We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend, especially good value if you are holidaying on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamrock Apartments
Ranked #2 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would recommend, especially good value if you are holidaying on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was surprised at how big the apartment was. We had a 2 bedroom one which was very airey and clean. There was a big fridge in the kitchen which was brilliant. I missed a plug in kettle (ours heated up on the hob) and a microwave but everything else was functional. It was just off the main tourist drag but still managed to be quiet. We were also on the 3rd floor and had a sea view which was an unexpected bonus as we were able to enjoy the beautiful sunset every evening. The bedrooms had fans. I was awoken by the dustbin lorry the first few mornings but i soon got used to it and could ignore it. This was the only noise we experianced. The pool is small but lovely and clean, you dont expect to do laps in it - it's ideal for cooling off in it when you need. My three children were hardly out of it on the days we stayed at the apartment instead of going out and about, it was more than adequate. Be very careful on the steps down though as they become very slippery when wet as my husband and the kids found out the hard way! Antida and Robert were very friendly and helpful.

Lots of places to eat and drink nearby. There is a field/paddock outside that we were told that if we walked across it and down the facing street there was a pub round the corner called The Bell which was highly recommended for value and we can confirm this. A hearty breakfast before noon is a mere 2.5 euros. We didnt eat breakfast there but had a couple of evening meals (would have been more if we'd found out about it sooner!) We really enjoyed the local Peking restaurent along the street (main drag) and can highlly recommend it. However i would give the chinese (Great Wall, beside the Diana pub) a wide berth as it was the worst takeaway ive ever had - totally tasteless!! - no soy sauce very bland and they forgot to include the chilli i asked for as well but I dont think that would have saved it from the bin.

Overall it was good value for money which we booked direct with the owner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    70
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
74
96
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We have just come back from the most enjoyable stay at Shamrock Apartments.We stayed for 2 weeks from 31st May to 14th June.We cannot believe how much we found to see and do in Malta,and Antida was very helpful with advice on where to go and how to get there.the apartments are very handy and close to everything but lovely and quiet when you come back at night,I cannot remember a holiday when I slept so well and felt so relaxed.We would recommend them to anyone and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Shamrock Apartments, Malta and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience in Malta and that you were satisfied with the apartment and service offered during your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to be your host iagain n the future for your next visit on the Maltese Islands.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

We have been to Malta many times - but we fancied self catering as opposed to our usual B&B stays. After a search, we decided on the Shamrock Apartments. They are in an ideal spot - just off tourist street and just a few minutes from the bus station. All the rooms a large and airy and are very clean and tidy. The owner and staff are very friendly and will do their best to make your stay as nice as can be. There is a large roof top sunbathing area with a swimming pool, loo etc. The apartments are very quiet - with many guests staying on long lets

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Dear Guest
Thanks for taking out your precious time and giving your very positive feedback for Shamrock Apartments - Malta. You are very right the apartments are also very popular for winter long lets where the guest can benefit from very special offer during winter. We would like to take this opportunity to say you very heartiest Thanks from entire team for your compliments.

We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. We hope for the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Booked a 2 week stay at Shamrock which entruly enjoyed every bit of it. Loved the morning sun from my balcony also the roof top swimming pool with comfy sunbeds. Unfortunetly the pool was still cold to use. Antida is a really lovely landlady and helped us with all the information we needed . The apartment is close to all shops and bus station which takes you to the main attractions, however I would recommend to book one of the hop on /off tour busses especially that of Gozo which gives a comprehensive tour of the island.

Room Tip: Our room was a ground floor: clean and peacful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

My wife and I wintered i9n Malta at the Shamrock Apartments from early December until March 2012. Our apartment was clean and spacious and the service offered by Antida and her family was first rate. As the apartments are self-catering the kitchen supplies are fairly basic but manageable. Indeed, if you require further kitchen equipment Antida would be happy to oblige. The apartments are located near to all amenities, 500 metres from the seafront, the bus station and there are many cafe/bars, restaurants within 400 metres. Having said that the street where the apartments are located is a cul-de-sac and there was very little noise in the evenings despite the proximity to Tourist Street. The post office is nearby as are launderettes, supermarkets and there is a daily (Mon to Sat) fruit and veg van which sells fresh produce. Imported food in the supermarkets (especially from the U.K.) tends to be pricey but local produce is relatively cheap (and tastier). Definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanNewcastleuponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Guest
I really enjoyed reading your review and it was a pleasure hosting you for 3 months. I am pleased that we have met your expectations regarding a helpful service and tidy place. During winter, starting November till March we get busy with winter long lets with the majority of guest being senior British couples. The Shamrock Apartments are popular for winter long lets due to the affordable price that is charged and spacious apartments. Also as this guest mentioned very well the apartments are just off Tourist Street where shops and bus station are located. Though the apartments’ central location we located in a safe a quiet residential neighbourhood. Thanks once again for this review and hope to see you this coming winter
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Very help full and nice staff, The apartment was big and very clean, Location was central near supermarket and bus station. The internet was very fast and cheap. We extended our stay here instead of moving to Gozo island for the second week as we life so much the place . Malta has alot of history to explore and very interesting. I will recommend the shamrock apartments to my friends

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neroi_0098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shamrockapartments, Owner at Shamrock Apartments, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Dear Guest
Thanks for your feedback which was very encouraging to us. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed Malta and appreciated our history and heritage which is unique. Also I am pleased that you felt comfortable at the Shamrock Apartments even about the location which as you rightly said we are in central location near shops, bus station, seafront. Although we centrally located the Shamrock Apartments are located on a quite street.. From this review I would like to thank the staff who put all their efforts to in cleaning very well the apartments and offer a helpful service to all our guest
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsalforn, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Just returned from Shamrock. I booked a short break for myself and partner. The location was perfect as the apartment was near shops and restuarants. The room was clean and the staff helpful. Free parking is available but can be a problem during weekend as crowds of people come to dine and entertain themselves in the area. I liked the spacious sunny balcony and views from pool area. I would stay again if I want another break

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia2490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.2 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.5 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Apartments

Property: Shamrock Apartments
Address: Shamrock 137 Triq J. Quintinus, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1300, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shamrock Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamrock Apartments with shared swimming pool are centrally located and located in a very safe neighbourhood in Bugibba in St Paul's Bay area in Malta. The Shamrock Apartments are 8 minutes by walk from supermarkets, bus station, main square, sandy beach, banks, restaurants, pubs, casino and other any tourist services and facilities. The Shamrock Apartments is a small family-run business and a unique feature of the Shamrock Apartments is its rooftop swimming pool with sea views. Other facilities include: Inroom wireless internet access (WI-FI) in the apartment, ample free public car parking, free lugguage storage, passenger lift and office to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shamrock Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Apartments Hotel Bugibba
Shamrock Apartments Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing