We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic budget break”
Review of Relax Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Relax Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic budget break”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Best friend and I were looking for a few days away to relax and could not have chosen a better place to do this. On arriving we were a little apprehensive as hotel a bit tired looking and surroundings a bit dated, but it turned out to be the nicest place in terms of staff and other guests at the hotel. Rooms basic but clean and if you wanted you could have maid service every day.Food was great for the money we paid for this break and although only a couple of choices for dinner, the quality of the food was more than adequate. As we were All Inclusive we had a cooked breakfast each morning which is freshly cooked and brought to your table.
We would definately consider going back again next year. Hotel nice and handy for town centre and bus station. Ideally located.

Room Tip: Request sea view as rooms on other side overlook the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    176
    112
    45
    35
See reviews for
59
246
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I wasn't expecting much as the cost was about 13 euros a night including a continental breakfast but I must say it was much better than expected. Even though breakfast was included I spent the extra 2.50 euros to get full English which was quite good. The staff as you would expect were friendly but not as helpful as other places I've stayed. Even though there is a busy square with shops, clubs, pubs and restaurants a stone’s throw away once I closed the sliding glass door on the balcony the noise isn't too bad. The room was a nice size comfortable and clean. The hotel had free Wi-Fi throughout and it just about worked in my room. They only have one small lift/elevator and it wasn’t overly busy when I was there but I’m sure it will different during busy times. The only minor issues I had were the walls. They are a bit thin and if other guests on your floor are loud you will hear them! The Wi-Fi if you need a good connection you're best off popping down to the lobby. I had a good time with no major issues and would have gladly paid 20 euros a night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Roevin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just come home from a fab trip to Malta. The Relax Inn is superb value for money, we knew when we booked that the hotel was basic with limited options for food but for what we paid it is fantastic.
We were lucky to have had an offer of 4 nights half board for £75 and regardless of the tired decor and outdated furniture we just couldn't fault the place. Honestly where could you stay for that sort of money, one night in the UK would set you back that much alone.

The rooms were very basic but importantly for us very clean. The view from the room overlooked other buildings but as I've mentioned what do you expect for the price you pay. Malta is very much a sight seeing Island so most people will spend most of the day out and about rather than indoors in their room so to us the look of the view and room were not top of our list.

Out of four nights we only managed to eat dinner at the hotel twice and although very limited the food was fresh and well cooked. I'm sure those who have moaned about the food are used to eating low cost microwave meals in pubs and restaurants, the food certainally tasted like it was made in their kitchen.
Breakfast was more than adequate with cereals, toast, fruit and yogurt. Hot breakfasts were available at a small charge but we very much enjoyed just munching on toast and cheese.

Some people have commented on how rude the staff can be but we never experienced this. When we arrived the receptionist showed us to our room something I've never encountered anywhere before. It certainally made us feel valued as a customer and all the time we were there we were greeted with a hello from all staff.

The location is fantastic, the main square is literally only 2 minutes walk away with some lovely cafes and bars. It is also ideally situated for those who are keen to use the bus to take them around. I highly recommend getting the X3 bus from the airport which will take you straight to Bugibba. If you stop off just alittle past the main square you will find the hotel's road right opposite. You pay 12 euro for a weeks bus pass and it will take you all over. Grab yourself the Holiday Bus leaflet from the tourist booth in arrivals, it will list the routes and bus numbers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Choccy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed in room 403.sea view.april 6th to 13th 2013..(you need floors 4 or 5 for a sea view)room furniture tired and bed bit hard..but spotlessly clean.family run hotel..staff couldnt do enough for us.so helpful and friendly.food lovely.breakfast adequate and evening meal ok.two choices of starter and mains..always a lovely salad bar..and omletes always available..we were all inclusive and enjoyed salads sandwiches and toasties with fries and salad at lunchtime..or staff will make up packed lunches.never a problem to get drinks whenever required..and happy for us to take wine by the bottles not just by glass.! sun terrace on roof beautiful and sun trap..which we tried out even in april!plunge pool empty whilst we were there but sure it will be great high season.location is 1 minute walk from bugibba square..10 minutes to bus station.if you want a cheap break in the sun this hotel is fabulous..if you want 5* then pay higher prices!!!we would love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank salderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the Relax Inn Hotel for 2 weeks in October 2012, travelling with my wife and parents. To be honest, first impressions were not good. We are used to the bigger Spanish hotels, so this place looks pretty drab and dated in comparison. That is, however, where the negatives end with our stay. It is family run and more of a "guest house" than a hotel, but this is a massive plus as they cannot do enough to make your stay pleasant. On the first night, my parents were put in a room at the front. Next morning they were moved to the back on an upper floor (on request), no hassle at all. Meals are set menu, as other people have reviewed, but well cooked and tasty. They do appear to attract mainly elderly, returning guests, but the upside to this is that it is very quiet. The location of the hotel is ideal, as it is only 5 minutes round the corner from Bugibba Square, and nice and central for anywhere else you wish to stroll to. Bugibba itself is nice and quiet at this time of the year, with a lovelly relaxing feel to it. Retrning to Bugibba again this year with the Grandkids, but unfortunately we could not book here. as they only have rooms big enough for 3 people (lucky for them). To summarise, Quiet, Peaceful, Relaxing, Pleasant, Friendly. Would Highly Recomend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor at the rear, nice and quiet and a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BillyandElen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northend, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Budget hotel, small, very friendly and covered the basics well. What was good: large room for a solo, air con, tv, fridge, safe, small so very friendly, a good range of tasty but not too imaginitive food, excellent service, good central location. What could be better: my bed was very hard and I asked for a change, not convinced that I got one so am still skaing off a bad back, instructions on tv remote and air con when being introduced to your room would have been helpful.

Room Tip: There are some upper floor rear rooms which have a sea view over the roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beveren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed at in Malta. It's small but friendly. Rooms are excellent for the money. Situated near the main square in bugibba, also handy for the bus station. All the entertainment is within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qnhf282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.4 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,495 reviews
3.3 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
1,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#9 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Hotel

Property: Relax Inn Hotel
Address: Halel Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relax Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Relax Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Hotel Bugibba
Relax Inn Malta
Relax Inn Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing