We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1bed apartment too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this resort after doing research and it kept coming up with great reviews. I was taking my mum on our last holiday before i went travelling for a year and wanted it to be really special. I booked a one bed apartment as she was having the bedroom and i was having the sofa bed in the lounge, we always do this as lounges are normally spacious but that is not the case at this hotel. The lounge is a inside room with only a internal window, very small and claustrophobic. When the bed is out you can not walk around the room as no space. Could not do any cooking as felt to cramped. Bathroom is off the sitting area and also only has a internal window when you open the window you can hear the other rooms using the toilet so not good. Also bathroom door does not close properly unless you slam it so had to either listen to mother go to the loo at night or get woken by the door slamming. Internal window in sitting area / lounge does not have a blind or anything so was continuously woken up when another room switched their light on. I paid extra for a sea view which we partially had but due to another building having building work we could not sit on the tiny balcony due to cement dust flying about and couldnt breathe properly. Wardrobe also broke so we had to have a guy come and fix it as couldnt even open the doors. Hotel was fully booked until so we couldn't be moved. I reported to reception and was willing to pay extra to be moved but there was no spaces. I knew there was spaces a few days later as searched the internet i mentioned to reception i would book this via the internet and they said no they would move us if possible. This did not happen as obviously they preferred to get new clientele than satisfy people that were already there. I found one receptionist who i will not name to be very rude but the rest were friendly and helpful. There is a young girl that works in the restaurant and seemed to be there 24 hours who was great and deserves to be mentioned unfortunately i did not get her name.
The situation with the room totally ruined our holiday as we wanted to have meals on the balcony but had to eat out everynight instead. Also spent most time out as room so cramped dark and small. If you only want a place to sleep then this is ok as good location with good bus stop outside if you want more space then definitely book a 2 bed apartment but i can not confirm they will be any bigger as did not see. The pictures do not reflect living room in one bed apartment. I have rated this as average as other facilities increased the scoring but room definitely let it down. Also only two lifts and since there are seven floors it can take a long time to get out of the building.
We went to the bbq night please ive this a miss they had a local birthday party in on the same nigh and gave all their attention to them, chef left bbq most of the time i paid 13 euros for 2 pieces of bread a piece of raw sword fish and a piece of steak that was inedible.

Room Tip: 2 bed hopefully more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 933 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

- We complained about a strong smell of urine in our two bedroom apartment. The smell of urine came from our closet, not the bathroom. Outcome, cleaner brought airrefreshner and that was it.

-During the 3 day stay the trash weren't taken away, beds weren't made, one of the days the towels were taken and the reception said that the HOLE hotel didn't have fresh towels. They provided towels after 2 hours from our initial reguest.

-Clean towels in this hotel mean that they smell very unclean.
- The sheets were full of stains

- Staff was mostly friendly.

-This is not four star hotel on any scale.

-The island itself is very nice.

Room Tip: If you wanna enjoy your holiday, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geardyyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed there for a week in August with wife and daughter, Two bedroom apartment. Not five star but clean, pleasant and well looked after. Nice location beside the sea and convenient for that area of Malta.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having not been to Malta I was a little apprehensive about it not having beaches, and the girlfriends choice of hotel is never great but I have to admit on both scores I was proved totally and utterly wrong. The Sunny Coast was a great place for us to explore Malta from and also to relax and enjoy. Our room had two double bedrooms even though we only asked for one double bed (so it was possible to get away from the girlfriend - added bonus!!!!) the balcony has a lovely view out over the little bay surrounding qawra and the facilities and friendliness of the staff at the hotel was fantastic. A lovely hotel restaurant that we ate in im not sure how many nights, with friendly staff who speak perfect English and are easy down to earth. With the pool across the way complete with gym and the sea at your doorstep it couldn't have been nicer. Burghibba is literally a ten minute walk but could be an hour away with the secluded nature of the hotel and its surrounds. I rarely say I would go back to stay in the same hotel again, but in this case I wouldn't hesitate if ever I found myself in Malta again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was an amazing stay having a very clean ambience. Housekeeping always up-to-date with change of sheets, cleaning of bathroom and floors mopped every three days while the towels are changed every day. The housekeepers are very friendly and do their utmost to help you in general at the shortest time possible. There is a bus stop right next to the hotel with buses passing frequently. An amazing stay, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 505jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend break. The staff are amazing, they go out of their way to help. Our apartment was always clean and had an amazing view. The price was affordable and we'll be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SashaAbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have spent a weekend break at the Sunny Coast and we were given a very nice apartment on the second floor with a sea view. Apartment was very clean, staff very friendly and will go out of their way to help you out. As we arrived we asked for a cot which was provided in a couple of minutes. We enjoyed staying in, cooking ourselves but also enjoyed our dinner at the Quattro Fratelli restaurant. Very good food and excellent service. We also made use of the pool. It was very clean and well kept. Our 4 year old son enjoyed playing in the splash pool as well. One thing is sure is that we will surely return to the Sunny Coast! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,902 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
468 reviews
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range: $29 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing