We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worsth weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed November 21, 2013

estell pavia i would like to complain about our weekend break , when you make an advetise on the computer make it right pls because you dont have all that mantion about vin the hotel , first of all i would like to tell you that we have come the worsth weekend break ever about food service ,without games room that you mantion on the computer,without wifi in the rooms ,we order food and its finished and we only can take pizza,and what a pleasure of desert you gave us only ice cream without choice ;the service in our rooms it isnt good because i had to call for a clean towels at 4;00pm .im sorry about that but the first and the last even me and my sister and my friends .thanks

Room Tip: first see what is the service
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 921 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

All staff were very friendly, polite and professional, this includes reception, housekeeping staff and resturant, nothing was to much trouble. We found the mini mart on the first floor very convenient for food, prices were reasonable. We had a two bedroom appartment on the 6th floor, this appartment was spacious and comfortable and well equiped. The one thing I would say is perhaps the timing of closing the indoor pool and jacuzzi could have been better timed. We hired a car from Freeway who were very helpful, please be aware if you are over 75 you will have to have a medical certificate issued by a local doctor, this is easily obtained and will cost 25 euros. Sunny Coast is in a very convenient position for buses and walking distance to St. Pauls Bay. Most of the food we sampled in resturants were of a reasonable standard, reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the quieter it is.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JOSETTE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just spent a week in an apartment at this hotel, generally happy with the standard of accommodation and the facilities. The staff were helpful and we were pleased to see that wifi connection was included in the cost. Anyone considering purchasing the food pack (as we did) should be aware that the tea and coffee provision amounts to half a dozen teabags/sachets of instant coffee in a little bag - it was not worth the cost in our opinion. Also, the sofa bed could do with replacing, the couple using it had to put the mattress on the floor in order to be comfortable.
The apartment had a fantastic view of the bay from the balcony.
Good access to buses for sightseeing and the pool, sunbed and sea were all good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 956JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

First of all, dont go to Qawra if you want party, fun or a lot of people around you. It's calm, boring and only resturants, that are bad...
We stayed here in september 2013, and the only good thing was the weather and the diving in Malta. The Hotell (Sunny Coast Resort & Spa) though was a big disapointment, from the start to the end.

The food was horrible... the room didnt get cleaned often enuff, I couldn't sleep in the beds (non of us could and we were 5 people) I hated the beds, hard and uncomfortable, but also it was so hot in the room at nights! The airconditionairs didnt work, and when they did they made a terrrefiying noise so you couldn't sleep anyway!

But the worst part was the staff, the people who worked there, them, their mentality and alla their damn rules!!! No jumping in the pool, no fotball playin near the hotell, you have to wear hotellband! And no that, and no this! The feeling you got from the stafff was that they were to many employed so they had nothing to do then bother the guests and point out things we couldnt do... working there was that they did not like us turist, they didn't think we should come there and do as we liked no no. They had a very bad and annoying attitude versus their guests. Worst is the big bald guy sitting in the reception...

But if you like bad staff and many rules, and a calm boring semester with bad food and no sleep because of the hot rooms and stone hard beds, then I guess Sunny Coast is the right Hotell for you, my friend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sverigeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great apartment on the 5th floor with B&B part of the deal. Comfortable room with great view over the bay. The staff are all very friendly and very helpful. Good place to catch the bus to Valetta - right outside hotel. Access to a gym over the road - bit like going to a gym in Bethnal Green but lot of equipment. Great swimming pool.

Room Tip: 5th floor and above are better quality. Some look over the road that might be more noisy
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanB56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

To update on previous reviews the noisy night club is no longer near to the Sunny Coast so no problem with room 201 as previously stated.

The pool also as stated in a review was across a road, this really misrepresents where the pool was as the leisure complex is a stones throw from the Sunny Coast and the road referred to is tiny and very quiet.

The sea view rooms are a must as the view is stunning!

Staff were very helpful whenever we had any questions that we needed answers for.

The sea was a lovely temperature to swim in and very easily accessible. The only point to bear in mind is people with disabilities may struggle to get in as access to the sea is via a step ladder and there are also steps to get down to the concreted rocks where the beach front is.

The mini market run by mother and daughter who are from the UK is very handy and well equipped and reasonably priced. This is located on the first floor of the hotel.

A fruit and veg van comes most days about 6pm with a wide selection of fresh produce. We found this very convenient and the quality was good. This was handy as we were in a one bed roomed apartment.

The location was good for buses and we would highly recommend the hop on hop off two day ticket to see the attractions of Malta.

Location was also good for restaurants and we ate a couple of times in the restaurant at the Sunny Coast and the food was very good.

We recommend a walk further round the coastal road which has a good walk way to view St Paul's Island. sunset is a lovely time to look out on to it.

The weather at this time of year was very good and it was generally in the late 20's.

Valletta is definitely worth a visit as lots to see.

All in all a good holiday!




.

Room Tip: Sea view a must as views fabulous to wake up to
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ailsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Have given myself a 7 day cooling off period before reviewing this establishment.

Booked a 14 night stay back in March for the period 1-15 October, self catering for my wife and I.
Upon arrival (at 11pm after travelling all day) we were told there was no room available for us
until 4 October and were told in no uncertain terms by the night porter who greeted us that
there was nothing we could do about this, either
we went to another hotel or we slept in the car for 3 nights. We were told to come back in
the morning and speak to a managerial person.

We went to the other hotel, which to be honest, was a 5 star hotel, suite, 2 balconies
and a lovely sea view as well as half board. Ok, but we booked a self catering holiday
so we could "self cater". This is what we paid for.
The next morning we went back to the Sunny Coast to speak to someone in authority to find
out just why exactly there was no room for us on arrival. The following is what we were told,you can read all the other reviews of overbooking
at this resort and then decide for yourself if you believe the excuse or not.

We were told that the fuel tank on the roof developed a leak and had flooded out some rooms
making them uninhabitable until they were cleaned out. This would take up to 3 days to put right.
We could not look at the rooms because of the work being carried out (health and safety etc).
I told the lady that I was doubtful of her story but there was nothing I could do other than come
back on 4 October and get on with the holiday, which we did.

So as to the resort itself. Not bad for location but you definitely need to book a room
with a sea view which we did and the view was very good. The room itself was very dated, useless
air conditioning and the worst thing for us was that you could hear the people above clomping
about at all hours. This is a definite no no for us. Also we were located close to a store room
which meant furniture was being moved about at all hours also. The rest of the resort, pool,
entertainment etc was nothing to write home about, just adequate. More of a 2 star resort.

All in all, I would not recommend this resort to anyone as we were not given what we paid for,
in fact they even tried to charge us for a welcome food pack which we never got. Definitely wont
be back. Can never understand the financial reasoning behind double booking rooms just to get a
few extra Euros at the expense of the loss of thousands of Euros in potential future bookings.
That's the mentality of these people. Beats me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanAbernethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,868 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,014 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $41 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing