We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Anton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed there 15/05/14 to 22/05/14 the hotel is a little old and in need of a good clean up.On saying that the food was of a good quality , the veg was a bit basic but all in was of a high standard. The rooms are big,or the one we had was a twin ,but had two double beds . the wardrobe was a bit old but did the job, the cleaning staff do there job very well and the room was cleaned every other day,towels changed every two days.The bar staff and reception are good at there job.We went all inclusive, used the bar sometimes but as with all this type of holiday the drink is not the best quality,but drinkable and plenty of it.You can use the sister hotel over the road for food and entertainment.The buses to any where on the island are just down the road, Left out of the hotel, turn first right, left again follow road down to the bottom. near side to Silema. over the road to Gozo ferry. the ticket lasts all day ,you can get off and on as many times as you like using the same ticket so do not throw it away.Price 1.50 EURO not bad for all day. The ferry to gozo is about 6.65 euro return. The tour buses are good value 17 euros each.If you go to Gozo buy your ticket at the terminal befor you get on as it is cheaper 17.00 each or 25.00 euros for two people at the terminal hagle it will save you money.Last of all ,as in the title you get what you pay for,so give the hotel a try it is not that bad.

Room Tip: The rooms all have large fans on the ceiling but no air con ,the rooms near the lift do get a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Malta and hope to see you again in the near future in one of our resorts

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    339
    410
    262
    529
See reviews for
452
633
107
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

having read some of the reviews I was sceptical of what I would find here but was worrying for nothing. this was the 1st holiday abroad for my grandson and I have got to say he had a ball. there was plenty of options for him to choose for breakfast, lunch and dinner, not forgetting the ice lollies that were in the all inclusive deal we had. we had the studio room that had a kitchen including a fridge 2 king size beds and a shower and bath, so loads of space. would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We are happy that your grandson enjoyed his first holiday with us and that you all had a nice time.

We hope to see you again in the near future in one of our resorts.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here for our holiday, the hotel is clean, spacious rooms and very friendly staff who are only too willing to help you.We went half board and the food, although plentiful, is a little basic, but you are getting what you pay for in terms of a good value for money holiday.
We totally enjoyed our stay here and would highly recomend it for people who may be on a budget. Please dont be put off by the odd idiots who feel they need to make themselves known to everyone.
The staff work hard to keep the place clean and help you if you need it.
We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and continue to offer competitive low cost value for money holidays.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Firstly, 3 star rating it is, but basic hygiene, value for money and a decent meal should be expected at all, and every level from 1 star up, there is no excuse for not providing this.
Some reviewers giving top marks are astonishing.
We booked in here, all inclusive, from 6th May for two weeks but cut our losses less than half way through and moved to another hotel. One reviewer said the food was not cooked on premises, the manager disagreed, but, all food is definitely prepared elsewhere and shipped in, it's all processed too, the same junk and identical daily menu is served in its sister hotel, Blue Sea Santa Maria, across the road, so no getting away from lousy meals. No cornflakes, no chips, no baked potatoes, (Kids menu was chips but same menu for them every day). Powdered mash, powdered scrambled eggs, occasional fried eggs, boiled eggs cooked till they've exploded from their shells (I'm not kidding) everything was prepared to make life easy for the "Chefs" everything else was totally unrecognizable and tasteless. The only way you knew what the food is was to look at the biro written bits of paper over the food. Fruit was second rate....Melon, also third rate oranges and bottom of the barrel soft apples were the only fruit available, this is the Mediterranean fresh 1st class fruit is cheap and easily accessible, but none here. Grated carrots for breakfast, but none for salad at tea time, absolutely outrageous place. Surly miserable staff (although a few in the dining area were very accommodating Janos and Andrea in particular). This "Hotel" does not deserve any star rating nor does it deserve the title "Hotel".
It's noisy, dangerous in places and dirty, this was the first time and will be the last time we stay here, deffo. Some reviewer's give this place top marks, well some people obviously don't have any standards to compare with. Some say they had a lovely holiday, well we did too, but don't include this place as part of our holiday, neither do we wish to put people off wonderful Malta. We've been holidaying abroad for decades and very often stay 3/4 stars, but after this load of Tom Tit, we are going 4 stars from now on every time.........once bitten?
Our advice would be to give this place, and its sister Blue sea Santa Maria a very, very wide berth, if you've already booked and not yet paid, cancel now while you still have the chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
It is with regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

As you are aware you booked a low cost 3 star hotel in Malta with very competitive rate, if fact lower than most British one star hotels and hostels but providing much enjoyed holidays for many with a great value for money.

Our catering team work to provide a varied menu to 600+ guests a day which is checked and consumed by the hotel management.

with the above said the hotel management work visibly around the resort to rectify any guests personal dissatisfaction's of which unfortunately you did not avail yourself of whilst in resort.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Some people are never happy andoan about everything...sime rwviews abour this hotel are no e xeption...
I stayed 3 weeks and didn't want hto leave..,
Granted, the hotel is well used, and there might be somerough edges,but that is only because it is very popular and busy.
I personally have nocomplaints, the staff is charmung, hard working and wxtremely helpful.
The hotel and self cateriing units are clean and spacious..
I was given a room with two doyble beds, overlooking the pool area, a laugh a minute watchung children and grown ups alike having fun.
Value is incredible...Can have long stays for less than £100 x wk, half board.
The area is quiet, even at night, as a mixture of hotels, similar kund, and residential, but nightlife can be readily found a few minutes away.
Also cash and carry, used by locals, five mins away, for self catering option.
What more can I say, but that I will certainly go back...if only to say hi to Louis, the very charming hotel manager...
Give it a try..April is a good rime to go, got a good tan, on, for about an. It only rained twice, in three weeks for about an hour, at night, the rest of the time it was comfortablty warm, no need for air conditioning,as around 22 to 26 degrees...lovely!
Choice holidays do great deals, well organised, tranfers punctual and fast, hold luggage 20kg included, ...Really, I would go back tomorrow!!!X Christina

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crisl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

It is with pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us here in San Anton and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Cant knock this hotel for what we paid x all staff were friendly x rooms clean and food was always good xx definitely be back xx cant understand how people can say its dirty or neglected x we didnt pay for a 5 star hotel so didnt expect one x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jools02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to San Anton in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed 12th-19th May 2014 all inclusive. I have to say before I review the hotel that i'm fed up of people expecting 5 star luxury when only paying for a 3 star, and while we were warned by previous travellers to Malta that hotels are usually quite old and in need of renovation we were pleasantly surprised at the room, food and hospitality given by all members of staff. Food was pretty basic and sometimes repetitive, but I always believe you get what you pay for, and for the price we paid for the holiday we couldn't complain as there was always something there for us to eat. We liked the fact that you cannot reserve sun loungers by the pool before going into breakfast so it meant we were always able to get a seat by the pool. Ask at Reception about travelling around Malta as we found they were extremely helpful as we discovered when we asked what bus to take to Valetta...the number 12 takes an hour and a half along the coast road, the number 45 takes 50 minutes through the island so that saved us a lot of time and we were also given really good travel advice on where to go so our holiday wasn't wasted at places we weren't interested in. People have previously complained about the cleanliness of rooms but we had no problems with this, cleaners came in every 2 days to make the beds and mop the floors and if we were there asked if we needed any fresh towels and bedding. Everyone there seemed willing to make our stay as comfortable and happy as possible. Very friendly people, nice atmosphere, really nice stay :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debpeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your personal comments and feedback.

All the staff at San Anton are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Anton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Anton Hotel

Property: The San Anton Hotel
Address: Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar | San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 3033, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The San Anton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of the Blue Sea San Anton, in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The Blue Sea San Anton Bugibba is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the Blue Sea San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The San Anton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Anton Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing