We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shamrock Apartments
Ranked #1 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marsalforn, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good break”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Just returned from Shamrock. I booked a short break for myself and partner. The location was perfect as the apartment was near shops and restuarants. The room was clean and the staff helpful. Free parking is available but can be a problem during weekend as crowds of people come to dine and entertain themselves in the area. I liked the spacious sunny balcony and views from pool area. I would stay again if I want another break

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia2490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    73
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
78
103
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were a group of 27 or so with kids from 9-16 years travelling to Malta as a sports club to play Maltese Clubs.

The Shamrock Apartments are clean, tidy and good value for money. However.......

The rules they have, whilst apparently sensible for an apartment block, are applied mercilessly and God forbid you should contravene them. You will never be left alone by the Management.

The kids were severely told off on the first visit to the pool as they’d done too much splashing (!) and made the tiles wet around the pool (and to be fair it probably was too much water) so the kids were warned not to make so much mess again.

But you’re not allowed any second chances here. The slightest amount of water round the pool gave rise to further complaints. Thankfully, the kids weren't mainly by the pool during the day - we were there for a sports club visit and were either playing sport, visiting Malta attractions or hiding from the rain.

I had personal experience of the Manager(s) intolerance, when three families arrived back at the same time (23.30) on one evening. The children were waiting at the door of the apartment for the parents to unlock the door - no running, no shouting or playing in the lifts – just kids being kids. We didn't get the chance to get the kids into the apartments (or even through the front door of the block) before Management were up in arms. I spoke with the Management about giving us the chance to get the kids in and to bed - it would only have been 10 minutes - but it made little difference.

We were spoken to (again...) about the children making noise in the corridors - at 19.30 at night while we had a small celebration of a 16th birthday.

None of the families were out exceptionally late (young kids - sport to play) so we were back in the apartments before midnight mostly, but that didn’t seem to be acceptable. There was, however, consistent noise from a group of three ?German?Dutch lads coming in at 03.00-ish. Apparently, that is acceptable as we heard nobody speaking to them the way we were spoken to. (One of our party was referred to by Management as "the pits" on our last night). Maybe our cards were marked?

I understand that if you book as a party you might get holiday plans, early check-in and group discount. We didn’t as we all booked individually through specialist booking sites.

It was a pity. The apartments are fine, good value and central. The "rules" are sensible and similar to those you'd see in most apartment blocks but the application of them was far too rigid.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGibson_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Dear Guest
Appreciated your review and thanks for pointing out the Shamrock Apartments are clean, tidy and good value for money. Appreciated alot for realising that inconveniences to other guest has been created by your group. I can assure that we love kids and over 20 years the Shamrock Apartments has been popular with families with children. You are right, during night time we do not tolerate high levels of noises including screaming, shouting, high levels of music, children running in corridors etc... The purposes of all this is to maintain peaceful nights and hence improve the quality of the holiday for our guests. In your case you were a big group of 8 families with a total of 18 children occupying considerable amount of apartments. Most of your holiday the whole group of families used to come after midnight (00:30) with many children shouting, slamming doors, running in corridors and playing with the lift during night time without realising that they are disturbing others. I think no one in the middle of the night including myself likes to be waked up with such noises. In this case we always had to intervene during the night to control such high levels of noises immediately as we have the Responsibility and Duty to take care also of the other guests. Other guests were irritated by the parents' behaviour leaving children unattended in the corridors and swimming pool. During the day most of children of this group used to stay near the pool area, most often unattended and splashing heavily water all around. Unfortunately this had created inconvenience with other guests as pool area was very noisy and slippery. Kindly confirm and verify with that person that is accusing the management of calling him/her 'pits' which is very insulting to to management. I can assure that we always offered good customer sevice and this can be shown from other reviews. Once, I was very disappointed after speaking to some of the parents to try to control the children and to lower the noise during the night, as I got with a rude tone "we are on holiday". Regarding the holiday plan please contact your group leader for verification and an early check-in was clear as you had all the apartments by noon (12:00) instead at 15:00 which is 3 hours early. The purpose that I gave an early check is to settle quickly as I undestand that you would need rest after a long flight journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Very basic apartment but fine for what we needed. Very old fashioned management, children should not be seen or heard after 9pm!
No splashing in the swimming pool as it made the area around the pool wet! Even other guests couldnt understand why our group where constantly being given hassle by the owners.
Every evening they would come running out of their apartment to tell us to be quiet, most of the time making more noise than us!!! A group of people will make a little noise for a short while while going to rooms but no more than 10 minutes. We never got any complaints from any other residents.
Noise to these owners is obviously paramount to safety as bannister rails didnt fit properly, lighting very poor outside some of the apartments and onto the stairs and tiles cracked around the pool.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Dear Guest
Thanks for the review. You are right, during night time we do not tolerate high levels of noises including screaming, shouting, high levels of music, children running in corridors etc... The purposes of all this is to maintain peaceful nights and hence improve the quality of the holiday for our guests. In your case you were a big group of 8 families with a total of 18 children occupying considerable amount of apartments. Most of your holiday the whole group of families used to come after midnight (00:30) with many children shouting, slamming doors, running in corridors and playing with the lift during night time. I think no one in the middle of the night including myself likes to be waked up with such noises. In this case we always had to intervene during the night to control such high levels of noises immediately as we have the Responsibility and Duty to take care also of the other guests. If you did not hear directly any complaints from other guests this does not mean that we did not receive ourself complaints directly. Other guests were irritated by the parents' behaviour leaving children unattended in the corridors and swimming pool. During the day most of children of this group used to stay near the pool area, most often unattended and splashing heavily water all around. Unfortunately this had created inconvenience with other guests as pool area was very noisy and slippery.
Once, I was very disappointed after speaking to some of the parents to try to control the children and to lower the noise during the night, as I got with a rude tone "we are on holiday". I am very disappointed reading this review after the service that we have given you including providing you with a holiday plan, very early check-in and discounted group rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This accomodation was in a good location and very spacious. The rooms were clean and the pool area was good on the roof. It is good value for money and I would return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunbeam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Shamrock Apartments is situated very close to Bugibba Square where there are many excellent restaurants catering for a range of cuisines including tradition Maltese food. The Bus station is within walking distance (less than 5 minutes) and travelling by bus is very cheap and easy.
The staff at Shamrock Apartments are very friendly and helpful, they also provide airport transfers for a very reasonable price. The apartment is very spacious; we had two bedrooms, a large living room and dining area, kitchen and bathroom. There were only two of us but it could have comfortably fit two more people.
The roof top swimming pool is clean and there is a lot of space for sunbathing around the pool.
The area around the apartment is very safe and there are countless bars and restaurants close by.
I would recommend Shamrock to anyone holidaying in Malta and looking for value for money and a spacious apartment in a handy location, perfect for families or couples.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We have just returned from a lovely week in Bugibba staying at the Shamrock apartments. We were surprised how big the apartments are, very spacious. The apartments are clean, and if you want a cheap stay in Malta they are ideal. They are in a great location, very near to the bars and restaurants. La Stalla is fantastic if you like good food. If I were to find something to gripe about it would be the towels, which have seen better days - so if you like plush take your own. I would definately stay again we were very happy with everything and The hospitality was very good.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thanks for the fantastic review. I am really glad that our efforts are being appreciated. As it was mentioned very well in this review we target the budget holiday maker who is after cheap holiday accommodation however it is safe, clean and centrally located
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We recently stayed at these apartments and would(and have) recommend these to anyone visiting Malta. The apartment was really clean and lots of room for all 4 of us, which is a definate must with 2 boys. As it's not on the promenade it was lovely and peaceful in the evenings. The shops are close by as well as the bus stops. The pool was great for the children and we had absolutely no safety concerns with the pool or apartment. The family were always helpful and friendly! They have CCTV on each level, which helps you feel more secure. I will definitely visit again! Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrhajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Dear Guest
Thanks you so much for such a lovely review about the Shamrock Apartments in Bugibba, Malta. We are glad that we have contributed positively to your holiday in Malta. Also we are very pleased that you appreciated our safety features such as security cameras which made you feel safer. Also thanks for pointing out cleanliness which is our number a priority for us and appreciated the fact that you recomending the Shamrock Apartments to other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.2 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bugibba
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Apartments

Property: Shamrock Apartments
Address: Shamrock 137 Triq J. Quintinus, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1300, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shamrock Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Apartments with shared swimming pool are centrally located and located in a very safe neighbourhood in Bugibba in St Paul's Bay area in Malta. The Shamrock Apartments are 8 minutes by walk from supermarkets, bus station, main square, sandy beach, banks, restaurants, pubs, casino and other any tourist services and facilities. The Shamrock Apartments is a small family-run business and a unique feature of the Shamrock Apartments is its rooftop swimming pool with sea views. Other facilities include: Inroom wireless internet access (WI-FI) in the apartment, ample free public car parking, free lugguage storage, passenger lift and office to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Apartments Hotel Bugibba
Shamrock Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing