We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pay for what you get!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The San Anton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The San Anton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pay for what you get!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days and all I can say is dont waste your money!
The food is disgusting and it's the same every night.
The pool is very dirty.
The rooms are a very good size but are just so hot. No air con is ridiculous and its in august. We are on the roof with a massive balcony and we sleep outside on the roof! Hired a fan for the kids but had to wait as none available when we arrived. Staff are very rude and don't care at all.
Be prepared if you come here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luisa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    337
    403
    259
    524
See reviews for
450
624
106
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just come back from a 10 day stay and found it to be a pleasant hotel with polite staff. We only went all inclusive for some of the time we were there as we wanted to explore other bars and restaurants. The food is OK. We paid 25 euros a day to go all inclusive and I found plenty to eat. Lots of salad, pasta, meat etc. Lots of people are moaning on here about chips for breakfast but we saw loads of people tucking in...clearly its what they want (although its not my thing). It was good to have all inclusive drinks as we were lazing by the pool, variety of juices, soft drinks and spirits.
We researched the hotel and knew there was no air con so we rented a desk fan which helped immensely. The room was clean and had everything you would need (we had a self catering apartment) The fridge needed a bit of a wipe down but that was due to it being switched off while the room was unoccupied. TV has about 18 channels, some news, music channels and cheesy True Movies etc.
The bathroom had a hairdryer but it looked really old fashioned and didn't have a lot of oomph. I would suggest ladies take their own hairdryer with them, especially if they have a fringe that needs to be dried straight!
Maid service was every other day and we saw them constantly around the hotel.
The pool area only has 2 parasols and it seems that everybody sneaks out early to put out their towel so don't leave it later than 8 o'clock. We swam everyday and had no problems with the water.
The sundeck is adults only and has a nice jacuzzi but occasionally people were bringing their children up there which was annoying so maybe they need to sign it a little better.

All in all a very nice place and people should remember 'You get what you pay for...'

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SallyMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

No air conditioning in the rooms at night over 30st celsius not slept 13 nights in August because it was impossible!! Food tragic chips for breakfast bacon and scrambled eggs with powder!! dinner also gave but a lot to be desired, I have to mention that at the municipal bought a few months earlier, and of course air conditioning in the information about the hotel was!! place on a sun lounger reservation had to be the position of the towel away before seven in the morning because later there was no chance, we did not use not once, cleaning the pool every evening or pouring two buckets of chlorine, the water completely cloudy, my worst enemy I would not recommend this hotel!! did not mention that the windows from the

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaKu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel and had a fantastic week away. The only down fall is that there is no air con in the rooms, but we knew this before we booked and brought 2 fans which helped. The hotel itself is basic and clean, the pool area is small and the food was just ok, breakfast and lunch where fine but dinner was hit or miss. The hotel had a few day time activities for the adults(which I didn't take part in as I just liked to laze about the pool), and they also had activities for the kids which my son really enjoyed. The evening entertainment was very enjoyable. Would I go back? The answer is YES defiantly, we didn't expect much but for what we paid it was a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: Bring a fan it you can fit it in your suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickyb1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Can't understand all the bad complaints about this hotel. I was worried before we arrived after reading some of the reviews as we were staying all inclusive.
On arrival we were checked in quickly and got a huge clean room with two double beds and kitchen facilities, balcony could have been bigger, but I don't go away to sit on a balcony. Large flat screen tv on the wall, which was working and controlled by button on tv, we didn't pay extra for the remote.
We found ALL staff to be very helpful although some guests treated them very badly, complete lack of manners, please and thankyou cost nothing to say!!!
Food was very basic and repetitive but was edible, I don't eat meat but there was usually fish or chicken on offer, as for flies around food, I didn't see any, maybe certain people and their smells attracted them. We did eat out a few nights for a change and it wasn't very expensive. The all inclusive drinks end sharp at 11pm but then so does the entertainment, which was mostly bingo and we didn't stay in hotel for it.
People have complained about the pool never being cleaned, I was up early in the morning and it was cleaned out thoroughly everyday, and the whole pool area brushed and mopped, the hotel was having water delivered constantly by huge tankers, maybe they keep the pool water safe by chemicals as they can't afford to waste any!!!! Malta is extremely dry end of July into August!!!! Pool water didn't bleach any of my clothing or affect my skin which is sensitive & no ear infections either. The adult only sun deck with jacuzzi was lovely and peaceful as no kids allowed.
The hotel DIDN'T advertise air conditioning in bedrooms so no one has the right to use that as a complaint. Yes the rooms are very hot at night, but we pulled the bed under the fan and that helped.
All in all we had a good value holiday and this certainly isn't the really bad hotel that some people are trying to make it out to be.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We were suppose to stay here for 10 days all inclusive with a child of 2. We arrived on our first day to be checked into a dirty room. We found old T shirt under our bed and Pringles crunched on the floor. I'm guessing it was a quick bed change by the cleaners before we checked in. No air con in rooms, this is a problem in August as it is far too hot to sleep. Fans just circulate the hot air we found it cooler outside than inside.
The pool is very strange as u can't see your feet in it. It's cloudy. My son went in once and it bleached his swimming costume up a couple of shades, imagine what it would do to your skin and eyes!
Food. We watched the guys transport it over from the sister hotel over the road uncovered and a long trek before it reached the San anton kitchen resulting in food being cold.
They have a problem with flies in the dining area which put us off eating there at all. I don't just mean one or two but constant flies in your dinner. I could not risk my little one being ill so spent 1 day here and moved hotel. We moved to seashells at suncrest qawra and had a great holiday with great food and clean rooms and a pool where u could see your feet!!!
Please don't stay here all inclusive if u have a child, don't risk their health.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

First major problem - we were sold a room with air-conditioning by Broadway Travel. There are no rooms with air-con in the hotel, only the Reception area. Everyone checking-in during our stay complained about this. Not a single TV working in any bedroom while we were there. Rooms in desperate need of refurbishment (we were told this had been done). Cracked wash hand basin in bathroom, surround all chipped, hair dryer coming off wall & black mould all around bath/shower. No extractor fan in bathroom. Ceiling fans in bedrooms inadequate for a good nights sleep. We paid for an All-Inclusive holiday but were obliged to eat out as the food was so poor it is beyond description. Powdered scrambled egg floating in water & chips for breakfast just one example. No choice at dinner & vegetarians had to eat pasta or go without. To be fair, most of the hotel staff were very helpful but one or two left a lot to be desired in terms of customer relations. This hotel is bearly fit for holiday accomodation - exactly where it earned its 3 stars is a total mystery.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Anton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Anton Hotel

Property: The San Anton Hotel
Address: Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar | San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 3033, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The San Anton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of the Blue Sea San Anton, in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The Blue Sea San Anton Bugibba is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the Blue Sea San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The San Anton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Anton Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing