We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sorpresa

La Sorpresa
Ranked #6 of 152 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really good variety of food - pork stuffed with dates and cheese, chicken with creamy sauce and traditional dishes such as rabbit stew and beef olives. Good set menu too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Khandr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    98
    33
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Went yesterday for the first time and surely will go again. Service and food very good and value for money. And the place was full for a Thursday night. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jojoMaltaEurope m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This restaurant is excellent from all aspects. Friendly and courteous staff, rightly cooked food and complimentary nibbles (garlic bread, bean dip, sundried tomatoes, maltese crackers-galletti), wide variety of menu. Competitive Prices - very highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sliema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good quality, quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Encouraged by the good comments on Tripadvisor, we reserved for 5 ppl on a Saturday evening. We had pizzas and set menus at this restaurant. Indeed, very good place to go to. Free fresh baked garlic bread, well prepared tasty meals, great pizza, quick service and good prices. The only problem we encountered was parking the car on a Saturday evening in Birkirkara. When we walked (about 15 minutes) to the restaurant we saw a sign "free parking", painted at the side of the restaurant... Something to check out next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Bugibba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have visited Malta for over 15 years (as have my parents and this is their favourite restaurant) and La Sorpresa is the only restaurant which I feel is consistently excellent. Service was excellent, food was delicious and the complimentary nibbles (garlic bread, bean dip, sundried tomatoes, crusty bread and butter) added a lovely touch! Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the dessert list for a set menu was very vast. Great value, great food and highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peanut400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sorpresa also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Sorpresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing