We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again, lovely food and a warm welcome from Joe and his family.”

Il-Gzejjer Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 159 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yet again, lovely food and a warm welcome from Joe and his family.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife Wendy and I have been visiting Joe at his restaurant for several years now. Always a warm greeting and excellent food. The fresh fish is always good and for my wife, who is not a fish lover, there is always several alternatives, which is very nice. His daughter serves the food and drink and is a warm and friendly girl, who will even take the bones out of your fish if you wish. Don't go to Joe's if you want fast food, as it is always cooked fresh, which is probably why it always tastes so good. Prices are reasonable and it is also a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by, with tables outside and a lovely view over the jetty and the bay.
We have never been there and not enjoyed the experience. We have also sent other couples there, who have told us they enjoyed it just as much as we do.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GNWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    34
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“recommendation”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

After chatting with a couple this restaurant was recommended to us because of the fresh fish. We were told not to expect fast food as everything is cooked fresh to order. We went twice and it was exceptional. The staff are warm and friendly definitely worth a visit.


Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice meal in a nice place”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a nice family run place that offers good food at good prices, The dishes we ordered were good in quality and good in portion size, Also this is a nice place to watch the sunset with a beer or a glass of wine. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SINBAD0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite resturant in the 3 cities.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Malta on two trips staying in Bugibba, and really glad we found this restaurant, eating there several times. The fish is excellent, and the family who run it are friendly, down to earth and definitely add to the over all enjoyment of eating here. Def worth a visit if you like quality food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

we found this place by accident, it looks as if it is carved out of the mountain side, small, family run with stunning views over the harbour. Great selection of fish, we had a bucket full of muscles and some grouper. The garlic bread we had as starter was the best we had on the island, almost a meal in its self. The night we called in we were the only people in there and the owner ( Joseph)came over and chatted with us. The food was excellent and well worth the wait especially with such a wonderful view. You could almost miss it, it is at the end of the promenade and around a corner. It also turned out to be one of the cheaper meals we ate and proved to be excellent value for the quality and ambiance of this delightful traditional place. Make the effort if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annamarie_keane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il-Gzejjer Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Il-Gzejjer Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing