We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base to get around Malta....Cheap, clean and simple!”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend wanted to go on a short break in March 2012 for a bit of sun and relaxation. (we are a young couple) This was our first time in Malta and the holiday itself was really good 23 degrees and sunny most days with a bit of rain and wind....

Coral Hotel is in Buggiba about 30 mins from the airport I'd say, a pleasant journey on the shuttle bus/minivan provided by the tour operator.
Once we arrived we were greeted at the desk but couldn't check in until a certain time in the afternoon so we put our luggage in a little cupboard and went out to eat something. This was a tiny bit annoying but once we got out in the sun we felt glad for the fresh air anyway...
.
Public areas:- reception area & dining room: These were very clean and pleasant. sometimes we sat in the reception/lobby area for a change of scene from our room and to watch the passers by out the front window and attempt to use the Wi-Fi -it was always messing about couldn't get a good signal really. There is also some information available there for how to get around Malta. The dining room was clean and quiet and seats were comfortable. We didn't use the pool as were not aware there even was one until the last day!

Room:- Our room was a good size with a nice bathroom- hot running water with a bath and a shower over the top of it. The bed was 2 singles pushed together. Clean and comfortable although it would be nicer to have a double bed so one of us doesn't fall through the crack in the middle!.
The TV was rubbish only BBC news nothing to watch which was a bit disappointing
We had a nice balcony with a view of a concrete wall nothing to look at but it was warm and quiet for relaxing.
The towels and linen was changed daily and our room cleaned and floor mopped everyday.

FOOD:- We stayed here on a 'Bed and Breakfast' board but after our first morning of breakfast we didn't really like it. After this we went to a cafe down the road that done a proper full English- 2 egg, 2 sausage, 2 bacon,beans, toast and tea for £3.50 euros!! Excellent! we ate there everyday. So paying for B&B at the hotel was a waste of money. We didn't try any other meals at the hotel so cant comment on that.

Area:- Bugibba has a nice little square with shops restaurants, cafe's and ice cream we went down there all the time to eat and found plenty of variety and great prices too.
There is a bus station a short walk away from the hotel. From here, you can travel to different parts of the island too. There is no beach nearby that we could find. The sandy beach is golden bay -a bus ride away of about 20-30mins.
We even went to the cinema next door to the hotel on one of the days it was raining and grey outside(it was in english). We recommend a trip to Sliema/Valletta plenty of shops, restaurants etc. and a boat trip around the harbor was fun. Make sure you go to Gozo on a tour as well- beautiful island!

Overall a great stay in Malta and an adequate comfortable stay at the Coral with pleasant staff and surroundings. Wish we paid self-catering because Coral Hotel is good as just a bed to sleep in at the end of the day, nothing fancy but we still paid a bargain price. We would definitely come back to Malta but maybe stay somewhere else next time- nearer a nice beach or at least with more to do in terms of shopping and evening entertainment/nightlife.

Room Tip: Room at the rear is quiet If you do choose Coral, go 'self-catering' and get out and explor...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rellz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Coral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 411 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the coral hotel,no entertainment but you can use sister hotel. Pub 100yds up the road karaoke nights suits all ages! Down the road you will reach st.pauls bay lovely walk and in summer season dodgems and kiddies stuff great bars and brilliant arcade overall this is my 3rd time to this hotel and will return in may 13!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a very early flight out to malta 3.30am to b precise so upon arriving at hotel at 12.30pm we had to wait until 2pm to get any use out of hotel! Hot tired and moody i was forced to put my case in an unlocked room and walk to find food and drink! Evently in room its clean and tidy except for a scanky shower curtain and cracked tiles on floor! Beds were not changed at all during the week! Room got hot at night and it was too noisy to have window open! Pool wasnt too clean! Staff were amazing tho and actually felt sorry for them as they all seemed to do 3 different jobs at once, be on reception as well as bar job and clearing glasses! The hotel had nothing to offer in the evening and at 23 i found it incredibly boring! Food was quite nice something new every night! The surrounding area is lovely tho and buses are close by! This hotel is ideal if you really want to just chill out! Apart from negatives i did go home well rested and did enjoy malta!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Babyblue1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

All inclusive was a waste of money , should have spent it on food outside the hotel - which we had to spend money on anyway - never experienced such bad food before.

Lunch = stale cereal they just topped up.

Lunch - the burgers seem to be cooked in old used grease.......

Dinner - just plain rubbish.fat, greasy - hardly cooked and you never knew what you got at one time I went for the ROAST chicken that turned out to be boiled chicken that tasted greasy (again)........last couple of days we didnt even bother to go in........the last day we thought we give it one more go, just in case.....options - some weird chicken or turkey breaded meat and some fish boiled to smittereens in some weird sauce and that was it............Mc Donald it was
I normally try to take it all in my stride and see the positive in things but this was bad.

Room - 2 star standard (tops) - cleaners did not always lock the door after they finished - ( hey we got cameras and wallets in here) - and sometimes they just throw the top-cover over the bed without doing the beds up first - no change of the linen during the week.

Bathroom - cracked tiles and a very moldy shower curtain that did not cover so we have a leak of water into our room and out in the corridor outside.


Pool on the top floor - several cracks and peeling of paint and the water got very milky at use and no-one seem to clean it. we dropped a piece of paper from a book in it (by mistake) and it was there the next day.....


Staff was mostly friendly and helpful, there was one or two that was not so customer-friendly but in all - nice staff.

We did managed to have a good time on our holiday but that was mostly the nice company we traveled with and the nice weather.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank soile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with my friend.
When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist who was really friendly and gave us the key to our room.
The room was lovely and were given a balcony where we could see the whole of Buggibba.
As a small hotel was quite quiet.
The pool was lovely even though not heated but that didnt really matter what with the sun.
Food was ok not really to my taste but the deserts were lovely especially.
All the staff were really friendly they all worked extremely hard to make sure our needs were met.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraM0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my friend for a long weekend. I havent stayed here before so didnt know what to expect. When we checked in the receptionist was very friendly and very helpful. Our room was a front view and spacious, no complaints at all about the room, the towels were changed everyday. The beds were comfortable. the restaurant food was very nice both breakfast and evening meal. All the staff in the hotel was very helpful and friendly.
I would definatley stay at this hotel again,
Thanks for a great stay coral hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel clean, big rooms and very friendly staff. Lots of food to eat and drinks reasonably priced. We had a front room with big sunny balcony and great views. However, gets lots of sun and air con not very effective so room too hot for me. Hotels at back had no views but quieter and cooler. Good base for seeing Malta and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back if noise and heat likely to disturb your sleep
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.7 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Triq il-Korp, Tal-Pijunier, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range: $28 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing