We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of New Madras

New Madras
Ranked #13 of 154 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Swieqi, Malta
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having moved to Malta last year we have tried a few Indian restaurants through word of mouth. After being disappointed by the rest, we finally heard of New Madras and what a winner it is. The food was absolutely fantastic and great value. The owner and his son made us feel very welcome, leaving us satisfied that we can now enjoy Indian food whilst living in Malta. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hertsexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    46
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best indian”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

the food here is excellent it is the BEST indian food I have tasted, ive been here 7 or 8 times now and have never been disappointed. also the lad that takes your order could not be nicer. keep up the good work fellas

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maltesefrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Indian in Malta”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The food is by far the best in Malta! Fresh ingredients from India... Staff are Friendly and the head chef fans Owner will always come out to say hello. The mix tandoori is a must!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stantz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bland”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

There are not many Indian restaurants in Bugibba so we were excited to stumble across this on a walk around. Unfortunately as soon as we opened the menu we wished we had got up and left due to the high price of the dishes. 5 euro for the rice alone!
Anyhow we really were keen to eat some indian food so we stayed thinking for the price we will paying you may get some lovely grub. Unfortunately this was not the case, the food from the starter to the main was bland and only 2 sauces for the poppadoms. After the meal we left quite disappointed as well as 40 euro out of pocket for a meal for 2. It certainally was not the best indian I have ever had.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Choccy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qawra
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good indian food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very good indian food, Good value if you are 2 couples or more, staff helpful yet a little amateurish, ambiance is a bit outdated and the air feels a bit stuffy. Would benefit a lot from a good renovation of the place and from an open window for some fresh air. Overall very good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Madras also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to New Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing