We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Oblico Magnifico!!!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oblico Cafe

Oblico Cafe
Ranked #3 of 11 Dessert in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Oblico Magnifico!!!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've just returned from a weeks stay at the Dolmen Hotel and found Oblico within a stones throw. Everything about it is delightful. The location, the decor, the staff, the coffee and definately the cake!! We visited many times during our stay and visited three times on our last day! Will definately be visiting again and can't wait to go back to Malta and cafe Oblico!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    75
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best place I went to in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I'll start off by saying that even though this place is "just" a cafe, it's really the staff that make the visit worthwhile. I've never encountered such genuine, friendly people, let alone servers!
Very personal, kind approach that makes you feel so welcome and makes the world of a difference!
We came back there several nights in a row just for how brilliant they all were!

Oblico has incredible pasta dishes, even though it's famous for its cakes and desserts, but you really mustn't forget about the hot food menu, it's marvellous.

Incredible, kooky decor. Everything is made to look crooked and wonky - cupboard doors, shelves, counter-tops. Very beautiful sleek, stylish interior and very clean and tidy seating areas/bathroom.

It was literally like a haven after a day of exploring and torn sandals :) All the food was so amazing that you didn't even feel a dilemma when it came to choosing and a very relaxing atmosphere to chill after your meal, unlike some places where you feel compelled to leave as soon as you've finished because your waiter is giving you the stink-eye! :D

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manic_movies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“CAKE!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are not on a diet or even if you are please visit this cafe as it is unbelievably good. The cakes are to die for! Hot food menu limited but quality & quanity second to none, then it is a cafe not a full blown gormet restaurant.

The staff & the owner are fantastic people made you feel very welcome. The cafe has a buzz which is vibrant and friendly and will most certainly be my 1st stop when I return to Malta.

Thank you for cakes, coffee & wonderful service..I'll be back!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank browsing210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a 10/10 cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I visited oblico for the first time just a week after it opened and have not been able to resist it since then. i visit this place from once to three times a week, sometimes even more, and it has become the idea hang out for me and my friends- good atmosphere, great (and healthy!) food,amazing cakes, SUPER staff (educated, polite and friendly), and most of all... CLEAN!! no flies, no crumbs on the tables, no sticky chairs, no smelly loos, no dirty aprons on the waitresses... just pure cleanliness. a five star all rounder... way to go to all ! :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaClaMangion117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have recently spent 12 days in sliema and found the best cafe there is. The staff are good and friendly, but the cakes and ice cream are all home made and to die for. The best there is.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oblico Cafe also viewed

Mellieha, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Oblico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing