We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ate there twice!!”
Review of Venus Restaurant

Venus Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 159 Restaurants in Bugibba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

As the title says, we were only there a week but had to go back. The service is fantastic and the food is so perfectly cooked. On the road to Bugibba square it is a hidden gem. Whilst hidden amidst takeaways and pubs this restaurant delivers a 5* service. The cuts of meat and fish on offer are brought out for you to see, and they are huge!!. Certainly the rib eye steak can't be beaten. I would not hesitate to recommend this to the fussiest of my friends. Thank you for making our friends birthday meal such an occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shyla21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    171
    29
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IW
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best meal in Malta”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Found this restaurant on our last night here. The food was the best we'd eaten in Malta and some of the best food we'd had anywhere. They bought the meat and fish round to your table for you to choose from. My daughter's friend had a really juicy steak, I had sea bass which was beautiful and my daughter had a chicken dish which she loved. My husband had venison which he said was the best he'd tasted. Very classy restaurant but not cheap so more for a special night out. Totally worth booking for a lovely meal out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolynIw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Easy to fall in love with this hidden gem”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited Venus for a romantic anniversary meal after having visited in a larger group once before and was not disappointed in the slightest, the food was delicious from beginning to end with our veal and venison main course particular highlights, as were the roast potatoes that came alongside. Admittedly the location leaves something to be desired but you can hardly blame them for the quality of their neighbours and if you find yourself marooned in Bugibba in search of a fine dining experience you won't find better! Definitely worth a visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good place for a special Chef”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A good friend of mine ( High qualified Chef in Milan ) visiting Malta was my guest for dinner : chosen Restaurant " VENUS ". Very impressed from my first visit , I was sure of a good new experience... Confirmed !!!! A real good quality Restaurant with a constant standard , something that often you do not find in Malta .... The service attentive and polite , the food choice well balanced , the price still under the average compared to the quality .... The only black spot I found is the wine list , that should be improved the choice with a larger variety ....... Starters very nice ... impressed by the freshness and the quality of the Oysters served " tip top " with the proper condiments ..... Petty for the breast of duck .... nice taste but no tender as I aspect-ed to be.... probably are using the very large breast often too though ..... No large choice of desserts , but well prepared .... Few bulbs on top of our table were off , making the place a bit too dark for this style of gourmet Restaurant .... One of the Chef - Patron always nice to follow and visit for a nice meal .. !!! Keep it up ...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank facreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not all its cracked up to be”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

i dont know, i dont really get the fuss about it. i mean its a nice restaurant, right next to a take away -.- if you sit outside you can smell the scent of chip-pan oil from next door. the food was okay, nothing special. the waiter when showing us a tray with different meat kept touching everything to indicate which is which -.- i dont know i expected much more after reading all of these really good reviews

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janaaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venus Restaurant also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to Venus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing