Falcon Court Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing