We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, ample portions”

The Buccaneers Restaurant
Ranked #109 of 159 Restaurants in Bugibba
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Guest House, Bar and Retaurant
Qormi, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Delicious food, ample portions”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went there with my boyfriend and other family members for a relaxed evening celebration and was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is part of a guesthouse, however the food is also served to non-residents. My boyfriend and me ordered a BBQ ribs and chicken wings combo and the others ordered lamb. Everything was delicious, the portions were really big (honestly I've never seen such enormous chicken wings) and the price was very reasonable! The food was served with a smile, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

This is a very relaxed restaurant with outdoor seating. I would not recommend it for a very special occasion or for something more than smart/casual. The atmosphere itself is nothing special, but the good food and welcoming staff more than make up for it. The only thing which I did not like much was the constant coming and going of tourists from the main door, which unfortunately is situated right in the middle of the restaurant, so that people have to pass in between tables all the time, but I guess that cannot be helped.

All in all however, it was a nice evening. VERY good value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Moonsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Braggioli”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We'd not been to Buggiba for more than a decade so the town has changed considerably especially the amount of eating place it now has to offer.
The Buccanneer at the square looks a nice, small restaurant from the outside, but once inside it is quite large and decorated very nicely indeed. We were impressed by the menu and their
2 set menu choices, both are 3 courses. The more expensive of these being the maltese option which we decided to try. We were not dissappointed.
Gozo Cheeselets, Braggioli and dessert were all delicious. I can't vouch for the dessert as I was too full to eat mine but everyone else voted it as terriffic. The house wine is also good value for money. We ate here on another night and again it was fantastic.
I am more than happy to reccommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent maltese food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went there with my husband last week as we wanted to try some maltese specialities. We were not disappointed, the rabbit and stew were excellent. Service was friendly and efficient, and prices were good too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gwendolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Suberb restaurant”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'm a picky eater, but I really enjoyed having dinner in this place. The staff was great, dinner wasn't too expensive, portions were huge and delicious. When we came the second time, we're surprised 'cause the waitress remembered what I liked the previous time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ausra87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“try it.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

went here a couple of times to eat and the food was very good. had local maltese dishes and they were good value .you can eat outside or inside in a nice pleasent airconditioned setting.staff were friendly and helpfull,give it a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bristolgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneers Restaurant also viewed

 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Buccaneers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing