We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relax Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relax Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
mossley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a very basic hotel at the heart of Buggiba,just minutes from the main square.Although very dated in its appearance it was a clean and friendly hotel and in a perfect location.Our room 504 had a balcony with a lovely sea view and was at the back of the hotel so very quiet.Rooms at the front were overlooking the main road and with bars and restaurants facing were probably not as quiet.The room itself was large ,with a double bed and plenty of storage space and the bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower and clean towels daily.We opted for half board and the food was excellent,breakfast was continental or you could order full English for 2.5 euro (we had one last day and it was great)Tea was a choice of two starters,one soup or pasta dish and two main meals,one usually a fish dish and a dessert of cheesecake,fruit cocktail and icecream.All good quality and very generous portions.The hotel offers free wifi and Sky news and a lounge area with a small bar.Many of the guests were return visitors or long term guests as the hotel did have a homely feel,however they were all old age pensioners and it was a little like being in a care home at meal times and in the evenings when most of them retired to their rooms.However if you just want to use it as a base it is ideal and would be great for solo travellers as the staff are very friendly.I would return to this hotel based on the price we paid (£400 half board for two for 7 nights,including air Malta flights) absolute bargain.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms 501-504 have sea views at the back of hotel all the others look onto the back of bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    175
    106
    42
    34
See reviews for
58
239
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night trip to Malta, spent at the Relax Inn in Bugibba. While not a luxury property by any stretch, this is a quality hotel, and the keep things simple, but do those things well.

Pro's:
Rooms are clean, and the housekeepers were great, always cleaned the rooms really well.
Food was fresh, and dinners on the 5 nights varied and included all the basics.
Location was great, quite central to Bugibba, 10 minutes or so walk from the bus station.
The roof-top deck was surprisingly nice, though the weather didn't allow for us to use it.
There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel, which is a nice little bonus.

Con's:
Rooms are super basic, but do have small flat screen TVs, and balconies.
Breakfast food is simple, but good - pretty standard European continental fare - breads & rolls, cheese & meats, yogurts, cereals - just fine for a light breakfast.
Drinks, not even soft-drinks are provided during dinner without paying

Most of the travelers, at least in the off season, seem to be retirees - but this could also be a good thing if you're looking for a quiet place to stay and relax!

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the sea looked like they had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Traveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

What a Fantastic Place i was moved from the Topaz to the Relax Inn and was a little worried at first, But i Was the lucky one i was checked in by Chris the night man with a relaxed friendly manner and stright away i felt relaxed
my room was on the fith floor and was big and bright with a nice street view [i like people watching] they have tv Kettles a safe and Ind Air con, rooms was cleaned evrey day along with Towels, the Hotel as a Very Relaxed feel and All The Staff cant do enough for you Sharon & Gary are great anything you want they will help i was all inclucive the food was good Break fast is good if you want a full breakfast this is cooked freshly for you at lunch time it has a varied menu of Bar Snacks which is freshly prepared and the evening meal is a varied menu there is no Pool it is a splash pool was not open whilst i was there but the roof top sun terrace was Good the bar is quite on a night but loads in the area, and the best thing is all inclusive guests dont get watered down drinks as in many other places when you are AI the Hotel is in a great Location 2 mins from the main squrae off Buggiba with loads of bars and places to eat and the tourist street is about 5 Mins walk away with loads more bars the bus station is about a 10 min walk away but quite enough to get a good nights sleep.
If you are looking for a good quality Hotel with Fantasticly Freindly Staff then this is the place
The number of Guests that go time and time agian speaks for itself i am going back in June and cant wait Thanks again Sharon Gary and All The Staff for a Great Holiday it does what it says on the tin It is A Home from Home feeling i travel a lot on my own and its so nice to be treated as a person and and not a Number it Really Made my Holiday

Room Tip: The Fith Floor Rooms Have Sea Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeedsPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

having just returned from my latest stay at The Relax Inn [3rd visit in 13 months]
i must compliment the owners and staff on excellent service received once again and always with a smile [from lovely staff]
clean towels daily daily maid room service a full and varied menu daily with excellent food!
this hotel is so home from home and i for one has i know many others long for the return as we leave for Luqa!
Situated in the heart of Bugibba with bars/restaurants in abundance in the square and surrounding area five minutes from the Bugibba bus station with connections to the whole island and Gozo
any advice required please ask the reception staff who will always be happy to help
Once again i thank the Gauci Family and all the staff at the Relax Inn i wish you all the very best for the 2012 Season

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lance17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We'd never holidayed in Malta before, and we had a mid-March five-day window for which cheapish Easyjet flights were available. Tripadvisor led us to the Relax Inn. While it was on some booking sites, we booked direct and paid on arrival - very trusting. The clientele seems to be mainly British, (and mainly older). For the price, it was excellent. Most of the nice things have already been said by others, so I'll just note that there is free wifi accessible from every room - how much better than many other hotels, which either don't offer wifi, or charge the earth for it.

The food was good value, for the price. (We were half board). We didn't pay the extra for full English breakfast, but there was a wide choice of cereals, yoghurt, bread (and toast), ham and cheese for the continental breakfasts. Evening meals were a choice of starters brought to you at lightning speed (pasta or soup), then counter service of either a meat or a fish dish. I had Grouper one day! Then a choice of desserts.

We would happily go back if we return to Malta. The only minor negative was the (lack of) choice of TV channels. There were umpteen local and Italian TV channels, but only Sky News or CNN in English.

As stated in another review, there is a bus service direct from the airport to Bugibba. It's the 'X3', but don't expect X to mean 'express'. While it may be limited-stop, its route zig-zags via Valetta outskirts and Rabat, taking about 1hr 20 mins.The bus station in Bugibba is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, with other stops being nearer. (Most buses seem to take a clockwise route around the Bugibba / Qawra peninsula. Services to Valetta (via two routes) and frequent, taking about an hour.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed for one week March 16th to 23rd,once again this small friendly hotel came up to mark as with my previous reviews.Room cleaned and new towels every day, food plain but tasty and good portions.Gary done a great job and seemed to be working every day.We are already planning a return visit in September

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed five days here in Feb 2012, Towels changed every day, rooms a good size, was a bed and continental breakfast deal, Breakfast very good value. Reception staff very helpful, only downside is they allow smoking in the rooms and the smell of stale cigarettes lingers. Also saw staff smoking in baggage room next to the laundry.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have a good view of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefatcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.4 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,421 reviews
5.2 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,413 reviews
4.5 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Hotel

Property: Relax Inn Hotel
Address: Halel Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relax Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relax Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Hotel Bugibba
Relax Inn Malta
Relax Inn Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing