We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food at a steal!”
Review of Malet Restaurant

Malet Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 157 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gourmet food at a steal!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place, service, ambience, decor and of course food were all top notch. Such a varied menu with lots of interesting Maltese dishes to try. Excellent value, the portions were massive couldn't finish them but the restaurant kindly gave us ours to take home. The drinks were extremely reasonable too ... 5 euros for a half bottle of red wine. If you go to bugibba don't miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky7177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    58
    23
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great small spot”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I like that this was off the beaten path, away from the noise and lights. Good variety, reasonable prices, lots of good wines...it was very busy while I was there, so they gave me a yummy soup, which I filled up on with bread. Also had the traditional Malta pasta, which...didn't seem very Maltese, but was good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmlucas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food nice but service terrible.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We tried this restaurant as had read good reviews and although the food was OK, we waited 20 minutes before we were asked what we wanted to drink and it was another hour before we actually had our food. Wouldn't have minded if they were very busy but there were only eight of us in the restaurant! Got the impression one guy serving and waiting at table so maybe they had a staff problem and we were just unlucky. Food nice but probably best avoided if you are very hungry or not prepared for a very leisurely meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“authentic cuisine”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

lovely place and very different from all the British pubs we don't even go to in England! lovely member of staff running the place. can't fault it on quality and price

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on our last night in malta amazing food,excellent service would definitely use and recommend it to anyone it's a little off of the beaten track about 50metres from the square well worth looking for

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malet Restaurant also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Malet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing