We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for price”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed here march the food was good. allways something you could eat don't know why people moan.the staff are brill allways helpful.will be back September.it is in good location not far to walk to all bars restuarants sea front. rooms are cleaned dailywe couldnot moan at all.cant wait to see Charlie,teodora and the rest.sweet as.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terry320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 432 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at the Coral in March, we weren t expecting too much as we paid less than £10 pp per night for Bed & Breakfast. Room was clean but basic and looked out onto a wall. The food was adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very convenient for Bugibba square being about a 5 miinute walk.

Room Tip: Definitely a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolmKingSLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having stayed in Malta many times before I found this hotel the best value for money so far. It is a small hotel which makes using the restaurant an easy experience (no waiting). The staff at this hotel are the friendliest in Malta. Mario, Dora and Charlie to name a few will do everything they can to help you. The rooms are clean and tidy, towels etc changed every day. Will be returning in July this year for a second go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed there for two nights. There was no hot water (warm, when we got lucky), the beds were not comfortable and the food was not very good either. There was mildew around the bath and on the shower curtain. Staff was very polite and all, but the rest of it was bad. For those who say that it was ok for the price: we rented a room at another hotel with 3 stars that deserved 4 stars and it was the exact same price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Logik71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just stayed in the Coral Hotel in Bugibba for 2 weeks. Due to how little we paid for this hotel, we were quite dubious as to how it would be.
We were totally surprised at how good everything was after reading some of the reviews before coming.
The hotel is actually a typical 3 star hotel. With basic but clean and comfortable rooms. We requested a nice view room, which we got. We had a room overlooking the road but also it overlooked the fields/hills in the distance.
Many, many guests to this hotel are repeat guests - some request the back rooms, with no view as they are quieter, however the front rooms have the nice view but with road noise - so go for what you prefer.
The room maids (cleaners) Marina and Christina were extremely friendly and serviced our rooms daily. They always had big smiles and time for asking how you were too.
The reception/restaurant staff lady, Dora (Theodora) was excellent. This lady works so hard, always has a big smile on her face and is extrememly friendly and efficient. She was the star of the hotel.
Also, the night reception/bar/security man, Charlie was a big bubbly and entertaining guy, again with a big smile on his face.
The food was great too! The breakfast offers cereals, yougurt, honey, all the cooked foods (beans, sausage, bacon-some days, eggs) toast, tea/coffees. We thought this to be an excellent choice (especially compared to the bread and jam you get in many European countries).
The evening meals were also great - you have a salad bar and you have a choice of main courses changed every single day.
Also, if you wanted to change your evening (Half board) dinner to lunch, you can have a snack bar lunch instead.
As this is a small boutique hotel, it is very small and friendly, so the staff get to know you - it's much more personal than the larger hotels around.
This hotel doesn't have amenities such as indoor pools etc. So you can go to the sister hotel 'Canifor,' which has an indoor pool and jacuzzi.
A summary of this hotel is - its excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have nice views - higher the better Back facing rooms are quieter - no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lovely little hotel close enough to the bars and restaurants of Bugibba. I wouldn't stay here all inclusive though as its too small for that! Staff are lovely and the night guy is a laugh! Breakfast is the standard 'abroad' version but is fine. Wifi downstairs around reception, bar and the outside seating area is useable strength and doesn't drop in and out. The location is great for a walk to Qawra and around the headland back to Bugibba or to St Pauls and back. Small TV's in room with only a couple of English channels but movies on two channels through the night for us non sleepers! All in all a great place to stay for the money.

Room Tip: Its in Malta. Very few hotels have good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank woodlands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for five nights. From the outside, the hotel doesn't look bad but we got into our room and the bathroom had broken tiles with holes in the wall. The shower curtain was stained. The view from our balcony was the back of other flats, it stinks out there too. The food made our stay horrible. We chose half-board and breakfast was the same every morning. The meat wasn't cooked properly and neither were the vegetables. 99% of the time, the food was inedible. We ate out everyday. However, the Maltese restaurants were amazing such as Fat Harry's and Villa Mare, both found in The Square in Bugibba. Prices are very cheap considering what we have to pay for here in England.

The hotel itself is full of elderly people who are staying there for a month. We're in our 20s and were the youngest, the rest were 50+. The hotel is right next door to a cinema. There's few clubs and pubs nearby, not that great for nightlife. Bugibba has a rocky beach and The Square is about a 5min walk from the hotel which is great and has bus stops only 2mins away.

Malta is a very historical and cultural island. If you go then you should go in Summer and water sports is the main attraction over there. However, I really do suggest to pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sali12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Triq il-Korp, Tal-Pijunier, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range: $30 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing