We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
“wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently spent the week with husband and two adult grandchildren who were treated royally by the staff. We were pleasantly surprised at what a nice condo we had--and especially that the staff was so outstanding. They went out of their way to make our stay a great experience. From the minute we walked in, everyone was so helpful and friendly. They changed us to a larger condo, gave us directions, were always smiling and nice. The night manager was especially accommodating to the kids. Having traveled extensively, we have to say that we have never been treated better. We are from the USA. Thank you to the staff for making this experience with our grandchildren so great.

Room Tip: We loved the two-bedroom and it did have a partial view of the ocean. Very quiet on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lthrnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your nice feedback. I will make sure to pass on the message to our staff as they do go out of their way in order to ensure a pleasant holiday for all our guests.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at the Sunny Coast.

Best regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    328
    144
    87
    66
See reviews for
335
328
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice stay for a week in half term. The area itself is a bit grotty but you can find some nice places nearby. The room was clean and well maintained and we were lucky with a sea view. The staff were helpful and friendly in general. The swimming pool and spa is not directly on site but a short walk across the road. The facilities were a bit dated but generally ok. This facility is not used exclusively by the hotel so not sure how busy it would be in the height of summer. The food in the restaurant was not the best and some of the dishes on the Maltese platter had a unusual fermented tang. Easy access to bus routes which we used all week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your lovely comments. I will make sure to pass on the message to our staff as they will be happy to hear these comments.

On the other hand I will pass on the feedback left about the restaurant in order to make sure that this does not happen again.

If you need anything else please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you back at the Sunny Coast!

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I recently spent a couple of weeks at Sunny Coast and was made to feel most welcome. The apart hotel is well equipped with a lovely and reasonably priced restaurant on site if you do not feel like cooking. The views over the bay were beautiful. The staff were very helpful - the hotel is very handy for the buses but I decided to hire a car to explore more widely. Staff arranged this for me and also helped me with some other quests. There is a mini market on site and other shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. I was in a two bedroom unit which was very comfortable. There is a swimming pool and spa for chilling out after a hard day´s exploring. There is so much to see on this wonderful island. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I travelled early May and had a room at the front overlooking the bay - the view was beautiful - alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shonahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

I will make sure to pass on the message to the staff as they will be very pleased to hear about your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunny Coast.

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

After cleaning the rooms the cleaner left our room smelling like smoke (not sure why).
Building works at the pool made sunbathing and swimming unenjoyable.
The pool was freezing cold so nobody went in it.
On our first night we had a cockroach come out of the bathtub and found another 2 by the end of our visit.
In the corner of one of the rooms in the vent was a birds nest. This woke us all up at 5 every morning by the birds calling. They had obviously put paper in there to sort this but just caused them to make a nest.
Two of the receptionists were really pleasant however one was really rude.
There were not enough towels for all of us and on one occasion there was lipstick on the towel.
They said they would replace the toilet role as we were running low however we were never given anymore toilet roles.
The automatic doors and lift doors did not have a sensor so my sister was left with a black bruise from being caught in between the doors. It was very funny though!!
The location was not near any of the main sights however I would recommend the sight seeing bus that takes you around. The hop-on-hop-off was great for taking you around!
The was no air conditioning in the rooms but it was too noisy for the window to be open due to building works and birds.
The one night we went to the hotel restaurant we experienced very rude service from the staff. The restaurant owner told us we should have ordered one pizza because we left waste and she hates waste. When offering pudding 'sweets' she then said that we shouldn't have any but she had to ask. We were not impressed with the food either.
Overall it was very disappointing but made us stay out as long as possible! Chaplin's next door is amazing!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazing-annaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback as only through this we get to improve our services.

With regards to the building works please note that we do not have any control over this and we are very sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused you.

On the other hand with regards to the other complaints I will pass them on to the relevant departments. If you could contact us with the room number on reservations.sunnycoast@axhotelsmalta.com this would be much appreciated in order to take appropriate action.

If you wish to pass on further feedback please do not hesitate to contact us with your feedback since, as stated previously, this would help us improve our feedback.

Best regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Rabat, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

After a very short stay at the Sunny Coast, It totally changed my perception towards it... I would of never imagined the excellent service, quality and affordability in this newly refurbished resort! The room had a perfect sea view, with well dressed curtains, that can give you complete darkness if desired.. perfect for a good nap on a sunny afternoon. Staff are so friendly, and a "service with a smile" would really apply at the Sunny Coast. Lunch at their indoor restaurant "Village Square" was fabulous, with that local "kick" to enhance the experience. The spa... Oh the spa, so relax-oriented, with well-trained staff to ensure a positive relaxation experience.
An overall blast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice comments.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and I will make sure to pass on the message to the staff as they do their utmost to ensure an enjoyable stay for all our guests!

We hope to see you back soon at the Sunny Coast!

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

just went for a weekend break at the sunny coast resort.. the apartment was perfect we did not imagine it would be that nice.. the sea view is brilliant as well from the bedroom! staff is very nice and the apartment has everything you would need. Not to mention the leisure centre..the outdoor pool is fab and even the jacuzzis and indoors! we were very satisfied and will definately come here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your lovely comments!

I will make sure to pass on the message as all our staff does its utmost to ensure the perfect break for our guests.

We hope to see you back at the Sunny Coast!

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Imsida, null, Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Passed a lovely weekend at Sunnycoast .Lovely hotel ,staff very friendly and helpful. t
The prices are affordable too!!! Will certainly go back again !!!Apartments very clean and the view was amasing .Lilain very friendly and smart!!!!!!!!!!Keep up the good work .....see you soon.

Room Tip: Make Sunny Coast your chioce ....you will not be disappointed !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your lovely comments!

I will make sure to pass on the message to the staff especially to Lillian who does her utmost to welcome our guests and help them out when needed.

We hope to see you back again at the Sunny Coast!

Regards,
Daphne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
5.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing