We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ta Pawla

Ta Pawla
Ranked #8 of 152 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Are you looking for a nice place to spend a nice evening eating good food and drinking good wine? We have just the best place for you - Ta' Pawla Restaurant situated in Tourists Street in Saint Paul's Bay. The menu is varied and at a reasonable price. Ta' Pawla Restaurant serves Fish, Meat, Pasta, Pizza and Local Maltese Cuisine. The service is friendly and efficient and the food is excellent.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food was the best in the area. The staff were excellent. We usually ate from Maltese choices. And all excellent value

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank brixtonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    245
    97
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Maltese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We happened to notice this restaurant whilst out one night and decided to try the special menu with 3 courses for a set amount - although we did enjoy the local specialities the portions were too big and I was embarrassed leaving so much of the meat. The second time we went I had the most delicious King Prawns on rice with salad and chips and then the local Maltese cake or bread pudding. There was fresh fish to choose from a refrigerated cabinet and cooked to order. Local wines were reasonably priced and the waiter on the first night and the lovely waitress were both patient and attentive. A great meal at very reasonable prices. Only disadvantage the first night we sat in the outer part of the restaurant and smoking was allowed here, I should have read all the reviews!
We 'll be back next time we return to Malta.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing little gem in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This restaurant is great value, which drew us in to begin with, as well as the promise of Maltese cuisine in a very 'Brits abroad' area. The restaurant is very well presented and the service was great. I had the set menu, which is three courses for €14.90. The portions were huge - I didn't finish my starter or main, even though i really tried! I was so full up that I didn't fancy a dessert, so they included a coffee in my set menu rather than paying for nothing. There is a great variety of dishes to choose from to suit all. I would say that this restaurant and its food was a definite highlight to my holiday and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Handy for the hotels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I found this place fairly average, whilst there was nothing overtly wrong with my parma ham and rocket pizza the item in question had been so overloaded with topping that it ruined it. If you want a handy bite to eat this is great for San Antonio or Dolmen hotels but there are better out there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maltese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good food with a few Maltese dishes available, excellent fresh fish daily. It gets busy so it is advisable to book in advance. If you are a non smoker, make sure you sit right inside and not in the consevatory area as they allow smoking in this area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Pawla also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta Pawla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing