We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here on 21st until 25th Jan 2014, we stayed in a one bedroom apt, very spacious and clean, suberb view over the bay,breakfast was lovely,staff where really pleasant and always smiled and said hello back,check in was great with the help of a lovely receptionist I think her name was Charmaine ,sorry if I got this wrong,even the guys on reception where very helpful.all in all a very pleasant stay , also just as we where leaving my wife asked to view a 2 bedroom apt, which again was no problem because we are thinking of coming with my parents in law in April, and I will be looking no further than this hotel, as it is just perfect... Thanks guys for a lovely stay... See you all again soon... Phillip & Brigid mc Carron..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shepshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 941 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

we stayed at this hotel 17th to 24th january. check in was very quick, receptionist was very friendly. room 709 was a one bedroomed apartment which was spacious. towels changed every day and room cleaned every 3rd day. we did notice that dirt lying on the carpet in the hallway outside our door was there when we booked and and still there when we left. couldnt use the balcony after monday following some rain which brought the sand in as our room was not cleaned until the thursday. the reception area/coffee bar was bright and modern with free wifi which was easy to access. The best part of staying at this hotel was the food in the butchers choice restaurant which although was privately owned was available to half board customers. All staff working in the restaurant were extremely helpful and very pleasant. The food here was excellent,probably the best we have had in malta and we have been there about 6 times. The food was well cooked and well presented, definatley made the stay at this hotel worthwhile. wine was very reasonably priced, breakfast also very good value for money The spa/pool also good,just across the road. would book this hotel again for restaurant food.

Room Tip: book a sea view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinet119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights between the 12th and 19th January. I booked an inexpensive break with my father on a half board basis. Not sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in room 706 which had a good view of Salina Bay. It was a one bedroomed apartment with a decent sized living room and bathroom. The furniture was functional, but a little dated. Having said that it was clean and the beds and towels were changed everyday if required.
What made the hotel so good was the food and the friendliness of the staff. Food was served in the Butchers Grill which is a restaurant just off the hotel lobby. The food was freshly cooked and served by Joanne in the morning and Adam or Adrian in the evening. There was a choice of cooked or continental breakfast with tea or coffee and fruit juice. On an evening we had a 3 course meal with plenty of choices. The food was mainly cooked by restaurants Tanzanian cooks Obi and Godwin. Time permitting Obi would speak to the diners once the cooking was finished and was a gentleman. The first couple of days there was some quite loud background music in the restaurant which affected my father, who wears a hearing aid and when asked the staff kindly turned the volume down,
Hotel guests could also use the facilities at the health club across the road which had a nice small indoor pool and jacuzzi as well as a gym. There was a bus stop just outside the hotel which was useful for travelling round the island. The hotel also provided free wifi in the lobby and the free use of two PCs near reception. A special thanks also to Lillian, Charmaine and Emmanuel on reception. Apologies to anyone else not mentioned who helped make our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Sea view and higher floors recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stay for 7 night from 27 Dec 2013 - 2 Jan 2014 on winter.
Budget apartment. Nice and friendly receptionist. Express check in and check out.
although the wifi is only at the lobby, but the speed is quite good. They also provide 2 PC near the receptionist for free. I rented 2 studios room at the 3rd floor with the bay view, but actually blocked by the small building.
Bed is average, without a mattress pad, but you still can sleep (don't expect like in the **** or ***** hotel). Heater didn't work at the bed room (at one of my studio). Furniture little bit old model but still clean and tidy. TV is so small and old....
The bad thing is the house keeping. Although they change the towel everyday, but sometimes they were forget to clean and empty the trash bin.... Sometimes they tidy up the room sometime no, and I just surprised have have 2 rooms and the hose keeper treated differently. For me , it was better to clean up the room by myself.
There is small mini market, that you can buy something for the pantry.
The pantry or kitchen equipment is quite complete, there is an oven but no microwave.
The water little bit alkaline, because I feel it in my skin.

The Lasagna at the restaurant is quite good.
There is Chinese food and cafe that serve English breakfast just in front of the apartment. The English breakfast is good. Free parking but sometimes little bit difficult to find the space during the night.
The gym is located separately from the main building, the equipment is need to change but still can use it. They have indoor pool, outdoor pool and spa.

They will charge for water and electricity when you check out.
Qawra is just 20 km far away from Valletta, you can also use the bus no 45 or 12 to go to Vallettta, the bus stop just 200 m from the apartment.
There is National Aquarium near this apartment, you can walk (apr 1 km)

In average service is good, but they have to improve the quality of their house keeper.

Room Tip: It's better to rent 1 unit - 2 rooms rather than 2 studios, because we have to pay the electrici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hi , just returned from a new year break at sunny coast , I've read a few bad reports on this hotel before booking but went with open view, only paid £1200 half board for 4 of us at new year inc flights so cheap break, had a apartment on 2nd floor over looking road, rooms a bit dated but ok 2star, asked if they had a sea view apartment a couple of days later, no problem only charged us 10 euros + 25 euros to keep the room on our last day, because of late flight home, put on 5th floor, room 503, which turned out to be time share room,4 star, great move for 10 euros.
All the staff from the cleaner to the management no fault what so ever, very helpful,
Food good,not a great choice on the menu, but it is out of season,
Down sides , noisey air con,poor choice of tv programmes ,only bbc world news, and a movie channel, repeated films poor picture. No kids channels so a Rainey days not good days, indoor pool very small! Didn't use main pool, not warm enough
Does have a lot more channels in bar area, so why they don't link up to all the rooms I don't know? .bar don't serve draught beer , cans or bottles only!!
Few nice bars etc in the area, and about 10 min walk into the busier areas, overall this hotel is ok, despite some bad reports, I suspect some of the moans are from time sharers, who expect a lot more luxury I would put it a good 3 star with a sea view, 2 star on the lower floors with road view.
My advice would be pay the extra for sea view , on another note , car hire be careful you pay for petrol up front and take it back empty, if you hire for a few of days you would have to drive round the island 4 times and still have half a tank left lol, Avis all so charge £1000 euro bond on your credit card, for any damage all you can pay the extra insurance daily , which doubles the hire charge, around 50 euros a day , shop around. Next time I would hire from the airport, you would save 40 euros in transfers straight away, so worth looking into, hope this helps all those who have read this

Room Tip: Choose sea view , gave poor children's activities because there wasn't any, but is out of se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garymaltby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we went there for vaccations and had a pleasent stay.the hotel room was very nice and have a beautiful sea view.it was a self catering apartment..with all needed appliances..it has everything u'll need for your short stay.

Room Tip: try to get a sea facing room..its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shruti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had read very varied reviews about the Sunny Coast and were a little wary when we arrived to spend Christmas 2013 there.

My parents had arrived a week earlier (the luxury of being retired). Their apartment wasn't so good- a little dated and the balcony was in the shade and wind (though the view was beautiful). However, when we arrived 6 days later, we took our appartment (2 adults and a teenager in a 2 bedroomed) and they requested to change apartments. These apartments were much better decorated and furbished (we stayed on floor 5, facing the road- which was still picturesque enough as you could see the hills in the distance and the sea to the side) and the balconies got the dun from about mid day).

The location is great, right on the sea front with a choice of snack places, restaurants and nice views. Plenty of local supermarkets (in addition to the hotel mini-market), we preferred a place called Trolleys which was very cheap.

Bus stop 100 yards away with regular buses, but we hired a car for a few days too from a small place just across the road from the hotel and took a sightseeing bus; the office is also just across from the hotel.

The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely, couldn't do enough to help- if you aren't happy with anything, just ask!

Also, the internet is free in the lounge and you can tickets for an hour at a time from Reception, or pay few euros an hour from your room.

Chaplains next door but one is a great night out and the karaoke on Saturday was good fun- mixed with English and Maltese.

We had our meal on Christmas Day at the hotel restaurant and the food was fabulous and very reasonably priced. Again, the staff did everything they could to ensure we anjoyed our visit.

I'd probably give it 3.5 (but only whole numbers are available). The reason it's not higher is that we have tended to stay in very well furbished aprartments (5 star and Gold Crown) and this isn't to that standard- though it's comfortable and you have pretty much everything you need.. The bedroom and bathroom windows do open out onto heating pipes and even the more newly refurbished accommodation could do with a lick of paint.

Room Tip: I'd ask for the ones facing the road on floor 5, they were better than floor 2 facing the sea. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathrynC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
3.4 mi away
Pergola Hotel & Spa
Pergola Hotel & Spa
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $36 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing