We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typically British”

Seashell Fish & Chip Shop
Ranked #42 of 153 Restaurants in Bugibba
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salford UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Typically British”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Went here after passing it one night on our round of bars!! I had the poached salamon with chips and salad. What a great meal for less than €10. it came with bread and butter and a large mug of tea. A real delight!! Will use the place again on our next trip. If your going to Malta and staying in the Bugibba area give this small but nice place a try!! You wont be dissappointed..

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    84
    24
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fife UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Had lovely fish supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

food made fresh well worth the wait, have a great and mixed selection of maltees and english food

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank donalda69FifeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

cheap and cheerfull.fish chips great. served well hot food

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harry_maggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mediocre lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

After reading these rave reviews, thought we'd try this place out for a late lunch. We placed our order for cod, chips and mushy peas. The cooking oil was turned up and immediately smelled 'over used', the bread placed on our table was inedibly stale, however we stayed positive because of the reviews. The fish was in a light batter, but over cooked, the fish was slimy inside, with an odd texture-perhaps this was because it was pre-battered and frozen. The chips were regular shop-bought chips and the mushy peas were lovely. All-in-all not the 'wow' we were expecting as per other reviews, so we won't be returning. A shame, as we live close by and a good chippy we would frequent. perhaps we visited on an off day?

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m_portelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We popped in one night for fish and chips and were very glad we did. Service was quick and we very much enjoyed the nicely cooked cod and chips. The batter was light and crisp and I remarked at the time that is was probably the nicest batter I've ever had on a piece of fish. The chips were also beautifully cooked.

The cooking is obviously done by people who care about their food and if you fancy a taste of good fish and chips while you're on holiday in Bugibba, you'd do well to visit the Seashell.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Swifty137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seashell Fish & Chip Shop also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Seashell Fish & Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing