We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Qawra
Catania, Italy
1 review
“Very enjoyable holiday!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our first vacation in years and we were extremely blessed to have shared it with the lovely staff of this resort. The area was extremely clean and we had a wonderful view. If we visit Malta again, we definitely know where we will stay. Thanks again Sunny Coast Resort & Spa!

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room as they get great natural air with the balcony door opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTinaFite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    335
    151
    88
    69
See reviews for
346
336
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed two weeks in May this year and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Room was very clean and kept so by the cleaning staff. Fresh towels daily. Only downside was that the building going on in front of balcony is going to be a problem as view is not as good as it might be for a sea view. The Village restaurant was excellent and Debbie is a fabulous chef and Ramona and her along with their family run a very good restaurant. We stayed here about 8 years ago and have to say the restaurant is much improved. You could easily eat most nights there and never tire of the menus.

Room Tip: Rom 506 suited our requirements but with building work going on in front of balcony seaview is restr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneM300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having been a time share owner for some 20 years, the place has had a part update , but still needs a further up-date ,ie tv, kitchen equipment, beds also need to be replaced , the staff need to learn how to talk to customers not to say "lessen-up" I am talking to you . The reception staff need to be re-trained in dealing with problems, not just to say we will look in to it and do nothing ..
as this does not help to solve the problem, more feed back to the customer is require having said
all of the above the area is a great place for a holiday.

Room Tip: building work being done at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith1066b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Time share owner and have seen a lot of improvements in the complex. Room very clean, lots of space although bathroom tiles need some attention. As always a delightful stay made even better by the lovely Lillian on the desk plus all the help from Maria in the office (but all staff good). The reception and bar have all been re developed to a high standard with free WiFi but this is sadly let down by the shabby outdoor area. The leisure centre area is great, again re developed and good food served in the cafe. This is a very relaxing and nice resort and one we love coming back to whenever possible and feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

I will make sure to pass on the message especially to the named staff as all the staff does its utmost to ensure an enjoyable experience for our guests at the Sunny Coast.

Regarding the mentioned upgrade needed to the outdoor area I will pass on the message to upper Management although refurbishing plans are in the pipeline.

Please let us know if you wish to pass further feedback and we look forward to seeing you back again at the Sunny Coast.

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belv
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having been a timeshare owner at sunny coast since the 80's, we have seen some changes, however, nothing seems to change in the first,second and third floor, the second floor apartments are tired, they have old fashioned t.v's, with barely enough kitchen equipment, the air con has been there since the 80's, and now does not work properly , this desperately needs up dating . The sofas in the front room have been there since the 80's and although they have been covered, the mattresses are unusable, the room was barely cleaned when we was there, and we constantly had to ask for toliet rolls. Our balcony wasn't cleaned the whole two weeks we were there, I think having seen friends apartments on the 5th floor, we can't understand why we haven't got the plasma tv, and up to date air con, they have.
In all a friendly hotel, if only the rooms where as pleasant as the staff. What do we pay our maintenance fees for, because if anyone stayed in my apartment they would be totally disappointed by the tiredness of the apartment. Come on sunny coast, get with the times, update the 2nd floor apartments, give us a plasma t.v, update the aircon and a microwave would be an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and a room above the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments as only through this we can improve our service and hotel.

With regards to your comment I will pass them to upper management. We currently have plans in the pipeline to upgrade the first 3 floors of the hotel in fact some of the rooms on the third floor have already got the carpets replaced by parquet flooring. Next up are the second and first floors.

I am very sorry if this has caused any inconvenience during our stay and thank you for your nice comments about the staff. All of them do their utmost in order to provide the best possible service.

If you wish to pass further comments on improvements please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunny Coast!

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa for the first time this year despite visiting Malta for over 20 years. Despite booking 1 bedroom with sea view, we were afforded a 2 bed (1 ensuite) apartment with sea view. This apartment was excellent, the view was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and helpful, cleaning staff very thorough, maintenance staff very prompt in dealing with small matter of leak in bathroom. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to visit again very soon. The balcony doors (we had four as we had a corner apartment) were only single glazed and maybe double or treble glazed would have cut down on noise from traffic, especially at weekends. However this did not spoil our holiday. Kitchen appliances fully functional, sofas a little tired but overall excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. I will pass on the message to the rest of the staff as they will be pleased to hear your lovely comments.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back at the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa.

If you wish to pass further feedback please do not hesitate to do so.

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back from our visit to Sunny Coast Resort Hotel. Location perfect for a quiet holiday, Swimming pool and beach lovely and plenty of sun beds. Only problem when we arrived we had to pay 60 euros for electricity and water for the week and our room was drab. Could not sit on the balcony as there were only 2 chairs, a table and no room for four of us at once. No window in the lounge, we overlooked back ways to the restaurant next door and all the Air conditioning units. could only see the sea if you stood up. Asked to be moved and was told we would have to wait till the Monday. Monday came and asked to be moved and speak to the manager but he was hiding behind a two way mirror. All complaints were relayed thru the receptionists. He did not even come out to greet any guests. This was a RCI holiday booked thru our friends who were with us. The Manager said (via reception staff) that the hotel was fullly booked and we could not be moved. We actually knew as we were told by a reliable source that the hotel was not fully booked. Our friends who have a RCI room in Tenerife said the standard was awful and that they expected the same standard as their home RCI appartment. We could not fault the food at the hotel or the breakfasts as this was run by a franchise couple. They worked very hard. Malta is a beautiful place so we were out all day but i'm sure that if we had had a sea view we would have spent more time in the hotel using their facitlites.

Room Tip: Specify exactly what you want in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcmac2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback as only through this we get to improve our service.

With regards to your complaints please note that we allocate you in the room which RCI allocates you in and also that through RCI a sea view is not guaranteed. Also with regards to the hotel not actually being fully booked please note that sometimes I get rooms available for just 2 days so it would have been a bigger inconvenience for you to move again after 2 days. But still we are very sorry about the inconvenience the room might have caused you.

If you wish to pass further feedback please do not hesitate to do so by sending us an email on info.sunnycoast@axhotelsmalta.com.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,704 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing