We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely steaks, but service patchy”
Review of The Steak House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Steak House
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely steaks, but service patchy”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Had a nice meal with wife and kids whilst on holiday. Restaurant was empty when we arrived, but our steaks (I had kangaroo!) were excellent. The salad bar was awful, the food was obviously quite old and there was very little choice.
Our German waitress wasn't particularly friendly and service was quite slow given she was on her own.
Despite that, we liked this restaurant. The steaks were excellent

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonikabugibbaMalta, Owner at The Steak House, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
hi steve: Thank you for your comments, we will certainly take care to improve our salad bar.
as for me i am sorry if i seemed as you said. i dont normaly bite, lol probably happened as the other waitress was sick and i was alone.
paul thanks you for the compliments on his meat grilling skills,
Best Regards Paul and Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliantly cooked steaks!”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Went on advice of other reviews on Trip Advisor, after new owners took over. Empty apart from 1 other couple, which didn't bode well. But steaks were cooked to perfection, lovely fillet for me & rib-eye for my wife, which was equally well cooked. Child friendly as well, only things that let it down was the overbearing music & sligjtly eccentric staff ie: clearing my main away as my wife was still eating but would recommend it for the fillet which melted in the mouth!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayresome1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonikabugibbaMalta, Owner at The Steak House, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments, and for letting me know about the music
will improve on that point. we are happy you enjoyed your steak.
Hope to see you again,
Best Regards Mona and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A STEAK LOVERS PARADISE!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

If you've ever asked for a steak to be cooked in a certain way only for it to be the opposite then this restaurant will restore your faith. It truly is the most fabulous steakhouse we've ever been to and however you like your steak is EXACTLY how it comes. It is situated on the outskirts of town next door to the cinema and is around the corner from the Topaz Hotel. It is not the best place to find but well worth looking for. It looks very appealing from the outside and is spacious and nicely decorated inside. The menu is plentiful and admittedly a little pricey but is definately worth every penny. We ordered a T-Bone and a Rib-eye which comes with a choice of chips, jacket etc plus free trips to the salad cart, all fresh, of course. We also ordered a side of Beer battered Onion Rings which were AMAZING! No room left in the bellies for a Dessert!! They also do a fab range of wines, most are maltese but they also had Italian, Chilean and South African. Nice friendly woman who serves you, she cannot do enough for you and I promised her we would go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikabokaglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonikabugibbaMalta, Owner at The Steak House, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments
Best Regards
Monika and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I have dined several times at the Bugibba Steakhouse and can honestly say that it has always been a wonderful experience! Good value for money, mouthwatering dishes and excellent customer service. Definately not one to miss!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pupina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonikabugibbaMalta, Owner at The Steak House, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
thank you for your comments
hope to see you again soon
Regards
Monika and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak on the Island”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The best steak we have had on the Island in our week stay.

We went to the Steak House on our fourth day of our holiday and had best ribeye weve ever been served. We had to make sure we returned before we left and we did so with same result.

Excellent food and service

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brown02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steak House also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing