We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please read!!! Do not stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Anton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Please read!!! Do not stay here!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We were suppose to stay here for 10 days all inclusive with a child of 2. We arrived on our first day to be checked into a dirty room. We found old T shirt under our bed and Pringles crunched on the floor. I'm guessing it was a quick bed change by the cleaners before we checked in. No air con in rooms, this is a problem in August as it is far too hot to sleep. Fans just circulate the hot air we found it cooler outside than inside.
The pool is very strange as u can't see your feet in it. It's cloudy. My son went in once and it bleached his swimming costume up a couple of shades, imagine what it would do to your skin and eyes!
Food. We watched the guys transport it over from the sister hotel over the road uncovered and a long trek before it reached the San anton kitchen resulting in food being cold.
They have a problem with flies in the dining area which put us off eating there at all. I don't just mean one or two but constant flies in your dinner. I could not risk my little one being ill so spent 1 day here and moved hotel. We moved to seashells at suncrest qawra and had a great holiday with great food and clean rooms and a pool where u could see your feet!!!
Please don't stay here all inclusive if u have a child, don't risk their health.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    339
    410
    262
    529
See reviews for
452
633
107
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

First major problem - we were sold a room with air-conditioning by Broadway Travel. There are no rooms with air-con in the hotel, only the Reception area. Everyone checking-in during our stay complained about this. Not a single TV working in any bedroom while we were there. Rooms in desperate need of refurbishment (we were told this had been done). Cracked wash hand basin in bathroom, surround all chipped, hair dryer coming off wall & black mould all around bath/shower. No extractor fan in bathroom. Ceiling fans in bedrooms inadequate for a good nights sleep. We paid for an All-Inclusive holiday but were obliged to eat out as the food was so poor it is beyond description. Powdered scrambled egg floating in water & chips for breakfast just one example. No choice at dinner & vegetarians had to eat pasta or go without. To be fair, most of the hotel staff were very helpful but one or two left a lot to be desired in terms of customer relations. This hotel is bearly fit for holiday accomodation - exactly where it earned its 3 stars is a total mystery.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked 3 nights in this hotel as a short getaway with a friend and literally nothing about it went right. I knew it was going to be a budget hotel and therefore I feel the rooms themselves were good for what we paid for, it's the issues we had at reception and in the restaurant that made it so terrible.

Firstly, when we arrived we got checked in and then were informed we were going to be taken to a different hotel in St. Julien - being my first trip to Malta I didn't have a clue where that was and was very panicked as we had already planned our trip around Bugibba. When we asked why we couldn't stay all we were told was "issues with the rooms". Eventually the moody lady at reception managed to find us a room? She gave us no guidance as to where we needed to go to find it so we had to ask a cleaner on the way. When we found the room it already had three people's suitcases in it - instantly worrying me that this might happen to us and the people may be less honest and raid our cases! Eventually we were given another room.

That evening the room was just so hot that we couldn't sleep so we went back to reception to try and get one of the rental desk fans and were told we would have to join the waiting list and that we should just try sleeping under wet towels. Which is what we ended up doing after attempting to sleep on the balcony to cool off. When we did finally get a fan the man at reception had a go at us for not having the correct change! It was all very confusing. Everything is done on paper and not on the two large computers at reception and nobody seemed to have a clue what was going on.

We had booked half board but after one dinner there we decided not to come back again. There was just cold tomato pasta and wilting dried out salad. I understand that they are catering for a huge amount but it can't be that hard to at least keep the food warm. However, the breakfast was alright and therefore if you did (dare) stay at the hotel go for bed and breakfast then eat out cheaply in Bugibba.

Overall I found the reception staff completely useless and they should seriously reconsider the way they run the hotel. I would not recommend anyone to stay here, find a budget hotel where the staff have a clue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 12 nights in July 2013. The first apartment they gave us (number 43) was very smelly and had black mould all over the bedroom ceiling. We went straight back to reception and refused to stay in there so where offered a different one (number 65). This was much better (apart from having no aircon) but this is true for the rest of the hotel. With such a hot climate, it deffo needs aircon. The staff where very friendly, although we didn't see any cleaning staff in our apartment and the sheets on the bed where not changed for the duration of our stay. We got clean towels every other day but the cleaning was very sparce. The food was ok, but does get a bit tedious as it seems to all taste the same. We would go back here, but only if they installed aircon in all the rooms and not charge extra for it. Overall, it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 43, it smells musty and the bedroom ceiling has mould all over!!!!! Also, book an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went here with my family. A fantastic hotel. There's a games room for children and lots of activities going on throughout the day.There is a sundeck that is exclusive for adults and has a cool Jacuzzi. I only ever got breakfast at the hotel but it was not good at all. People I spoke to that went all inclusive were disappointed in the lack of choice so I would recommend just going bed and breakfast as there are loads of nice, cheap restaurants in Bugibba. The rooms were always clean and the cleaning staff were lovely and accommodating. There is only a fan in the room so I would advise people not to go to this hotel if they do not deal well with the heat because air conditioning is all that will cool you down over there from June to September/October.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As soon as we arrived in bugibba we spent the best 30 minutes looking for a parking. Finally we found 1, checked in the hotel and after paying the recetionist told us a taxi will come and pick you up and take you to another hotel in paceville. We booked this particular hotel as we wanted to stay in bugibba we would have otherwise booked in st julians if we wanted to stay there. Anyway we had no other option as they didnt have room for us there. They offered us a 1 way taxi to paceville which we obviously refused as we had our car parked in bugibba. So we went to La valette/st georges park in paceville. Spent another 30 minutes waiting to be checked in. Then we were given a room with no working aircondition in the 36 degrees celcuis + of summer. What i would like to point out as well there were loads of ants in our bathroom, matresses were lie sleeping on a piece of wood and to continue with this horrible weekend, the food was horrible and we also had to eat in a restaurant without aircondition. At 8.30pm the beverage bar closes so if you want to order a drink while you're eating you cant after this time. Of all the weekend breaks i have been to this has been my worst experience ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welcome1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The room we had was cleaned only sporadically despite us making repeated requests. After one complaint they advised that they would arrange for it to be cleaned and sent someone at 23.00hrs! We had he same sheets for 12 days, again despite requesting clean ones. We regularly had to go to reception to request clean towels and toilet rolls of all things as the cleaner didn't like replacing them. There were a number of sharp nails protruding from at least two of the beds which I managed to impale my leg upon. The food was very bland and repetitive. We ate out a lot which defies the point of an all inclusive. They recorded some of my concerns in a book and promised that they would be looked at. They weren't.. Some of the staff were friendly others were downright rude and surly. We booked an excursion through the hotel reception for which the transport was 90 minutes late for the pick up and never even turned up for the return. We pre booked the late check out facility when we booked our holiday yet on the eve of departure they advised me that we could not have it as they were full up. We had to endure twelve hours with nowhere to change or shower etc. before being collected for the flight. We were advised that check out was the standard 11am yet the cleaner (only the second time I'd seen her) tried to get us to leave at 08.30hrs so she could prepare the room for the next guests. Whilst Malta is a lovely island, our holiday was spoilt by a choice of hotel which frequently struggled to meet our basic needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
0.6 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 16 in Qawra
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Anton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Anton Hotel

Property: The San Anton Hotel
Address: Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar | San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 3033, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The San Anton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of the Blue Sea San Anton, in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The Blue Sea San Anton Bugibba is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the Blue Sea San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The San Anton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Anton Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing