We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mavina made our holiday great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavina Holiday Complex
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mavina made our holiday great.”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Just back from Mavina and can confirm for the money the hotel is a great find.
Have only given 3 points for Cleanliness due to apartment only be cleaned once a week and towels changed twice a week.
4 points to the room as we had a large spacious Studio apartment, where the majority of my family congregated, but the only downfall was there was no airconditioning.
The were my only 2 down points, but other than that I thought the Mavina where great, and with the price I can't really complain about them anyway.
The staff at the Hotel were absolutely brilliant and anything requested was given straight away. I would especially like to thank them for all the help with my mother's 70th birthday. That sort of service would not have been received in a larger hotel complex.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go back again.
Incognitos around the corner is great for a drink, and the restaurant is also good. If you want a bit more nightlife, then Bugibba Square is only a 10 minute walk around the corner.
To get a good beach get the bus to Golden Bay (652 or 70) or Mellieha (48), both are very good beaches and only a short ride away.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    102
    67
    20
    20
See reviews for
58
130
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Basic but clean accommodation. Pool not the best, very crowded but with sea nearby not really a problem. Great friendly staff and good location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenmarBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My Girlfriend and I have just returned from an 11 day stay at Mavina. This accommodation is basic but the staff can't do enough to help you and are friendly. We had a self catering room with two single beds, a small kitchen and an adequate bathroom. Our balcony faced onto the front of the hotel and our views consisted of a car park and adjacent hotels (not as bad as it sounds!).

The area is pretty quite but there is plenty of bars and places to eat around. The sea front is literally a 2 minute walk where the majority of 'tourists' go. There is no beach to speak of so make sure you take a 'lilo' to lie on the rocks with. The weather was just too hot for us at this time of year but that's our problem.

The room had a big fan on the ceiling but we couldn't get air conditioning, just the offer of some more smaller fans but they just move warm air around. There is a small pool (sea water) in the hotel and you can hire loungers for 1 euro each per day. There is also interent access in reception although we prefered to use the internet cafe round the corner which had slightly better facilities.

There is a bar 'Incognitos' next door to the Hotel (and our room) which is quite noisey sometimes but it didn't bother us too much.

Down the road from the hotel is a supermerket 'trollees!'. They are quite reasonable and have everything you would need.

Eating out and Drinks etc are very cheap around the hotel but as soon as you venture onto the sea front the prices rocket!

There is a bar in front of the hotel and has Cabaret on at the weekend, we seen a Drag act which was quite funny but a bit much for the kids!

One point we have to mention is that there is a small supermarket oposite 'trollees' called 'Stepping Stone', the lady who works in there must be the only unfriendly, dour faced Malteses on the Island. She snatches your money and repeatedly try to rip us off and I am sure we weren't alone. She caught us the first time and nearly doubled our bill, we didn't realise until we had left and decided to put it down to experience. Either avoid this place or be careful.

We ate at the hotel across from Mavina a few times (All Day Breakfast for 3 Euros).

We went on the local buses to Valetta which was quite an experience, the bus station is just around the corner, it costs about 20p one way. We also went on the full island open bus trip which was great as you can get off the bus and hop on the next one (every half an hour) and the pick up is just to the right of Mavina.

Overall a good holiday, a bit quiet for me. Mavina was great. If you are going for a rest and chill this is the place. Don't expect raging nightlife. We would go again but wait until we are in our 60's. There is probably livelier parts to Matla but to be fair we didn't go looking for it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

another excellent holiday at the mavina.Staff a pleasure to meet ,more like friends.Apartment very clean,pool area well maintained ,location ideal for shops,bars,and buses Can,t wait to go back. If visiting Malta for the first time give the Mavina a try you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldOzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had two main problems with the holiday complex:
Once we had a cockroach in our room. The kithen and bathroom windoww looked onto the evntillation pipe of the hotel. One night a cockroach came into the bathroom. The receptionist wasn't surprised when I told her and said they would spray for us and suggested to close the windows (in 30 C degrees!) After this we didn't want to eat in the restaurant either.
The second was that the room was so hot (even we had a fan) that we could hardly sleep. All the guest were complaining on this, some of them took the bed to the balcony.
Some refurbishment and air condition definitely needed.
Positive things: Everything is in a very close distance, the pool is good but it is open only until 5 or 6 p.m.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hajnalka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bugibba hotels

Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I booked this apartment for June 20th for one week self catering. On arrival the staff were friendly, our room was located on the 2nd floor. We were located at the back of the hotel with views of the the pool and other hotels and in between baren land.
If you are self catering take your own toilet paper as there is none supplied, towels are changed once a week and the bins are emptied twice a week. The room was clean but could do with an update.In other words its basic. In the kitchen there is one cooker with utensils and also a ketttle.
The hotel is in a good central location where there are plenty of bars and restaurants and easy access to the bus station. We never ate at the hotel so I can't say what the food was like. There is a good bus service within a 3 minute walking distance which will take you all over the island and is very cheap and efficient. 1 euro 16 cents to the ferry port of Gozo.
Plenty of good bars, try Watsons which is opposite the entrance with a 30 second walk ( Female impersonator - Good laugh ) and the Litlle waster karaoke pub to the right of the entrance, cans of lager = 1 euro and house doubles 1 euro 85 cents.
Ok, All things good so far but there is a BUT...
If you love to sunbathe by the pool and stay there most of the day then you may dissapointed. no, its not the fact you have to pay 1 euro for the bed and its not the fact you have to wait for the staff to bring you your bed , the fact is the pool area is small and by 4pm over three quarters of the pool area is cast in a shadow !! By this time you can see people nudging their way out of the shadow just to catch the extra bit of sunlight as the shadow gets bigger and bigger, and we went in the June where it was fairly quiet. What will it be like at peak time ?? Good luck if want to come back with a tan .
Pics are enclosed .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We usually stay at the Mavina each year and have found no problems with the hotel itself. It's very clean and staff are very friendly. Towels and bed linen are immaculately white and cleaning staff were friendly too and didn't disturb us too early in the morning. Bins were emptied everyday. It's a good base to stay for exploring the Island, and supermarkets, bars and restaurants are close by. The pool area is clean and tidy and very quiet during the month of may, so I personally don't think they should charge residents 1 euro each time you want to use a sunbed. My only other criticism is that the furniture in the rooms are abit outdated and in need of replacing with modern ones. Ours had been just painted over with white gloss and headboards on our beds were torn and wellworn. But apart from that, my family are happy to keep using the Mavina. We just love the place and it's location!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonKinnielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bugibba
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,581 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The San Anton Hotel
The San Anton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bugibba
163 reviews
2.2 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mavina Aparthotel
Mavina Aparthotel
#9 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavina Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavina Holiday Complex

Property: Mavina Holiday Complex
Address: Triq il-Fliegu, Bugibba, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mavina Holiday Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mavina Holiday Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavina Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Mavina Holiday Complex Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing