We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearly the best in the world, certainly the best in Malta”

Sottozero the Gelato Factory
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nearly the best in the world, certainly the best in Malta”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having a good ice cream place is as important as anything on holiday, so finding one is always a plus. We had awful ones in Valetta (sorry, didn't take enough notice of the place to correctly identify it otherwise I would have reviewed it) so finding Sottozero was very welcome. Can't really add to what everyone else has said, except their hazelnut ice cream is fantastic (discovered it on our second visit.) Also, we went in November so didn't have the same problem with the queues everyone else seems to have had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    58
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty good value ice cream!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Visited here many evenings as the selection of ice cream mean't that we just kept coming back.

They had a good range of options which they rotated frequently. The double chocolate, Amaretto and sugar free banana were the best in my opinion.

Place was very busy but service was good and waitresses were friendly. Very good value too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank englishtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awful experience!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I were really looking forward to trying Sottozero after reading the rave reviews on tripadvisor, so we decided to treat ourselves on the last night of our holiday...BIG MISTAKE!

We queued for a very long time outside the establishment (which didn't mind whatsoever) but after finally getting inside Sottozero and near the front, in barged a number of locals who just pushed their way to the front with no regard for the tourists. The staff were quite happy to serve them first and then continued to serve other locals who came in way after all the other tourists, who had been queuing for a very long time.

After the first locals pushed in we told the staff what had happened as we thought they may not have realised, however we were very wrong. They were fully aware of what had gone on and were very much part of it. We ended up leaving without getting an ice-cream along with lots of other tourist behind us.

This is certainly not a way to run a successful business that relies on tourists as much as locals. I would not recommend this place, there are far more polite ice-cream venues in Bugibba to visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kim280702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granata542, Owner at Sottozero the Gelato Factory, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
On 09 September 2012 17:32 granata542 wrote:
Dear Kim following your review regarding Sottozero, I feel sorry for what you are saying that has happened, but this has definately never happened in our establishment. Our staff is well trained to cater for Locals and Foreigners alike, without giving priorities to anyone whatsoever.

On the instant why did you not ask for the person incharge at the moment you were there?

This inconvenience would have been solved immediately.

We sincerely hope to get to know you personally if you happen to be around again.

I asure you that this definitely happened at your establishment. The four members of staff all serving at the counter were guilty of this account. We spoke to members of your staff at the time of the incident who ignored us and continued to serve who they WANTED to serve. We were not the only ones who walked out that night.

I very much doubt that you sincerely want to get to know us personally. When we next come to Malta we would certainly not come near your establishment, Like your staff, I also find your email to be very impersonable and rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The BEST ice cream.....and what a selection......oh my, it was just fantastic......so much so we ate it nearly every night!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Culstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Gelato one could find”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Gelateria is kind of difficult to find, cause it's not along the coast of Bugibba, but it's very worth the search. One can identify it by looking for the long queue of people coming out of the shop. A wind range of flavours, abundant scoops of ice cream, and very good value for money. Excellent ! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abii93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sottozero the Gelato Factory also viewed

St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Sottozero the Gelato Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing