We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good short stay in February”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Qawra
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good short stay in February”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We travelled to Malta in February for a weekend stay. We were travelling with family and we had 3 separate apartments. All three were clean and tidy and we all had sea views.

The apartments were a little chilly as a result of it being a little cold outside but we had a pleasant trip and would probably return.

The children had a great time at the pool and would have loved the outside pool but weren't brave enough in the slightly chilly weather.

We had half board for our trip and cannot say enough about the excellent service we received in the restaurant.

The menu was slightly limited but Carmen and Romina were very accomodating and tried everything to please one of our party who didn't like any of the starters on the menu.

The food was excellent and the ladies were so friendly all of the time we were in the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne C, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your good review. We highly appreciate your feedback.

We are very sorry that you did not get to enjoy the good weather Malta usually offers. On the other hand, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to keep the rooms as tidy as possible and also to give the best possible service.

We look forward to seeing you all again at the Sunny Coast Resort. If you need anything please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    330
    148
    88
    66
See reviews for
340
331
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have been to Malta once before , but not stayed in Qawra before. This hotel I thought was facing the sea but no, we had a balcony from the lounge which had a sea view but the sun never shone there as the hotel faces the wrong way. don,t go to Malta in the winter it is too cold even though it is in the med. Wait for the warmer weather around May to October I think, plus more going on too. In the hotel I had to ask for tours, dvd player for my room, as the tv programmes were not in English, only BBC World News. So no tv watching for a week!!! General layout of rooms are basic and only one bathroom for a two bed apartment. Used the Spa facilities my scrub and wrap was very invigorating but my husband had a full body massage and it left him in a little discomfort. The indoor pool is very small and not very warm and the Jacuzzi is even colder and full of bubbles. The Gym facilities are poor, too many gym apparatus in such a small room. The Gozo all day trip is very good would recommend. Travel by Public Bus whenever you can as it is so cheap. A day ticket costs 2.70 euros or 12 Euros for the week, fantastic value. We had most of our meals at Charlie Chaplins Restaurant next door to the hotel, great service and very good priced meals home made by English chef.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear esteemed client,

We are very disappointed in hearing that your visit here in Malta and at the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the management had took note of all your comments in view to work on the issues you mentioned most especially those possible to change. As for the cold weather in Malta, I'm afraid that there is not much we can do about that, though one could mention that January and February are the coldest months in the year. Still it is a rarity for temperatures to drop below 8 degrees Celsius!!
On the television remark, please note that this problem will be resolved by the next couple of months as we are proceeding fast to establish a more than decent service which would cater for a total of 6 languages with various options for all liking.
Yet again, may I take this opportunity to express, on behalf of the resort and all the staff members, my apologies while thanking you for your constructive comments.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Qawra hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed for two weeks on a RCI exchange in a two-bedroom apartment at Sunny Coast. Our apartment was large with two bathrooms, kitchenette and a table. The apartment had a lovely view with a bus stop very close to the resort. The resort arranged transfers to and from the airport prior to our arrival. The only negative was that there are no WiFi in the apartment. WiFi vouchers could be bought from reception and only be used in the lobby. Apart from the WiFi, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gomyownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear esteemed client,

May I, on behalf of all the staff of the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa, thank you for your nice comments with respect to our resort. Such positive comments continues to motivate everyone at the resort to continue with the good work.
As you have pointed out, prior to another visit at the Sunny Coast we recommend you to contact us directly, to make sure you benefit from our latest and best offers as well as assuring, if possible and if desired, the booking of the same apartment.
Looking forward to meeting you yet again in the near future,
Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We moved here after one night at St. George's Park in St. Julliens. What a relief to actually get some sleep. Lovely place, friendly staff and plenty parking in Jan. Nice apartments, good food. Comfortable and clean. Plenty to do around the area with the shopping 10-15 mins walk at most. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would recommend to family and friends. Unless you're a party animal this is a great place at a reasonable cost. We would certainly go back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear esteemed customer,

We are happy to discover that you found your stay at the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa and in Malta so enjoyable that you're willing to come render us a visit again, hopefully in the near future. May I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments with respect to our resort and most especially about the staff who is always willing to go overboard to assure great service to all our clients. We took note of the bed mattresses and as you have remarked, they are being gradually changed. As for its location, the Sunny Coast can boast of being literally a stone throw away from the sea and in a nice village in the north of Malta, away from the more hectic central part of the island.
While thanking you once again for your very positive remarks, please contact us directly to make a reservation to make sure you get the best and our latest offers.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Got back today after a great week at the Sunny Coast. Spotlessly clean, very friendly staff from the front of house through to the cleaners too. Had an apartment with a fantastic view, it was really quiet which was exactly what we were looking for. There is a bus stop right outside and buses every 20 minutes or so but in all honesty there is everything you need in Qawra itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear esteemed client,
May I, on behalf of all the staff of the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa, take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments. It is always our main intention to assure that each and every client residing at our resort is completely satisfied.
While thanking you once again for your comments, please know that, should you make your mind to come render us another visit, you are most welcome to contact us directly in order to benefit from our latest and best offers.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at Sunny Coast Resort for a week at the end of January 2013. The hotel is situated between a main road (handy for buses) and a small access road on a quiet part of the coast. There are a few restaurant/bars nearby and a good little supermarket across the main road. The buses are on a one way circular route which means to get to Bugibba you will have to walk (20 min. approx.) or go out of town and change buses. The top floor one bedroom apartment we had was well equipped with cooker, toaster, fridge, kettle, pots and pans, cutlery and crockery for 4 people. Cannot comment on A/C (did not neeed) but the heating worked well. The room furnishings and beds are good. The only slight drawback was wind noise at night but probably not an issue in warmer weather. Have been informed that apartments on floors 5, 6, and 7 have recently been refurbished but the lower floors still awaiting refurbishment. Best check when booking, Across the quiet access road is the pool/spa area. It looked very nice for the summer.
We booked half board and the full english breakfast was very good but because there were only a handful of 'half-boarders' the evening menu was limited in choice but well cooked. As we only paid £8.00 per person per day for half board it was value for money. Thanks to Carmine and her daughter who made the restaurant a friendly place to visit. Booked through Travel Republic and the transfer was extremely good value (£14.79p total for taxi transfers) and went without a hitch. Flew Air Malta and seat, meals, service, punctuality could not fault, far better than charter/low-cost airlines. To sum up, a nice break in a good hotel.

Room Tip: choose floors 5, 6 or 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear esteemed client,

May I express my gratitude for your positive remarks and comments. As you well remarked, the top 3 floors were recently refurbished. The other floors are being slowly but gradually renovated as well to avoid unnecessary disturbance to our residents. In fact it is planned that in the next couple of years the remaining floors will be completely modernized.
Please be assured that I have passed your comments to Carmen and Romina (her daughter) who were pleased to hear that their services were really appreciated.
While thanking you once again for your great comments, please contact us directly should you make up your mind and visit us another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Myself and my husband booked 5 nights in Jan, unfortunately due to weather we missed a connecting flight and only got there for 4 nights, very clean, very welcoming, we had a 1 bedroom apt on 5th floor and it was huge with our double bed cornered in the room facing an amazing view of clear blue sea, Apt was spotless plenty of delph, cutlery etc but we didn't really do any food there as our trip was so short we ate out. The weather was not great so we didn't get to avail of the outdoor pool and the amenities there were not in use at all, small children's playground, looked like lots of sun beds, the waterfall pool was turned off as was the outdoor jacuzzi, I'd say it would be fab during high season. We made great use of the spa and hair salon and indoor pool, 3 negatives - indoor pool is small, not great for trying to do any decent swimming, indoor jacuzzi was cold, sauna had to be pre-ordered and costs €5. Spa was lovely but would be nicer if you had robes to change into instead of having to get dressed directly after wonderful oily body massage. Tracy in spa reception is fantastic offering all kinds of advice, where to go, where to eat, ringing restaurants to try and get bookings and giving us her favourite taxi's number. Biggest let down of hotel (and it's probably only because it's outside regular season) is that the restaurant in hotel is only open very limited times and the people who run the restaurant also run the bar and it seemed to be only open for about 2 hours in the evening, thank God for the wonderful Chaplin's pub next door (separate review). My other big peeve is that there is no wifi in hotel, you can pay €2.50 an hour if sitting in lobby but no access in your room. if you buy a drink at the bar the lady who runs it wlll type in the wifi password on your laptop and you will have access for the time she's there!!!!!!!!!. Chaplin's has free wifi next door. All in all a lovely place, would like to revisit when all amenities available to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, book treatment in spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Front Office Manager at Sunny Coast Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear esteemed client,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the Sunny Coast Resort and Spa. We took note of your remarks with respect to the restaurant and the Wi-Fi situation. Please note that you were right in pointing out that the resort's restaurant is open for limited hours during the day because you came during the low season. In Summer, the bar and the restaurant will be open all day long.
Regarding the Wi-Fi and Internet connectivity, kindly note that the management is well aware of the situation and will be trying to resolve the problem at the earliest convenience. For the last couple of years the Resort has been carrying out some refurbishing projects. In another couple of years time, the whole modernising project will come to an end. This will include better TV multi-lingual channels on offer in every room as well as better Wi-Fi connectivity which will be free of charge and available in every room.
While thanking you once again for your positive and constructive comments, we recommend you to contact us directly should you make up your mind to render us another visit in the future to ensure you benefit from our best offers.

Yours truly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Triq Il-Qawra | St. Paul's Bay, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1905, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Qawra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunny Coast Resort and Spa is ideally located in one of Malta's most beautiful bays. The Resort offers an easy and relaxing experience and has its own Leisure Centre, situated in a separate area across the hotel by the water's edge together with its private beach, large outdoor swimming pool together with a children's pool, three jacuzzis, a heated indoor pool, sauna and massage rooms, squash court, games room and a fully air-conditioned gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Coast Hotel Qawra
Sunny Coast Resort And Spa
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa Malta/Qawra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing