We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved it! Great for the price.”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Bugibba B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Just came back from a week in the Coral hotel. Overall the Hotel is brilliant! Service was great room was everything you need, comfy bed, desk area, TV, wardrobe and nice balcony. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide variety to choose from each morning. Staying half board this allowed us to explore the area of a daytime where the hotel is situated near the main square, but not as close as google maps says! Still only a 5 minute walk we could hit a few shops and pubs etc on the way down. Tea later in the night was full of choice, soup, pasta dishes main course which changed daily and ice cream to top it all off! Ice cream wasn't on display so make sure you ask for it! I'd definatley stay at the Coral again, so dont believe all the negative reviews as we really had a great time for a young couples first holiday :) xx

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of the breathtaking front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KatieW2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 426 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Coral Hotel in Buggiba Malta is a 40 room hotel with no disabled facilities. There are about 8 steps up from the street and the lift is too small to take a wheelchair and its passenger. Also as Buggiba Square is down a fairly steep hill from the Coral getting back up is a hard and strenuous process. So my first tip is to stay away from the Coral if you are in a wheelchair. Stick disabled people (people who use walking sticks) will have no problem as long as they can get around. There are plenty of places along the roads to rest up for a few minutes.
The Coral Hotel itself is staffed by very friendly people who are very helpful and cheery. We went all-inclusive and had absolutely no problems when we wanted a drink, including tea or coffee. We didn't need food inbetween meals as there was always plenty of choice at Breakfast and Dinner. Lunch was more limited but as we spent most days out and about lunch was not high on our menu. The food was plentiful, hot (except the salad and ice-cream) and very tasty. For dinner there was a different soup every day of the week, plus choices of salad with cold meats, and at least 4 hot dishes; the only weird thing we found was that although meals were buffet styled you weren't allowed to help yourself to the hot dinners - though you could return for more with no problem.
The Hotel was clean, the room we had included 2 beds pushed together to make a double plus a spare single bed. Enough wardrobe and drawer space for all our clothes and a clean tidy bathroom. There was a small balcony with no vie to talk of, air conditioning that didn't seem to work, though a ceiling fan did cool the room enough for us. A desk, small table, a TV with poor reception, one chair and a stool made up the rest of the furniture - main lights could be turned on/off from the headboard; the bathroom had a low glow night light as well as a full on light which was nice.
The bar was reasonably well stocked - I heard no complaints - and would serve alcoholic, soft and hot drinks on request.
The swimming pool was on the roof. It was quite small and cold but it was in May. There were beds for sunbathing and areas where you could sit in the shade if it got too hot. We never saw it crowded though if everyone from a full hotel went there at the same time I could see it being cramped.
Malta itself: This was our first visit and probably our last. There was nothing wrong with it, in fact for pensioners wanting to get away for a while in the sun it is ideal, but after a week we felt we had done all there was on offer.
There are Holiday Club people on the streets (like Timeshare) and if the weather is having an off day they are good to chat up. We had a rough second day, overcast and rain, so we went to visit hotels we would never ever buy into. We received several goodies, drinks etc but the best was a free ticket for the open top bus, hop on hop off, which saved us 30 Euro's. This ride included an hour long boat trip around two harbours and was very pleasant and well worth doing. I would recommend using the HOHO Bus for the Southern (Red) route as the Blue route is mainly covered by the regular bus service and costs 54 cents per person from Bugibba to Valletta or E1.16c to Mdina. DO NOT take the offers from the couriers. Ours wanted around 50 euro's each for a half day in Valletta. We did it for 54 cents each, each way - just over 2 Euros for 2 of us instead of around 100 euro's, plus we had all the time we wanted - buses run very frequently.
NOTE on Buses: As from July Arriva are taking over the bus routes. This means there will be new buses (shame as the old ones in use at present bring a certain charm to the place) and maybe new fare prices, but still it won't be anywhere near the excursion charges.
If you can, take one of the full day (11am - 5pm) boat trips to the Blue Lagoon/Comino. These cost 15 euros per person and are very good value. The Blue Lagoon is beautiful, plus you get to stop a couple of times on the way at different bays and St Paul's Island. The boat also sells food and drinks at very reasonable prices (about the same price as hotels and cafes). We went on the MERMAID cruise which is a slightly smaller boat than the others, only carrying 48 passengers when full. The Mermaid goes a little further into the caves than the other ships can. They also picked us up from the Coral Hotel and dropped us back there - all included in the E15 price. The Mermaid Cruise can be found at Buggiba to the left of the square.
Malta has mainly rocky beaches, some hotels have private sandy beaches, so it isn't particularly good for young children, also there is very little for children to do. If you like strolling along the promenade and enjoying the sunshine, or just resting on the balcony at the front of the hotel enjoying the sun and a cold drink then both Malta and the Coral Hotel are for you.

Room Tip: Front room views street. Back room views pipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlgernonPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I stayed here with my husband in May 2011, and we found it very good. Food was excellent and accommodation was fine, with comfy beds and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Has a swimming pool on the roof, quite small but O.K. for us, it's not far from the centre of Bugibba, so handy for the shops and buses.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear quieter but with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JudithStour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

we stayed at the coral hotel (sister to conifor ) conifor kennel as in the coral get 2nd rate compared to the conifer.let me explain !!!! coral get food delivered from conifor,no entertainment in coral, 1 s/pool (not cleaned once in a wk ) conifer got s/pool, sauna, ect. therefore conifor is 1st class compared to coral (who in my opinion are the underdogs.) having said that , the service was good,food was a bit boring, (had to ask for ice cream ) bar service was good, pillows are paper thin and worn !!! therefore I would not recommend the coral to my dog.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koda12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Being out Ist trip to Malta we just needed a base,as we did not want a hotel holiday,We went to Malta to see Malta, and thats what we did.
The Coral is not the hotel we booked, but its the one we ended up in.(but thats another story)...And I was so pleased we did,The view from our room was amazing right across Malta...we woke up to sunshine in the mornings,which puts you right in holiday mode.
Breakfast was all you could eat and always dished up with a smile. Dinner was the same, no reason at all to be hungry...and always somthing on the menu that we liked.
Our room was clean and we had our bedding changed once while we where there.
our room was cleaned every day, and clean towels every day too.
No tea and coffee in the room but that was sorted out for 3 euros aday we got a kettle cups (clean every day) and as much tea and coffee as we needed.(as in Rome)
TV was in English not that we watched much to busy out and about..eating or sleeping.
The swimming pool was a good size for a small hotel ...clean with sunbeds..
The bar again was small but did what it should do ...GAVE YOU A DRINK..
Only a 10min. walk to St Pauls Bay.with Bus stops going everywhere.Buses cost next to nothing but can get crowded,in a humorous fashion.
We found the Maltese people always ready to help if we needed it,such nice people,we could learn alot from them......
The Staff at the hotel work so hard, but are kind helpfull and nothing is to much trouble for them...
Not a Hotel to go to if you intend to stay in all day.but a great hotel for a base and for that reason I could not fault this hotel.....
Would I go back to the Coral, Yes I would.................

Room Tip: A base Hotel , not for anyone wanting a hotel hol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winnie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The Coral hotel was part of a really good value last-minute package deal we took for the first week of April. We stayed half-board. Our initial impression upon arrival was that the hotel looked a bit tired. Later we discovered from one of the many Malta Tourist Board representatives taking surveys that this was probably becauase the hotel had decided not to close for maintenance this year, maybe due to holiday demand but also maybe they thought that due to the recession and locality to Libya bookings may drop later in the year. They should really have closed and made good the tiling in the bathroom, mended the wardrobe door, hung the curtains properly... However, on good notes, there was plenty of hot water, it was generally quiet at night, and we could get English speaking Dubai tv channels without paying any extra fee. There is a little safe and a locked fridge in the room (for deposit and payment). The bed was really very firm, I asked for extra pillows which were provided very efficiently despite us arriving after 1am!
The pool was cleaned and re-filled during our week long stay, the area around it is a convenient and quiet sun-trap on the roof.
Breakfast was much the same every morning. There was little choice but eggs of all type were available and always either sauage or bacon, not both.. I would have loved it had there been fresh fruit juice available rather than 'juice drink' and,in fact some fresh fruit would have been lovely (it was the start of the spectacular strawberry season). Evening meals always seemed to have a fish and pasta option along with a meaty dish, but it did feel a bit samey. The very best thing was the hugely varied salads/antipasti, sometimes using up leftovers (I'm all for that - no wastage) but always very tasty.
The Coral is quite a way from the main square and shops so quiet at night, some buses drop you off outside.
I think this hotel is good value but quite avaerage for it's 3 stars, if only it had had a bit of TLC before high-season kicked-in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BozzasBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have just returned from a 7days stay at the Coral Hotel. Excellent value for money! Couldnt of asked for more from a 3* hotel! The staff were very helpful and cheerful, always happy to direct us to the correct bus or things to do. The rooms were very clean, and the pool area was clean and tidy! Breakfast was lovely but the same menu everyday. My only issue with this hotel was menu choices, the food was fine, but the choice was limited.The dinner was adequate, we ate out most evenings. The lunch menu was dissapointing, but we only used it once towards the end of our stay, Food was fine, just not much choice.
Good location, easy to travel to Valletta and other attractions. Buses are very reasonable and excellent service. Location of hotel good, very little noise from the main square, but only a 5 minutes walk to the main square.

Room Tip: Fantastic value for money! Good Location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becksntinks87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#13 of 15 in Qawra
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Triq il-Korp, Tal-Pijunier, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bugibba
Price Range: $25 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Malta/Bugibba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing