We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal”
Review of Paulus Kitchen

Paulus Kitchen
Ranked #35 of 159 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $76
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Paulus Restaurant one can enjoy a great dining experience, ambience music with a great view of St. Paul's Harbour.We have some wonderful seasonal dishes and a selection of premium wines at great prices for you to enjoy with your meal. We aim to serve the very best food.We thrive on sourcing, preparing and serving superb seafood, which is so full of genuine Mediterranean flavours.Our a la carte menu & set menus are created with care and with our great passion for quality and flavours.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was a fantastic restaurant with friendly staff and a very knowledgeable chef
my only criticism is that the table and chairs which we sat on where a little uncomfortable
as we sat on the smaller table for two.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gv1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    55
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Giljan, null, Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Amazing view if you sit outside during the summer months. Staff very polite attentive and friendly. They serve very tender meat & cooked to perfection. Beef tartare delicious! Highly recommendable! A bit expensive yes but worth every single penny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A culinary delight; i would especially recommend the antipasti, the prawns, fried calamari and beef tartare. Excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larachircop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a late dinner here on a Friday evening 13th Dec, 2 people. It is a fairly small restaurant with about 20 covers. The menu is not extensive, which I believe makes for better quality of food service.

The restaurant at first appeared quiet with only 6 other customers (2 tables) but more people arrived later. There appeared to be a mixture of locals and tourists.

My friend and I shared a bottle of wine, and ordered 2 starters of beef carpaccio and calamari. My friend never tried that before and enjoyed it very much and my calamari was served as requested without tentacles, the batter on the calamari was delicious with a hint of garlic... my friend ate the left over bits of batter off my plate!

We were shown the fish of the day and my friend had snapper baked. I chose steak which was gridded/grilled with a mushroom sauce. With potatoes, salad and vegetables between us -it was ample portions. And again delicious. Steak cooked exactly as requested.

So although not the cheapest option , big portions make up for cost and you paid for what you got. Subtle decorations, subtle background music. We paid €70 something euro between the 2 of us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

amazing view if you sit outside, amazing decor if you sit inside! food is amazing, staff is very polite and friendly, a bit expensive yes but worth every single penny! strongly recommend you go here especially is you enjoy fish. they serve meat and chicken as well, but the variety of fresh fish available is very good (this being said i dont really like fish,, all ive had from paulus is meat and chicken, which were both very very good!) compliments to the chef!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janaaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulus Kitchen also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Paulus Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing